We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hard to Complain. Very Good Stay!`” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Hard to Complain. Very Good Stay!`”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I/we were invited guests to join the owners of this 2-bedroom condo timeshare week.
We were given the master bedroom during our stay.

Some timeshare owners have the second bedroom, as part of the stay experience and this review will include/describe the 2 bedroom set up with 2nd floor end unit including balcony. The balcony boasts a barbeque and outdoor seating, which in our unit faced the golf course ponds. Ducks and rabbits abound and so the feeling of being outside away from the city, does set in a little..

It really is hard to say anything negative about this stay. The condos have most everything one could need to stay a week. Bring your own food (although there is/are plenty of restaurant choices) and modest amount of clothes (suites have a washer and dryer inside), and you are set. The kitchens are pretty well stocked with cooking utensils etc.. As well, sleep quality is/was excellent. I always recomment bringing one's own pillows but the pillows here were quite nice and not too hard!

Each condo has a main room and kitchen with separate entries to the guest rooms. As well, 2-room suites have separate outside entries, making for convenient coming/going. The main suite has a washer/dryer which is always a nice touch. ...makes it possible to bring less clothes.
Each room has its own television with a reasonable selection of cable programming.
The extra bedroom has its own microwave, coffeemaker, clothes iron, again making for a convenient stay.

The master bedroom bath doubles as the units main "restroom". As well, there is a separate bath that is part of the master bedroom. The bath has sufficient room for 2 (average sized individuals) and this was a nice feature.

The property/grounds offer daily events from movie/theater offerings to swimming, tennis, coffee mug painting, message and more. Each day offers different things to do both for adults and younger crowd(s).

The property is just a short drive to "El Paseo", the Rodeo Drive of the Desert. Bring your checkbook because most everything is expensive relatively speaking.

The weather during this time of year, Fall/Winter is hard to beat. The day and evening temperatures were modest and very enjoyable. Rain is unlikely but it never hurts to be prepared if you visit the desert resorts.

Room Tip: Choose an downstairs room for convenience. Stay by the pool if you like activity, and further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    283
    89
    67
    42
See reviews for
349
247
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Spent 5 nights at the resort in a hotel-suite like room with a partial kitchen, which is mainly a fridge and microwave. We stayed in blg 2700 near the quiet pool and overlooking the golf course, 3rd floor. Really comfortable, had a great experience, would go back again. I would recommend this area for couples who want to get away and be somewhat removed from the families with young children. Wifi was fast and free. Resort is very close to the Indian Wells tennis tournament and El Paseo Drive, great shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room near the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After staying here the first time, my kids keep asking when we will go back. We are now planning our third trip - and the kids like it better than Hawaii. The property is great for the whole family. The water slide is a huge hit with the kids - as is the kids club house. The grown ups like the choice of multiple pools, and the poolside snack bar (plus adult beverages). The gym is outstading too. We don't use the spa services, but they seem nice.

The rooms are very nice - newly renovated, spacious, nice granite, excellent showers and tubs, comfortable beds, etc. It's great to have a kitchen so you can have famility breakfast and snacks in the room.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The check-in process is really time consuming and cumbesome, but one you're past that, it's all good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed four nights in March - my first visit to this resort. The property is beautiful and well-maintained. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean, good size, comfortable and decorated nicely. The kitchenette is handy (microwave, mini fridge, toaster, coffeemaker, utensils). Bathroom is nice as well with granite vanity and rainforest shower head that worked well (enough pressure). Free wifi and free parking were two key reasons I chose this place and both worked perfectly. HOWEVER, the only downside to this property is that there is not enough sound-proofing in the buildings. I could hear people talking (couldn't understand what they were saying, just the voices) in adjacent rooms. In addition, I could hear the people above me quite well walking around and closing drawers, etc. It's really a shame because I liked this property a great deal and would have returned, but that's one thing that no hotel should skimp on (sound-proofing), as it pretty much un-does every other lovely detail about a property. If you decide to risk the noise and stay here, be sure you request a top floor room, which might partially abate the noise issues.

Room Tip: Top floor is the only option to possibly avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love Marriott Shadow very family oriented and yet quiet if you need time away from your kids. A lot of activities for everyone and very closed to many restaurants, shopping and casinos. Saturdays they have a swim by movie and everyone gets to enjoy a great movie by the pool. Also the beach area is great with lost of shaded spots specially during the summer and kids play by the sand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had staid here before and had a problem with noise coming from an adjacent room above. There doesn,t appear to be much insulation between vertically adjacent rooms. If your neighbor retires early, or if you are a "heavy sleeper" this may not be a problem. As a result we requested the top (3rd) floor upon our return this year. The request was noted but could not be honored because we were not owners at this particular property. We were given the ground floor and the first three nights were fine. The last four nights the rooms above us were occupied by people who were showering and walking around until 1 or 2 in the morning making it difficult to sleep. We were told that if we had a problem we could be moved but that seemed like too much trouble and the hope is always that things will get better. Anyway, if you are a light sleeper, make sure that you get the third floor. We also talked with an owner who was located in the newer complex (Enclave) and he said that this was a recurrent issue for him and his family but that the newer complex did not have this problem . The only other minor problem was lack of tennis court availability. It was not possible to get court time until late in the evening if you tried booking the same day. Since we were there for the PARABAS tennis tournament, I suspect that many other tennis fans were staying at Shadow Ridge at the same time making it difficult to get court time. Otherwise, the rooms and facility as a whole meet the expected high Marriott standards..

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure that you get a room on the third (upper) floor to avoid noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We are Marriott timeshare owners and stayed at this location for first time in December 2012 - views of mountains are fantastic and staff is wonderful. We stayed in a two bedroom unit with a fireplace and full kitchen. Pool and whirlpools are great - plenty of activities. There was a Christmas Eve parade with golf carts and Santa Claus which the children loved. There is a golf course at the resort. Nick's restaurant has limited hours but our group had dinner there and food and service were both good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.