We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid layout and greens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club

Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club
9002 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
760-674-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Activities in Palm Desert
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Coachella Valley, Shadow Ridge Golf Club enjoys over 350 days of sunshine and blue skies every year. This beautiful and peaceful valley is often referred to as the "golf capital of the world" because of its ideal playing conditions and abundance of courses.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Solid layout and greens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Really nice practice facility with large putting greens, chipping green and full swing and wedge range so this is a good place to go to work on your game. Faldo's undulating greens are smooth and make the course interesting. There are a number of par fours that have character, including a couple of short ones that are quite memorable/fun and offer different lines of play. It's a more thoughtful layout than most.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    43
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hit 'em long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great round, lots of challenging sand but in pretty good condition. Slow play most of the day or I would have given it one more star. we waited on every hole. Sometimes we were stacked two deep (par 3's).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beautiful course; well kept but we were pushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The only problem I had was the push by the marshal to keep the pace up. The course was in great shape; beautiful fairways and greens. But being pushed to go faster took some of the joy away from the game

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great resort golf course. The course is interesting and challenging, and quite attractive. We also played at the Pete Dye Mission Hills and Gary Player Mission Hills courses and while those were both nice, the Shadow Ridge course is even nicer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enough sand to cover a beach!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a well designed course, but not an easy one for a weekend golfer like me. There are some greens that are completely surrounded by deep, deep sand traps--as many as six or seven on a couple of greens...or so it seems. Don't expect to have your party of two play alone, since you will be paired with someone else to make a foursome. The other two in our party were slow, slow, slow with every shot and caused our foursome to lag behind where we should have been. The course steward came to us on the ninth green and said we had to speed up, that we were 15 minutes behind. We split into two twosomes and the two of us skipped the 10th hole completely. When we arrived at #11, we had to wait 7 or 8 minutes because there was a foursome on the green and another foursome on the fairway waiting to take their strokes. We continued to have to wait to tee at every subsequent hole and the steward was never seen again! That "15 minutes behind" that we were accused of apparently had nothing to do with what was in front of us! The steward did not seem to know that the parties in front of our foursome were even slower than we were.

The fairways were in great shape, but the greens were as hard as concrete and not in very good condition. That made the greens extremely fast and more like playing miniature golf on an artificial turf adhered to concrete.

A very good golfer would likely find this course to be ideal, but an average golfer like me struggles, largely because of an excess of sand traps.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.