We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for a week in a studio/hotel type room (I had hoped for a one bedroom w/full kitchen but we were on a time share point exchange and didn't have enough points). Our room was clean and in very good condition; it overlooked the golf course. We were very close to a lovely pool and spa. The bed was very comfortable. Double sinks in the bathroom would have been nice. Extra towels in the unit would have been amazing; when I asked a housekeeping person I saw in the hallway I easily got more though. One day we rented bikes, which there is a $10/hr per person charge for. Not a lot of places to ride unless you don't mind being on the road with cars (some places on the property were very pretty). I wasn't impressed at all with the staff at the recreation area but it was no big deal. We had a drink at Faldo's Bar and the service was FABULOUS! The waiter/bartender was so accommodating and friendly, plus the drink was really good. Next time, we'll manage our timeshare points better and get a one bedroom.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that a studio is like a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DayTripper1959_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
montvale, nj
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a wonderful timeshare experience. Everything was perfect. I had read a few negatives so I was a little nervous about it. From the moment we entered the grounds which are beautifully landscaped until we sadly left a week later we were happy with everything. Checking in went smoothly. Before we arrived I received an email asking for my preferences - everyone of them were accommodated. We were staying with friends and they got the lock-off which was a nice size and even had its own kitchen. The rooms were quite large and nicely furnished. We each had balconies which gave us a beautiful view of the mountains, especially at sunrise. THere were at least 2 swimming pools available which were well maintained and not crowded when we were there. My only complaint is that the bathtub is in the bedroom, which we have also have found at other timeshares. i would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Request a third floor in a renovated building that faces the mountains. We were in building 2300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromNY2NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I own at the other major Marriott Timeshare in Palm Desert, about 2 miles away. There were many things I liked better about this one, where I exchanged, sort of last minute. I think the landscaping here is better managed and planned. Their use of desert plants is abundant, lush and interesting. The lawn areas are also lush. The areas to take walks were prettier and more varied than at DS, and as I was walking each day, that mattered to me.

The villas all seem to overlook a golf course, and the course was in constant use. I was not in the enclaves section, not sure about those.

For me, check in was fine, as was check out.

The villas are a bit smaller than DS I, which I think is a factor of newer buildings. DS II is about the same size. The kitchen was smaller and the layout a bit awkward, lacking a place to put some of your grocery shopping, but what the heck, it's only for a week.

The gas fireplace worked well, and as we had some cool, drizzly days, this was appreciated.

The pool complex was one central large pool area with snack restaurant (burgers, pizzas) and multiple pools. There was a water slide with a life guard. The activity area is adjacent, with a dedicated movie theatre. There was ample programming for kids, making crafts, etc.

There are many lakes and ponds, part of the golf course features, but they are attractive, with native vegetation. There are also water fowl and a great many cottontail bunnies hopping around, which I found charming. I took some nice photographs of the water features and the wild life. The fencing has themed panels representing cottontail rabbits, roadrunner birds, etc. The grounds are very upscale.

A car is essential. The villas are a half mile to a mile from the check in desk, where the small marketplace is, and the fitness center. The marketplaces at all of these time share resorts are really designed to let you get an item or two you need to complete a meal, or to get you by the first night in. Two traffic lights down the road is both an Albertson's and an upscale Bristol Farms. There are restaurants in both centers, as well as back up towards the freeway in the big shopping center where the cinemas are, and all the box stores.

The on site restaurants are mainly operating to golfer's schedules. They do lunch and breakfast during the months the course is busy. On Saturday night, a heavy check in day, they stay open for dinner, or at least one does.

If you have the full two room suite, I think your sound proofing is better than if you have a lock off; I don't think the soundproofing at either DS or SR between the main suite and the lock off exists. It can be very noisy if you get a family with 3 kids stuffed into the one bedroom part.

In the main suite, the soaking tub has a slanted seat that might not be comfortable for people with bad backs.

