We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, getting even nicer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
los angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice property, getting even nicer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We just returned from a week stay at the Marriott Shadow Ridge. We had stayed there with our grandkids in 2005 when the property was fairly new and were curious about the new improvements and additions. Marriott is currently in the middle of a total renovation. Apparently they do this every 10 years with all their properties. All the furniture, appliances and carpeting are being replaced. They began January 1st and are projected to finish in 2-3 weeks. We stayed in a not yet renovated 3rd floor unit in bldg 1400, which aside from a malfunctioning dishwasher, was in fairly good condition. The unit had a large balcony which overlooked the golf course and a pond full of ducks and geese. There were also jackrabbits and roadrunners in the shrubbery below. We saw more wildlife there than anywhere else.

There were 2 large pools directly across from the building. One was oriented more for children with a water slide and other water features. The second pool was quieter and more adult oriented. There were several whirlpools located around the area and a fairly good snack bar. The fitness center was clean and had a wide variety of equipment in good condition. There is also a large golf shop since this resort is golf oriented.

The resort is conveniently located. It is a short drive from Costco, El Paseo and the many restaurants in Palm Desert and Rancho Mirage. We stocked up at Costco and Trader Joes, for breakfast and some lunches, right after checking in to our room. The refrigerator and microwave were convenient for heating up leftovers from dinner. Check in and check out was really easy. Our room was ready and our requests for a 3rd floor unit were met. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Units on east side are in the shade in the afternoon, making them cooler in the winter, but also muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    253
    82
    63
    34
See reviews for
314
206
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tujunga, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stellar service from start to finish. We accidentally arrived early so we had to wait for a room, but they called me back 15 minutes later for early check in. This resort only hires professionals, and excellence is obvious from management on down. Facilities were clean, clean clean; the guests were even a pleasant surprise. No loud kids running everywhere, no excuses by the desk staff, no trash blowing around the pool for 2 days like we found at Rancho Las Palmas. One spa wasn't working but the resort has 4 pools and other spas. The infinity pools were delicious, especially at dusk. The layout of the resort is sort of odd, resembling two rows of apartment houses, but there wasn't a speck of dirt, scuff or smudge anywhere, and quality showed in the details. While our room was sort of small, it was so well-designed and decorated, you still felt you were in a premium room, because you were. Love the kitchenette complete with dishes, glassware, cutlery, toaster, fridge and microwave. I understand the larger units are quite spacious with a full kitchen etc., so I will probably try those another time. I loved that there was plenty of parking so that took off some of the tension as well. I asked for a room close to the pools which I would recommend if you don't like long walks to the fitness room, pool etc.
After being horribly treated at Rancho Las Palmas and disappointed by Doral Princess and others, believe me I was looking for things to criticize, but there never were any. I've never encountered a more professional, intelligent desk staff, ever. This went a long way towards making it a real resort experience where you could "leave your troubles behind" and feel at home. I've stayed at dozens of resorts in the Palm Springs area, and this was by far the best experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

2 bedroom condo. get 3rd floor,overlooking golf course. very nice view, although sun goes down early on that side in bldg. 1800. nice adult pool & hot tubs. good walking area. fitness room clean & lots equipment. marriott's golf courses are challenging, but beautiful landscape.was able to request additonal supplies/linens for unit.

Room Tip: 3rd floor accessible by elevator, golf course view, cooler when sun goes down, but great view. littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've exchanged my time share in the Palm Springs area before and I think this is the best property. The two bedroom unit was large and well-equipped. Nice balconies and views. Although there are all kinds of pools, we adults loved that one is reserved as a "quiet" pool which made soaking in the spa so much more enjoyable. There is no room service during the week and the wireless was sometimes spotty. Understand that the resort's location is a good half hour from "downtown" Palm Springs...but you are closer to hiking and date tasting to the east! I'd go back to this property.

Room Tip: We liked upstairs and looking to the western mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had a great week in a top floor corner 1BR unit. The 4PM Friday check-in was fast, courteous and easy and our room was clean and spacious. I have read the negative reviews about this property and feel that most were the result having a 1 room "lock off" (Hotel like) unit and complaining that it was not big enough. Never accept a trade with interval for a "lock off" unit in Palm Desert. There are always sufficient 1 or 2 BR units with full kitchen, dining and living rooms. We are in Palm Desert for the entire month of January in 1 BR units executed through interval trades. Today we move to Desert Springs for 3 more weeks.The other issue is lack of "tidy up" cleaning services. The extra cleaning services, amount of soap, shampoo and towel exchanges you receive in your unit is set by the "Homeowners Association" not Marriott. Yes, I had to break a bar of hand soap in two to allow me sufficient shower soap for the week but I understand that the entire industry is stressed during these tough economic times. Shadow Ridge exceeded my expectations. Our week here was one of the best we have experienced in the MVC system.

Room Tip: Select a week that is not 100% occupied
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here in early December of 2011 for four nights, and very very much enjoyed it. The units were very spacious and comfortable and well-equipped, the service was good, and the views were superb. The pool areas were wonderful, and we made excellent use of the hot tub even at night. Yes, you do want to try to stay on the top of the three floors because of possible noise from above, but that is not usually a problem in early December. Our visit was all-around excellent!

We had, btw, previously stayed for a few nights in the newer Enclaves section of this resort complex. In case you are wondering which to choose, the primary difference was that the decor was more modern in the Enclaves section, while the units were a tad smaller. Both choices are excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the top of the three floors if you don't mind walking or waiting for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orondo,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here over the New Year Holiday. Beds were comfortable but that was the highlight of the stay. Upon arrival I was excited to use the large tub. I was running water but did not know that there was no cold water working. Luckily I was not burned. It took 24 hours before the crew of three men came to fix it. When they turned off the water main other people in the complex lost their water without notice. This was unfortunate for my neighbor who was in the shower at the time. There was only tidy service if you called everyday. There was gum stuck in the washing machine. The last straw was when they told us that there would be random fire alarm testing for the next week. We checked out early and moved to a different property. I was offered a $25 credit for my trouble. Too little for a $300 a night suite.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.