We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property but building not sound-proof enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great property but building not sound-proof enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed four nights in March - my first visit to this resort. The property is beautiful and well-maintained. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean, good size, comfortable and decorated nicely. The kitchenette is handy (microwave, mini fridge, toaster, coffeemaker, utensils). Bathroom is nice as well with granite vanity and rainforest shower head that worked well (enough pressure). Free wifi and free parking were two key reasons I chose this place and both worked perfectly. HOWEVER, the only downside to this property is that there is not enough sound-proofing in the buildings. I could hear people talking (couldn't understand what they were saying, just the voices) in adjacent rooms. In addition, I could hear the people above me quite well walking around and closing drawers, etc. It's really a shame because I liked this property a great deal and would have returned, but that's one thing that no hotel should skimp on (sound-proofing), as it pretty much un-does every other lovely detail about a property. If you decide to risk the noise and stay here, be sure you request a top floor room, which might partially abate the noise issues.

Room Tip: Top floor is the only option to possibly avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    272
    88
    66
    38
See reviews for
335
233
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love Marriott Shadow very family oriented and yet quiet if you need time away from your kids. A lot of activities for everyone and very closed to many restaurants, shopping and casinos. Saturdays they have a swim by movie and everyone gets to enjoy a great movie by the pool. Also the beach area is great with lost of shaded spots specially during the summer and kids play by the sand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had staid here before and had a problem with noise coming from an adjacent room above. There doesn,t appear to be much insulation between vertically adjacent rooms. If your neighbor retires early, or if you are a "heavy sleeper" this may not be a problem. As a result we requested the top (3rd) floor upon our return this year. The request was noted but could not be honored because we were not owners at this particular property. We were given the ground floor and the first three nights were fine. The last four nights the rooms above us were occupied by people who were showering and walking around until 1 or 2 in the morning making it difficult to sleep. We were told that if we had a problem we could be moved but that seemed like too much trouble and the hope is always that things will get better. Anyway, if you are a light sleeper, make sure that you get the third floor. We also talked with an owner who was located in the newer complex (Enclave) and he said that this was a recurrent issue for him and his family but that the newer complex did not have this problem . The only other minor problem was lack of tennis court availability. It was not possible to get court time until late in the evening if you tried booking the same day. Since we were there for the PARABAS tennis tournament, I suspect that many other tennis fans were staying at Shadow Ridge at the same time making it difficult to get court time. Otherwise, the rooms and facility as a whole meet the expected high Marriott standards..

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure that you get a room on the third (upper) floor to avoid noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We are Marriott timeshare owners and stayed at this location for first time in December 2012 - views of mountains are fantastic and staff is wonderful. We stayed in a two bedroom unit with a fireplace and full kitchen. Pool and whirlpools are great - plenty of activities. There was a Christmas Eve parade with golf carts and Santa Claus which the children loved. There is a golf course at the resort. Nick's restaurant has limited hours but our group had dinner there and food and service were both good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just to add to the positive comments: before leaving I called to ask which building would be best for family with young children and baby. Was advised to request either 14 or 15 (right across from large pools, play areas, etc., etc.) I also thought to ask for an end unit, ground floor, these due to baby crying or young child's vigorous activities (which guests lodged underneath don't appreciate). Guest services was happily able to honor all my requests and we were delighted with the choice, this due to mallard, rabbit, and Canadian geese visitations, plus lovely lake view!
My only major complaint was the kitchen area size (we come from Marriott Desert Springs Villas 1). Since we planned to do a lot of cooking and purchased groceries for this purpose, I found there were no cupboards in which to put them (cupboards very well stocked with most necessary appliances, dishes, utensils, etc.)
All in all, however, the property is otherwise outstanding, and yes, there was at least one very nice heated "infinity" pool, and this was a rather chilly February.

Room Tip: Do your research on Marriott's website too to get an idea of the best location for your purposes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The one bedroom units are spacious and beautifully furnished. The grounds are very nice. The enclaves are the smaller units...1 bedrooms nice but in the enclaves the studios are way way too small for a 1 week stay. I bedrooms have balcony. Some views are obstructed by trees so ask for a view listing things like that. Nice exercise rooms and great pools

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
697 reviews 697 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What's not to love about this resort? Everything here is beautiful; from the mountain views, to the amazing landscaping, to the immaculate golf course and to the wildlife that roams the grounds. Just walking around the resort is a great experience in itself.

The rooms have everything you need to relax in style and are very well maintained. Each staff member greets you warmly everytime you encounter them.

We love this place!

Room Tip: The best rooms have an eastern view. This gives you a warm sun in the morning and helps avoid the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.