We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Perris, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great family villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice and comfortable villas. Pools were a little crowded, but t was the Labor Day weekend. They had a shortage of pool towels most of the weekend, and the pool bathrooms were always dirty and some without toilet paper. But, other than that, a great family spot. We have stayed here before this last trip and had a great time with no issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    273
    88
    66
    38
See reviews for
336
234
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Amenities very nice. Spacious room with kitchen was nice but a little dated. We were directly across from pool which was convenient with small kids. Kids loved the pool and water park/slide. We tried to use the activity center for some games but it had closed early the night we went. But they had pool, video games and activities for the little ones. My biggest complaint is that they had no lifeguard at the pool. They did have one at the waterslide but the main pool was crowded and it was hard to keep a close eye on my kids. A lifeguard in that area as an extra safety precaution would be a good idea.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield,QC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the Shadow Ridge Resort as an extension to our trip. The accommodations were clean & comfortable. It was our second trip there (the first having been a very short stay several years ago). The amenities are very good and the area where we were was very peaceful & quiet. We are planning to return there for another visit this Fall. It served as a great location for our golf excursions. Staff was very friendly & accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We've been coming to the Palm Desert area every summer for 7 years now. This was our first time staying at a Marriott in the area. We had previously stayed at either of the two Westins, but decided to give this a shot.

Villa: We loved the room. We had a 2 bedroom/2bath villa. In the past, we've stayed in villas that had one bedroom and a pull out couch with 4 of us in the villa. This was much better. 2 of us took one room and 2 in the other and the living room was truely a communal place, instead of another bedroom. It was a great size for us. I loved the kitchen. They had a full-size, stainless steel fridge with a pull-out drawer freezer on the bottom. I was also surprised to see that the in-room laundry wasn't a stackable, but a separate full-size front loading washer and dryer. I didn't expect such "modern" appliances in a villa, but it was really nice to see an updated fridge and laundry area, as well as the rest of the stainless steel appliances. The beds were really comfortable and I slept so deeply while I was there. We stayed in one of the first buildings past the gate. Parking was never an issue and I appreciated that I was always able to get a parking spot under the awning. Something that was a spotty occurence at other hotels. Our balcony faced a lake with the golf course behind it, and the mountains behind that. I loved waking up in the morning and going to the living room to read and look out the window at the lake. Also loved seeing the ducks and bunnies. We used the kitchen a lot. We also loved the balcony. It had a nice table and lounge chair. The second night we stayed, there was a meteor shower peaking and we were able to see so much of it. However, we woke up in the morning with awful mosquito bites all over. Not a fault of the hotel, but we definitely didn't eat dinner out there at night in order to avoid it.

Pool: We went to the Chuckwalla Pool the first day and could not find 3 empty lounge chairs. I was upset that there seemed to be no place to sit. We returned our towels and got in the car to try the pool over by the Enclaves. This was a success. Plenty of lounge chairs, and it was generally a bit quieter there, which we enjoyed. We went straight to this pool most days, but did try the Chuckwalla pool on the last 2 days and were able to find chairs. I loved the bar at both pools. Drinks arent cheap ($10-$11), but this is about what I expected at a hotel bar. They were delicious though and we ordered lunch there a couple times as well.

Restaurant/Gym: We tried The Grill our first night there. Our service was great. We ordered a chicken tender appetizer and split a family style meal of pasta and chicken. The pasta wasn't out of this world, but it was good. Penne with a good tomato sauce. But the chicken was awesome. They didn't skimp. The pasta was completely covered with grilled chicken and it tasted great. We also used the gym here. It's a really nice gym. Definitely not small compared to other hotel gyms. It had a cardio room separate from a weight machine room and plenty of towels. And the treadmills all had TVs on them, which was a nice touch to distract myself from what I was doing.

Misc: They have a ton of activities! The list was a couple pages long for the week. A lot of stuff for kids and families, movie nights at the pool, fitness classes, and some margarita mixers at the pool. Some were free, but most had a fee. Not terrible though. They had a root-beer float activity several nights and a cookie social that was free Monday night. We marked down several things to do, but never ended up doing any of them. Next time! We also used the BBQs one night. I found a mouse hiding in the first one I opened so we decided not to use that one. We walked across the street to try the other 2. These were nice, but I couldn't get the flame to light on one of them. We tried the one next to it and it turns out some other guest had left it on! Not good. It was extremely hot, as it had been sitting there with the hood closed and all three burners on (temperature gauge on the outside was maxed out- 700 degrees) but I was still able to cook our turkey burgers/dogs on it without completely burning/over-cooking them

We're a pretty simple group. We're 4 friends in our early 20s and we enjoy being off work or school for a week and enjoying the pool/sun, reading, drinking, good food (whether I cook, we eat on-site, or around P.D.), and a comfortable villa for us to spend our time in. I guess we're easily pleased as long as things are clean and functioning, and the people are nice. This really delivered on all accounts. The fact that the villa had 2 separate bedrooms was really big for us and probably because of this feature alone, we will return next year!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Would have preferred the third floor as it has more sunlight on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Simply put this is a beautiful resort with friendly staff and outstanding service. The suites are large, nicely furnished and well equipped. The views of the golf course from the balcony are pleasant. There are a significant number of pools. The children's pool has all the "bells and whistles" to keep them entertained. There are also adult pool if you are seeking a bit of quiet time. The arrivals Center has a small market place which can generally solve those instant cravings including a cup of Starbuck's. and, finally, the golf course is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catheys Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the first time that I have been to Palm Desert in August and was not sure what to expect. The grounds were well groomed with beautiful landscaping. This is a very nice resort with great views from the balcony. The table on the balcony was very small making it impractical to enjoy dinner or drinks with four adults. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There were several conveniently located Bar-B-Que grills available for use which was very nice. The activities at this timeshare are great. There is something for everyone including children of all ages. When traveling with children this is a great option. If traveling with adults only I would prefer Marriott Desert Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a fantastic week we have had. The apartment was superbly furnished. Great space and facilities. The kids loved the fact that they were in a connecting room for our 2 bed apartment. the bed was so comfortable as well. We found customer service to be excellent throughout. The choice of pools was great, the main family pools in the centre of the resort were very busy, but the enclaves pool was quieter and our favourite. As a parent of two boys pre-teens i was really happy with the way they catered for kids. They had a great time, "the best place we've stayed at".

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.