We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so food, below average service - not really a good combination.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill

Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill
74450 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4112
760-346-1565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 208 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Grill, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cactus Jack's is a local's favorite specializing in steaks, seafood and pasta.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So-so food, below average service - not really a good combination.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food is a bit bland. I wasn't impressed, nor was I disappointed. The service however was inattentive. I was constantly asking the manager, the bussers or other servers for that our server should have been doing for us. Oh, and one bathroom for all the men in the establishment is unforgivable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Went to celebrate a birthday - left disgusted.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had checked out the menu/prices on line before making the reservation for seven people. The $21.95 petit prime rib dinner was suddenly $27.00 in the restaurant. Our waitress was friendly and did her best to meet our concerns. The problem was in the kitchen. The meals were tasteless, cold, unappetizing and not fit for human consumption. Specifically, the baked potatoes tasted like they had been cooked on another day; the steamed vegetables were a mystery. While the broccoli was a bright green, it had no broccoli flavour, and was stone cold. It was the same with the carrots. Everyone's prime rib was unpallatable and did not come to the table as ordered. Our waitress indicated the manager would come to the table to speak to us. Over 30 minutes later the manager showed up to let us know that she would speak to the staff IN THE MORNING. She had the ability to make sure we left the restaurant with a good feeling - she failed miserably.
Needless to say we will never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good ole bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I absolutely walking into a bar by myself and feeling welcomed..The bartender was the best and very thorough.. I had the BBQ Beef ribs and they were awesome...I made a few new friends just by letting them smell my ribs...Love Cactus Jacks

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Cactus Jack's was within walking distance of our Holiday Inn Express hotel, and after a long trip driving, we wanted to walk a bit. The restaurant was very clean, had nice linens and glassware on the table, and even though we were there in the middle of the afternoon, they were busy and the staff was very friendly. They have a beautiful full bar, with nice lighting. It would have been very appealing to sit and have a drink after our lunch, but it was too early in the day!

We ordered a California chicken sandwich, which was delicious! It was a grilled chicken breast, with avocado slices and cheese.

I would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“UGH!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Outdated, sloppy, way overpriced, too much food, greasy, and I feel gross when I think about the whole place... even now!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Jack's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.