We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I come to Shadow Ridge every summer and this time didn't disappoint. Stayed in the 1700 building and enjoyed a different view. We spend a day at each of the pools and usually watch a evening movie in the main pool. Definietly check out the Mirage activities so that you can get out of the heat for a while.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pool so you don't have far to walk in the heat !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    241
    82
    61
    33
See reviews for
306
194
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I came here with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 year old twin grandchildren back in April, which I understand was the Spring break, so quite full. I have been reading the reviews since then and don't recognise the place we visited! The resort was very clean and well kept, very green with lovely flowers. Our apartment was opposite the main pool so very convenient and not at all noisy. The apartment was lovely and kept very clean and tidy. The children loved the pools and activity centre. My husband and I enjoyed walking round the grounds, visited the cafes and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. I would definitely come again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have been going to this resort for 10 years. After our last stay at the end of July 2014 we are probably not going back. I called the resort in advance to let them know about my preferences as I always do. I asked for the ground floor, closer to the main pool, and early check-in. Non of my requests were granted. We've arrived around noon with foods that needed to be refrigerated. Because they didn't have a room ready for us, I asked the front desk if I could use their refrigerator. Their fridge was extremely dirty. I was disgusted to leave my food in there.

When we finally got to our villa it was almost 4 PM, a lot of thing were missing. We had a coffee maker, but not a coffee pot. We had to wait for them to bring the coffee pot for 2 days (called them at least twice a day to remind about coffee pot). Some of other kitchenettes were also missing.

The resort was extremely crowded and not enough staff members to provide an excellent service. We also noticed that a lot of new villas were build lately. Four swimming pools are not enough for so many guests that are staying at the resort. Empty plastic cups and bottles were around the pool area, as soon as the wind blew all those cups and bottles were in the pool. Water in the pools was very dirty and cloudy. While swimming you can catch someones' hair between your fingers and toes (very gross). We didn't see anyone cleaning the pool in the morning (at 7 AM) as we used to see during our previous stays. Also during our four day stay at the resort there were two brown accidents. The main pool had to be closed; therefore, making other pools even more crowded. Please everyone appreciate other people's vacation by having your kid wear a swimming diaper to avoid accidents.

There was also a major water accident where we were without water for about 6 hours in our room. We were unable to use bathrooms and kitchen. Every time we called the front desk to inquiry about the water, all they told us is to use gym's restroom and bathroom.

This is not a good way you treat your guests. We were very disappointed with our last stay at Shadow Ridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We loved the hotel, no complaints just disappointed the life size chess was gone but still on the website.. Swimming pool was great and loved that it was very kid friendly... The kiddie pool was great but did need cleaning, and being that we arrived a little late my son only rode the water slide once than it closed. All in all I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We bought a timeshare here about 12 years ago and thoroughly enjoy our stays. Lots of shopping and dining opportunities within short driving distance. Plenty of sights to see are also an easy drive away.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid having a loud party in the suite above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Pros
• Lots of activities for kids.
• Rooms are clean, fair sized, good layout and fully stocked with kitchen supplies.
• Perfect for families that like the do it yourself vacation experience.
• Front desk people were great.
• Palm Desert surrounding area is great.

Cons
• Place was packed in July.
• It appeared people not staying there were sneaking in. A lot of people parking and changing clothes in the street.
• So many people in pool that it was very dirty, murky e.g. chunks of hair floating around.
• Limited food service, pool bar food is not good.
• Rules are clearly stated, not enforced e.g. no saving unattended chairs for several hours.
• Having to exchange cards for towels gets old fast. Speaks to the level of clientele Shadow Ridge is attracting if they have to do this.

We have now stayed at the Marriott Villas, Westin Mission Hills & Desert Willows and would probably choose all three over this one. We wouldn’t rule this place out but it was so crowded in the middle of July we would be hesitant to go back at anytime

Room Tip: Choose buildings closest to the activity center/main pool if you have kids and farthest away if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We are weeks owners as well as points and have visited many MVC destinations. This was our first time at Shadow Ridege...we did an II getaway. We found everything wonderful. We stayed in the area of the quiet pool (if you are not with kids and want it quiet then get into blds 2700-3100....we were in 2600 which is right across the street from the quiet pool) The gold course view was great and each morning we watched wildlife (rabbits, lizards, birds, geese, hawks) right from our balcony. The room is well appointed and spacious (although there was just the two of us). Pool was nice and NEVER overcrowded....and QUIET. We had food at the pool side snack bars which was very good. The Grill restaurant features excellent food for a very reasonable prices. Both lunch and dinner were excellent. BBQ grills are close by and there is a Walmart superstore and Costco within 3-4 minutes of the resort. Getting to other locations is easy and a rental car is a must as this is a large resort. Service was great!!! Definetly this will be a return trip for us.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet location ask for rooms in 2700-3100 villas...they are right across from the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.