We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Thanksgiving Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Thanksgiving Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just stayed here over Thanksgiving week and had a great time. We come to the desert often and book Getaway Weeks using our Interval International membership. We have stayed at the Marriott Desert Springs Villas and the Westin Desert Willow recently and our family agreed that the Marriott Shadow Ridge has been the best by far. The pool has a water slide that the kids really enjoy (my 5 year old was not tall enough to use the water slide at the Westin so she was thrilled to be able to use it here!), they have 2 splash pads and baby pools at the 2 main pools which are great for little kids. The Activity Center is a DREAM for kids. They have a movie theater with free movies and popcorn, and a jam-packed schedule full of kids and adult activities all day long, a few parks, putting course, basketball courts, tennis courts, etc. Your kids will flip out when they see this place. The rooms are brand new and all very nicely appointed. We actually loved the pull-out bed here because its like a memory foam so its much more comfortable than the springy ones. The staff here has been very welcoming and kind. The a/c works perfectly and the room we had in the 1200 building was very quiet and nice. We never heard a single neighbor at night. My only disappointments were the WiFi was spotty all week, the Nick Faldo Restaurant on property was not so hot, and the jacuzzi at the pool was brimming with foam and grey water (they did not properly chlorinate or maintain the water). Aside from that - this was a fantastic vacation. We really loved this resort and will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    272
    88
    66
    38
See reviews for
335
233
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My golf partner and I have stayed at Shadow Ridge many times since it opened over a decade ago. A beautiful resort built around the Faldo-designed championship golf course, we love the quiet, the spectacular views of mountains and fairways, and the exceptional customer service.
The one and two-bedroomed units are luxurious with full kitchens and bathrooms for each bedroom. There's a fireplace in the living area, if should need it and adequate appliances and utensils to make cooking easy.
The landscaping has become established over the years and makes going for a walk picturesque with the lakes and mountain views.
There are pools dotted about the property, some with cafes and bars. We go for the golf, which is superb.
The staff here bend over backwards to make your stay the best it can be, responding fast to questions and needs. Concierges are always available to help too.
Highly recommended for golfers and non-golfers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room to get the best views (elevators are in all buildings).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I read the mixed reviews and we stayed here with some trepidation. Since this is a timeshare rather than a hotel we knew what to expect and what not to expect. This type of vacation is similar to staying in an condo apartment ...no maid service...do your laundry in the washer dryer in the room, cook if you like, etc. With that said, we would definitely stay here again!! We know that timeshares undergo renovations on a regular schedule so we called to insure that the room we would receive would be a "newly" renovated room. It was beautiful!! We had a one bedroom overlooking the mountains and enjoyed breakfast each morning on our terrace and ended each evening gazing out with a glass of wine.

The grounds are impeccable and there are multiple pool areas to accommodate adults and families with small children. The location is great to drive short distances to wonderful restaurants or go into Palm Springs and sightsee. We are not golfers but the course was well manicured and enticing

One suggestion is to do your own research on places to dine and places to go since the concierge seem much more focused on family and family fare restaurants rather than great local restaurants for couples or things to do that are not family focused

Stay here!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and request a recently renovated room about a week or two before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel on the golf course. Personel very good and service was excellent as well.
On a golf trip and wanting some sunshine, we did not go wrong choosing this hotel and area.
first trip to the area and the staff made us want to come back again. We look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Not a bad one on the grounds. The amenities from swimming, golf, their own movie theater are all ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We own a 2 bedroom unit at Shadow Ridge. Everything is good quality, clean and well maintained. The staff is courtious and helpful. The golf course was in excellent condition and the staff very good. However after we finished golf at 4 pm the bar was closed and I think also the restaurant. There is no entertainment which I would expect at such a large resort. So I needed to go somewhere else for a snack (pesumably I could go to the pool area). Hence we invariably went over to Westin Desert Springs for a snack and happy hour. Even if the restaurant (we have dined there previously) was open we would not dine there because it lacks atmosphere.

Room Tip: 3rd floor looking towards the western mountains. It is very relaxing in the evening to have a glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed the facility. Big rooms, well appointed, a few too many kids around for me.
Loved the golf course!! The pools were well staffed and plenty of poolside bars for the libation of your choice.
Pricing seemed fair, especially for early November.

Room Tip: Get the 1 bedroom villa. Worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I had some Interval points we needed to use. Since we were going to be in LA, we decided the Palm Springs area was it. We expected a typical "Time Share" venue but it was so much more. Our 2 BR unit was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. (although the furnishings were a bit dated ). Large balcony overlooked part of the golf course, water and mountains. Our building was not close to the pools but it was a nice walk for us. There were 2 large pools - one mainly for kids and one for adults, with first come first served cabanas. In addition there was a kiddie pool, a water slide with a small pool and a fountain to play in complete with water cannons. There were plenty of shaded areas in addition to the cabanas. ( It was in the 90's and sunny so shade was appreciated. There's a small store at the main building selling food, liquor and sundries - along with a fancy candy store. The Marriott location is great, seems close to everything. Many grocery stores, restaurants and a Costco are nearby. We were there in October and the on site restaurant was closed but there's a nice bar and lunch place by the pools with lots of shaded tables. They also have waitresses at the pools to take orders and deliver your food and drinks. All in all, we would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.