We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro's and Con's to this location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Desert Willow Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Desert Willow Villas to your Saves list
Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pro's and Con's to this location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Okay, so this was our first time at this resort. There were definitely some pro's and con's - the main pro was that we LOVED our room, we were in Bldg #5, and although alot of people complained about it being miles away from the pool, it was actually a nice walk and it took at the most 7 minutes to get to the pool. We had a great patio overlooking the golf course, overall a wonderful room and very clean. Pefect size for a family of 4. The pool area - well, yes it was VERY busy, but it is summer, so that was to be expected. The highlight regarding the pool is that it is 24 hours - that is AWESOME. I see that they are putting in another pool, closer to Bldg's 4,5 & 6, so that will be nice and will definitely make things a little quieter - as it could get a little crazy at times. The big con to this location - lack of options for food. I am one of those people that love to pretty much stay in the resort, but the food at this location was terrible, everything tasted pre-made, or heated in a microwave. Even the pizza tasted like it was microwaved, it was "soggy", the sandwiches were not even made with fresh bacon, again, seemed microwaved - just awful food. I hope they add more choices or improve the food considerably as that was seriously lacking. Also, the waiters around the pool were far and few between - when they came around, they were wonderful and very nice...but you didn't see them often enough - seemed like they needed to hire more staff. I do also think that charging for parking is ridiculous, and if you are going to charge ALL spots should be shaded - I don't understand why there would be any spots that are NOT shaded, this is Palm Desert, parking in the shade makes a HUGE differance and if you are paying $15 a day, it would be nice to at least be ensured an shaded spot. Overall, we had a good time and kids LOVED the pool...I definitely see potential for this location to be amazing - but for now, my other location is still my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize for the food quality and wait service. We will address this with our team. We are looking at ways to increase the variety available in our food outlets. We hope your travels bring you back to the resort.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    142
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
189
148
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just finished a 5 day stay at the Villas. For a family vacation spot, the place was excellent. I stress the work Family. It would be great for several families to come here because all you see and hear are the kids. It you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway, perhaps this is not the location. The entire staff - from front desk to the guys who drive the carts - are all excellent. Very friendly and glad to help you out with directions, dinner spots to go to, driving you around etc. Yes, housekeeping is every several days - but there is a paper on the table that explains that. But you have all you need to keep your condo clean - and the washer/dryer was absolutely the best thing about the room. Came home and just put clothes away - no doing laundry. The Villas are part of Starwood timeshare program, but you are not pushed in any way. The concierge mentioned once that if we were interested we could meet with someone. That was it.
We are already planning on going back. Oh, and I hope you find out the secret about the golf course and the sprinklers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for providing us with your feedback. The staff will appreciate your comments regarding friendliness. We were excited to hear that the villas met your needs. Looking forward to having you back as a guest in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very disappointed! We're Starwood Preferred Guests - I'd hate to see how they treat non-preferred guests! Here's just some of our experiences:

- Our room, ostensibly upgraded for free at check-in, was directly adjacent to a pool construction zone. The concrete saws and scaffolding work began promptly at 7:30 AM every morning.
- HBO not working in the room. Reported and never fixed, despite promises.
- We got some important mail, which the front desk initially lost...then they opened it. It took the entire day to find where they put it.
- The port-a-potty delivery truck (presumably for the construction zone) parked in the BBQ area - that's gross.
- The pools were very crowded, which we expected, but an "adults-only" time or area would be nice. The decks and pools look like your local waterpark on a Saturday in July.
- No maid service on two of our four days - not sure what happened here.
- The golf course on the grounds wants $45-55 dollars just to rent a set of clubs? Then you still have to pay the greens fees. Are they serious? Well, yes, they are.

All in all, the place has potential. However, as it is now, I wouldn't recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Stay away from buildings 3 - ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest, I apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns via telephone or email. We do use situations like this as training opportunities with our staff to be sure that we are doing right by our guests. Hoping to connect with you soon.

warren.jerome@westin.com

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent choice if you don't care about the hotel amenities.
these are apartments.
I actually really liked them a lot .

Very clean . Modern, spaciouse .

Golf carts to move you around .

A little out of the way , but around here everything is spread out.

Will be back.

Next time in the desert.

Room Tip: Tip the front desk agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us. It was exciting to know that our accommodations met your needs. We appreciate you as a guest and hope you can return soon.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was recently at this hotel for 2 weeks on business.

The rooms are fantastic. They are basically small one bedroom apartments. There is a living room, small full stocked kitchen, separate bathroom and separate bedroom. There are flat screen TVs, a Bose audio system, and even a balcony with table and chairs.

I ate the restaurant once. The food was good and plentiful.

Golf and fitness services are available, but I did not partake.

The pool is large and was not crowded.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I was having trouble with my internet connectivity and it was handled professionally and quickly.

