We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Desert Willow Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Desert Willow Villas to your Saves list
Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Holmdel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Thank you to all the Tripadvisor reviewers in July 2013, you guys really nailed this hotel.
This is our week #2 West coast vacation in end of August, and a stop over for us ( wife and 10 yrs old ) from Prescott valley to San Diego.

All the front desk staff, concierge, and Express staff were great. Big thank you to "Emily " who extended our check out time to 12Pm so my son can used the water slide ( the reason why I picked this hotel ) at the pool. We assigned to building #5 on the top floor ( Bldg 1 and 2 are close to the pool, but was told they reserved for the owners of vacation club ). You can drive and parked by the front desk building ( 1 mins ) or call for a golf cart to pick you up to the pool area. The room was spacious, modern, and come with the washer & drier ( a big help to wash all dirty clothes from week 1 ). The only complaint is the sofa bed are only good for someone who is 100 lbs or less.

The Agave restaurant staff were also very accommodating, we walked in past the closing time and they still accepted us for diner.

We really love this place and we are hoping we can stay longer the next time.

Room Tip: Buiding 1 and 2 are close to the pool, but it can be very noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Excellent, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. The Front Desk, Concierge and Service Express teams appreciate your kinds words. We will be sure to share your comments with Emily and thank her for making a connection with you. We hope you can visit again in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    143
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
189
149
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We wanted to stay at a resort/timeshare where we could prepare meals, and just relax for a couple of days. Since we had a great time at the other Westin property (the Westin Mission Hills Villas) last year, we decided to check this property out for a change. As with the Mission Hills Villas, the core building facilities (pool, gym, restaurant, etc) are not directly connected to the villas; we were placed in villa building #5, which is shorter in distance to the main pool than the way it looks on the printed map! (its a very short walk, which can be done even in the summer heat). Our room was a very large 1-bedroom corner location, with a queen size sofa bed. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, the well appointed kitchenette consists of a full size refrigerator, electric stove, and a microwave/convection oven. Outdoor gas grills are located in between building 5 and 6. As for resort amenities, there is pretty nice 3-story pool slide, a well-equipped Gym (complete with a sauna AND steam room), two well-maintained tennis courts, a bar/restaurant and an interesting "mini-market". Since the core-building is not directly connected to the villas, the pool area is open 24 hours, which was great! So In a nutshell: the Good: New resort/timeshare, nice facilities, 24 hour pool area, nicely furnished rooms, and nice staff! The Bad: the area where the resort is located is still underdeveloped, so the physical location feels a bit isolated, which isn't really a bad thing, unless you get the need to get out to look for some nightlife. Would definitely consider coming back to this place again (and if you had to choose between the Westin properties, choose this one)!

Room Tip: try to get a corner suite if you can, and try to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor (the property do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello--
Robo-rk, I am happy to learn you enjoy the property during your stay. I am sorry we missed the opportunity to show case the city of Palm Desert. We have great concierge team that can help you familiarize with the sorounding of the property. Please connect with us before your next visit to Palm Desert so we can ensure your stay is a relaxing and renewing as possible. Thenk you for your support and we hope to see you again soon.

kind regards,

Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my first time here and I am an SPG elite traveler and not a timeshare owner. It is new and nicely laid out, as well as convenient access to I-10. If you're looking to spend most of your time in Palm Springs, this is NOT YOUR PLACE as it is a 30 minute drive. The only time I even felt they knew I was SPG elite was at check in, other than that there are no upgrades (hotel wasn't full) and no in room amenity/water. When you ask for a late check out, you get the "snarky front desk agent look" of DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT EXPECTING A LATE CHECK OUT HERE! The pool area is nice, but with a maximum depth of 4 feet. If you want to minimize the screaming kid factor at the pool, go early. The rooms are pretty awesome, amongst the best you will ever find at a timeshare property like this one. One unexpected pleasure was the restaurant, which I would have expected to be overpriced and under delivered. Happily, it was the exact opposite and we had 3 meals there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello--
Viking94708, I am sorry to learn we did not met your expectations as an SPG memeber, We do offer late check-outs and upgrades based on availability, Ownership level and SPG level, I am sorry we were unable to accomodate your request at the time of your visit. On a more positive note, We will be opening another pool by the end of September that will help alleviate the noise of the pools. I am dissapoined to learn you did not feel we appreciate your SPG memebership, Please connect with me on a future visit to Palm Desert and I will ensure your stay goes well. Thank you for the feedback and look forward to welcome you back!

kind regards,
Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Friends and I spend a week at this amazing property. We stayed in a two bedroom lock-off unit in building 5. My friends and I were able to just relax, see the sights, and come back to a great bar and restaurant. The Westin Concierge Kathi made my stay more enjoyable by giving me suggestions on places to see and things to do. Thank you. My only concern was at the beginning when following the directions to get to the Villas. 75 Willow Ridge is not the physical location of the Villas but their mailing address. it threw a few people off who were driving from the airport. The address is approx. 38141 Portola Ave. Other then a bit of a hiccup all was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want to be by the golf course and a quiet area select building 5 or 6. You will see the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello-
tmschaf, Thank you for your kind comments. I am excited to learn how much you enjoyed the property. I will share your comments with Kathy am sure she will appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your support and look forward to Welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good:
New, clean, well-stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, washer/dryer - great for families!

Housekeeping was great. We had daily service, they replaced the laundry detergent, the dishwashing detergent, made up the beds very nicely, replaced towels, no complaints!

My kids (age 7) loved the waterside, though they are just tall enough to go on it - and they do check!

Not so good:
They need more covered parking.
The kids pool was very crowded.
We were in building 4, which was far from the main pool (though they are constructing another pool next to building 4 - but it isn't one with a waterslide!)
Slow elevator, only 1 luggage cart for the whole building.
It would be nice to have the option of having someone bring my luggage up in 110 degree heat!

Room Tip: Ask for Building 1 or 2; 3 & 4 are a hike from the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello--
Travelwithtweens12, Thank you for the scored you bestowed upon us. I am pleased to learn you and your family enjoyed the facilities. I am sorry we missed the oportunity to offer you some luggage assistance, we do have personal that is in place to help you at your arrival and departure time. Please connect with me when you plan to come back to Palm Desert as i would like to make sure your stay goes well and you enjoy all our serivces and facilities. Again Thank you for your feedback and support.

kind regards,

Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager
bayron.garcia@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent two nights in the smaller lock off room. The price was fair, we accessed the huge local Wal-Mart for groceries. The kids loved the multiple pools. We usually RV so having blended drinks served poolside was fun. The weather was perfect, not too hot for enjoying a morning walk down past the golf course and getting in your exercise and not too cool to make the most of the different pools available. The rooms were clean and well appointed, the staff were courteous and accessing the property was pretty good. Parking was kind of a pain because it's gated access and then you probably too many cars staying per unit. It would be nice if at least one parking space was assigned to each unit so that you didn't end up down and around the corner with your groceries but this was the ONLY downside I can think of

Room Tip: Try to stay toward the middle of the overall property because the pools in the center were the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello--
Bonstrr, I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

All rooms face onto the golf course so there are no bad rooms! The weekly activities sheet has lots to keep all age groups entertained if you want to join in. Hubby and I find this is the perfect spot to really unwind, relax and dine in or dine out so it's a must on our vacation calendar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayron G, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello--
It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed the events held with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support.

Bayron Garcia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A starwood villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in world class destinations. The westin desert willow features Westin amenities coupled with stylish and spacious accomodations. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Desert Willow Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.