We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill

Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill
74450 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4112
760-346-1565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 240 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Bistro, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cactus Jack's is a local's favorite specializing in steaks, seafood and pasta.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A bit pricey but very good . very professional staff. Nice decor and confortable seating. No music to disrupt your conversation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service Was Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

There were probably two servers for the whole restaurant. Took two hours to go through the whole process of ordering, receiving food, eating, and paying tab.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Multi-age Bar Scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Cactus Jack's with expectations of dinner at a table. Fortunately, two seats at the bar opened up while we were waiting so we nestled in among the many patrons aged from early 20's to 80's. We watched the tennis matches (being played a few miles away) on their gigantic, big-screen TV and ordered our dinner from the bar menu. Not only was the food superb but much less expensive than the dining room. The bartenders were working as hard as any I've seen but smiling and joking the entire time. Will look forward to more visits there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“So-so food, below average service - not really a good combination.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food is a bit bland. I wasn't impressed, nor was I disappointed. The service however was inattentive. I was constantly asking the manager, the bussers or other servers for that our server should have been doing for us. Oh, and one bathroom for all the men in the establishment is unforgivable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Went to celebrate a birthday - left disgusted.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had checked out the menu/prices on line before making the reservation for seven people. The $21.95 petit prime rib dinner was suddenly $27.00 in the restaurant. Our waitress was friendly and did her best to meet our concerns. The problem was in the kitchen. The meals were tasteless, cold, unappetizing and not fit for human consumption. Specifically, the baked potatoes tasted like they had been cooked on another day; the steamed vegetables were a mystery. While the broccoli was a bright green, it had no broccoli flavour, and was stone cold. It was the same with the carrots. Everyone's prime rib was unpallatable and did not come to the table as ordered. Our waitress indicated the manager would come to the table to speak to us. Over 30 minutes later the manager showed up to let us know that she would speak to the staff IN THE MORNING. She had the ability to make sure we left the restaurant with a good feeling - she failed miserably.
Needless to say we will never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.