Overall, I was very happy at this hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing us for your business needs. We were pleased to know that the accommodations were to your liking. The team will appreciate the comments on friendliness and helpfulness. We hope your travels bring you back to Westin Desert Willow Villas in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have been a Starwood owner for about five years, and The Westin Desert Willow Villas is the third Westin villas property at which I have stayed. Only three years old, this property mostly lives up to the Westin standards for quality and service.

I stayed on the third floor of Bldg 2. Bldgs 1&2 are closest to the pools and other amenities (2 min walk), although the other buildings are only a few mins. further. And often the staff will give rides in their golf carts.

The patios in Bldgs 1&2 face north, so you will not be viewing the sunrise or sunset from your room. Looks like Bldgs 4 or 5 are better for that.

There are three pools and two hot tubs in the main clubhouse area, all of which are open 24/7. Being a morning person, I like to sit by the pool early in the morning for some quiet time. I was very surprised to discover that they played loud (I mean, really loud) upbeat rock music and high tempo disco music all the time ... even at 6am!

When I complained to the front desk, I was first told that only an engineer or a manager could change the music, and they wouldn't be at work for a couple of hours. They also made sure to tell me that no one else had ever complained. Seemed odd and very annoying that someone in management would assume guests would enjoy that. Since most people have their own personal electronic devices these days, it hardly seems necessary, either.

Fortunately, just a few minutes later, the front desk clerk (Sonya) came out and found me at the pool, and told me she was able to turn the music off for the early morning hours. I was very happy. She also took my name and said she would make sure it stayed that way for the duration of my stay. Thank you, Sonya, for making what could have been a real "downer" of a visit into a nice, peaceful and relaxing stay ... especially my early morning quiet hours by the pool.

My villas was generally clean and well stocked. I noticed, however, that when I ran a damp towel across the bathroom floor, it turned up black. Same for my white socks when walking on the carpets. Maybe a bit more attention to floor cleaning / maintenance is needed?

The pool areas at this property are not as suited for small children under age 6 as, say, Westin Kierlands in Scottsdale (where we stayed with our grandchildren last year). There is no kiddie wading pool, but there is a nice water slide that seems popular with the school-age children. The three pools are all around 3-4 ft deep. The teenagers I saw during my stay seemed to be enjoying themselves more than the wee ones.

The only shade around the pools is from the umbrellas ... only a few young trees or taller vegetation. There is a covered sitting area off to the side of the upper pool.

Cabanas that are not rented are chained off with a "for rent" sign, so no one can use them. And during my week's stay, I never saw any cabana being used. I don't know the price, but it must be pretty steep; sad that they go to waste, when they could be placed on first-come first-serve for free or a nominal fee, if no one reserves them by a certain hour.

The market/deli on site is not very handy to the pool area. Unless you're waiting for staff to come to your deck chair, you must go a short walk up stairs or handicap ramps to get to it, as well as the Agave bar and grill. I thought the prices were a bit steep ... $12 for a breakfast burrito or burger, $3 for coffee, juice or milk. If you stay for dinner, a 6 oz. New York Steak dinner is $24. I went off site for dinner to places like Red Robin or Outback.

Palm Desert is very spread out, and this Westin property is NOT walking distance to anything, so plan on renting a car (best deal I could find was through Costco Travel). The nearest grocery store is about a 5 min drive, but most of the shopping, restaurants, etc. are along Highway 111, several miles south. Unlike some other Westin villa properties, there is no Westin hotel next door to this villa property.

For solo or couples, I would recommend this property for a return visit. However, we probably would NOT come here with our young grandchildren for a family stay.

Room Tip: Bldgs 1, 2 and 3 all face north. Bldg 4 and the (now under construction) Bldg 7 will have an adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you providing us with your feedback. We use all guest comments as a tool to improve upon our service delivery. I was happy to hear that we were able to handle the music situation for you. We appreciate you advising us of the carpet concern and we will be sure to address this with our teams. We hope you can return in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This property is wonderful. Our villa was immaculate, with lovely views of the area. All surrounding areas are beautifully maintained and the pools are perfect. All staff, without exception were friendly and helpful. Our villa was a short walk from the main buildings but there was always a friendly staff member offering a lift in a golf cart.
We tried the bar terrace for happy hour. Food and drinks were excellent and at a reasonable price.
Victoria at the front desk, Kelli at the concierge desk, Bernie who kindly provides lifts by golf cart, and the general manager Jim Moran are all exceptionally friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.
This has become our favourite SVO property and we are already looking forward to our next return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Great Stay, we were excited to hear about the number of associates who enhanced your experience with us. We will be sure to share this information with them. We appreciate the positive comments on the villa, the pools and surrounding areas as well. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you very much for staying with us.

Warren Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A starwood villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in world class destinations. The westin desert willow features Westin amenities coupled with stylish and spacious accomodations. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Desert Willow Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.