There were some housekeeping issues, but these were promptly rectified. If you are used to staying in timeshares, you know that someone might have put away an imperfectly cleaned spatula in the drawer. The bed linens are all Marriott standard high quality with duvets, and the beds comfortable. The towels are a mix of nice and older thinner ones. If it matters, it can be changed out for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Reenactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I rented a two-bedroom villa and the space allowed me to invite my sons and a friend...plenty of room and privacy is allowed with this villa set up. A few problems were a smoker down below me on the porch...had to call twice and never heard back as to how it was handled. Bathroom towels should have been replaced as they had stains on them. Called to have housekeeping come to refresh rooms and gave them a two-hour window only to return & no housekeeping; they showed up later but we were already in villa for the day.
The grounds are beautiful and the weather was as well; had been there in the summer and it was way too hot! Mountains and golf course surround the resort and that is amazing. I'd recommend it but they were asking top dollar--$350- $425 for rooms as it was Christmas break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I hate to look a gift horse in the month but I expected more. I thought this was a resort. I thought I was staying at a condo. I thought this would be a luxurious place. Sadly it was not. Think of it more of a large Fairfield Inn. Sure the grounds are nice but vast without any real aim. The club house was nice as was the fitness center. The pools were ok but not resort quality. The room was the biggest downfall. I had a studio. The bed was nice it dominated the room, but no desk. It did have a sofa but no coffee table. Over all the room was sparse at best.

I came to play golf but this course is very overpriced. There are much more reasonable courses in the area. I recommend them (see my other reviews). You can play them 2x for a the cost of a round here. This type of place maybe your cup of tea but it was not mine...

Room Tip: avoid the studios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just got back from a great trip to Palm Springs, and I'm sorry to say, our 3 night stay at Shadow Ridge was the 'low point' of this trip.

It started at check-in, when the receptionist couldn't (or wouldn't) find one of the two reservations I booked 3 months in advance. I booked two efficiency suites as we were traveling with my parents. The first reservation was made through Interval Intl. This is the one she found. The second reservation was made with rewards points. When I tried to explain this to the receptionist she told me that it was 'impossible' to make a reservation with reward points since this was a Time-Share and that I was probably 'confuse' with another Marriott Hotel in the area. She actually sent us to another hotel 5 minutes away, without even checking with them. She never offered any kind of help in trying to figure out confusion. Never offered me another room either.

We are Marriott owners and we have exchanged many times before, so we knew that she was wrong. We went to the bedroom and tried to look up the reservation number from our Marriott acc. It took us sometime since 'just that night' the Marriott web-site was 'unavailable'. Eventually, we found out both numbers and confirmed that both the reservations were at the Marriott SR. So we went back to the front desk, and another person (the girl wasn't there anymore, of course) was able to find the other reservation (easily). It took more than an hour to sort this out, and we made all of the work, without getting any kind of compensation offered.

In all, the resort looks gorgeous: beautiful landscaping, impressive entrance, luxurious lobby. The bedrooms are OK, the housekeeping could be better, the pools are well maintained and big enough (at least for this time of the year - I think they get overcrowded during summer time). There is an activity center that looks pretty cool for little kids, cinema, bike rentals, board games, and maybe more, we just didn't have enough time to look.

I guess We were really looking forward to this trip, but this first experience really putted us down.

A couple of minor things to add, which we would probably have overlooked if it weren't for this are:

- Pool location: the resort is pretty big, to much. We needed to take a car to get to the pool, and there was not enough parking space around it.
- Restaurants: the brochure shows 5 different restaurants, but they were close after 3:00 pm.
- Marketplace: very small, very overpriced, and understaffed. It holds an Starbucks, but it is attended by the same person that looks after the store, so expect long line for you coffee.
- Free activities: beware, do not expect much of these. On Sundays they offered free coffee and doughnuts during the resort presentation. By 8:15 am expect no doughnuts and cold coffee.
- Bedrooms: Very average, and very thin walls. We were entertained by our neighbors coughing all night.

I think we will return to Palm Springs, but not to Shadow Ridge.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room close to the activity center, and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This property should get an excellent rating. I booked a 1200 sq foot room as per the website with a Nick Faldo golf vacation. When I got there, they had me in an 800 sq foot single room with a separate studio guest suite. When I asked them where my 2 bedroom was, they said the part of the property with the golf school defined a 2 bedroom as what I had, not what they hotel/Faldo website said. After tons of emails, 3 phone calls -- they finally refunded my money for the upgrade but I tell you it was like pulling teeth. Buyer beware. As far as the rest of the property, fantastic. Excellent tennis and golf instruction and the pools were wonderful. Not my usual type of vacation but a nice break.

Room Tip: Go figure. Call them to see what you are really getting!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing