We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful course; well kept but we were pushed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club

Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club
9002 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
760-674-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 attractions in Palm Desert
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in the Coachella Valley, Shadow Ridge Golf Club enjoys over 350 days of sunshine and blue skies every year. This beautiful and peaceful valley is often referred to as the "golf capital of the world" because of its ideal playing conditions and abundance of courses.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
central california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beautiful course; well kept but we were pushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The only problem I had was the push by the marshal to keep the pace up. The course was in great shape; beautiful fairways and greens. But being pushed to go faster took some of the joy away from the game

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great resort golf course. The course is interesting and challenging, and quite attractive. We also played at the Pete Dye Mission Hills and Gary Player Mission Hills courses and while those were both nice, the Shadow Ridge course is even nicer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enough sand to cover a beach!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a well designed course, but not an easy one for a weekend golfer like me. There are some greens that are completely surrounded by deep, deep sand traps--as many as six or seven on a couple of greens...or so it seems. Don't expect to have your party of two play alone, since you will be paired with someone else to make a foursome. The other two in our party were slow, slow, slow with every shot and caused our foursome to lag behind where we should have been. The course steward came to us on the ninth green and said we had to speed up, that we were 15 minutes behind. We split into two twosomes and the two of us skipped the 10th hole completely. When we arrived at #11, we had to wait 7 or 8 minutes because there was a foursome on the green and another foursome on the fairway waiting to take their strokes. We continued to have to wait to tee at every subsequent hole and the steward was never seen again! That "15 minutes behind" that we were accused of apparently had nothing to do with what was in front of us! The steward did not seem to know that the parties in front of our foursome were even slower than we were.

The fairways were in great shape, but the greens were as hard as concrete and not in very good condition. That made the greens extremely fast and more like playing miniature golf on an artificial turf adhered to concrete.

A very good golfer would likely find this course to be ideal, but an average golfer like me struggles, largely because of an excess of sand traps.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Gorgeous course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Better get your sand rescues perfected, because there's almost no avoiding them on this course. You could put a house in these things and not see it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Challenging and beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have played this Faldo-designed course since it opened about a decade ago. Always in November, because the course has just reopened after re-seeding in October. This timing means the course is in superb condition.
I also always take a private lesson at the golf school with Mike Ellis - the head pro - who has transformed my game over the years.
Shadow Ridge is a big, challenging course, not for beginners, with plenty of water and long patches of sandy waste ground along the sides. While the fairways are wide, the greens are cunningly placed, elevated and surrounded by huge bunkers. It takes very accurate approach shots to make bogey and par here.
The views are spectacular and ever-changing as the sun moves westward. They distract me!!
I'm always impressed by the wonderful customer service - clubs are removed from the cars and loaded on the carts for you by friendly and helpful staff who clean your clubs afterwards and reload them into your car. GPS is on each cart and marshals ensure players keep on time.
We sometimes stay at the resort, which is lovely too.
Highly recommended for discerning golfers who can play well and pay the green fees! ($145-$160.00)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club to your Saves list