We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and quiet resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Desert Willow Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin Desert Willow Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very clean and quiet resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Daily rate was excellent. Room was lovely, clean and well-stocked kitchen. Great happy hour with fireplace and tasty reasonable food. I would definitely stay here again. Bathroom was huge with a fantastic large jacuzzi tub. Good location that's pretty central to most things.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback regarding our resort. It was great to know that the amenities and property location met your needs. The staff will appreciate the comments regarding outstanding service! Thank you again for taking the time to inform us of your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to service you in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    132
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
178
138
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Caveat - we were here on a great promotional rate through SPG membership.

The property is gorgeous and impeccably maintained. The Westin Heavenly bed is here and we slept better than we sleep at home. Even though the property was full, the pools were not crowded and the kids seem to stay at one set of pools so there is an adult area at the larger pool. I didn't see any sign designating it, though.

The poolside food and beverage service is frequently available. We enjoyed an excellent turkey sandwich ($13) and a couple of margaritas ($9 each, $5 at happy hour).

The rooms are either a one bedroom with queen and a kitchenette or a larger one bedroom with king and kitchen. Both are spacious, well appointed and comfortable, with 2 TVs. Showers have rain style shower heads with detachable wands. Larger villas have a large spa-style tubs, while the smaller ones have regular tubs.

You can also rent(or own if you want to become part of their vacation owner program) both the large and small together, as they are connected with a locking door between them.

Our one complaint was the construction noise from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. ( They do stop for lunch.) They are building 12 more buildings. The construction is metal, so the banging and sawing is shrill, loud, and can be heard throughout the property. The pool has enough other noises to move the construction noise to the background, but we were in building 4 and looked right at the construction for our view. It was too loud for us to be able to use our lanai and we certainly couldn't sleep past 8a or take a nap during the day.

We did ask to be moved but the property was full. That and the fact we were on the low, promotional rate.

The location is good, between the Westin Mission Hills and the Marriott Desert Springs, with a grocery store and several restaurants close by. The property is on the Desert Willow golf resort.

There are kids programs available for families and a large water slide at the pool.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return. After the construction or in a building away from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction. Right now that would be anything NOT in Building 4. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your experience. The staff will be happy to know that the rooms and amenities met your needs. I apologize that we were unable to provide a different location for you during your stay. We were glad to hear that your time here was enjoyable. Please reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to our resort in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The new villas, in building number 4 are very comfortable. Loved the bed, so comfortable. The kitchens have more counter space than the older building. I enjoyed the fireplace. I found out it does get cold in the desert.

Lots of construction happening now but it did not keep me awake. It will be even better when they finish the work. The only disappointment was that the tennis channel was not available in the villas. To watch tennis we had to go the the bar. I would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us. We were happy to know that the rooms and amenities met your needs. I apologize that the tennis channel was not available in your villas. Hoping you can return soon!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay here very often. Staff remembers who you are and are ready to help at all times. The food is great. We would recommend it to anyone of any age! Children have alot of fun in the pool areas as do adults! The rooms are very clean. The property is very well maintained. We are owners in Maui, but this is the best place in California.

Room Tip: We like Higher floors in buildings 1 or 2 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Kay & Chuck, thank you for taking the time to provide us feddback on your experience at our resort. The staff will be pleased that we remembered you from a previous visit, as this is our goal! We were excited to hear that the comments regarding the housekeeping team and the golf course. We will definitely let the bartender know of the impact he had on your stay. Looking forward to your next visit!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We own a time share here and the place never disappoints. This time we chose the smaller one bedroom villa, which was perfect for a short stay. We were here three nights..the villa is well equipped with all the amenities needed including a regular size fridge..there was silverware,plates, pots and pans and serving dishes for four..I think it would be too small for four people. The bathroom was very large with a double shower head and regular size tub..the bed as Westin standards was "heavenly".

Room Tip: We stayed in building one which is close to the pools and hot tubs..get a large unit if you're t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to hear that our accommodations met your needs. Look forward to having you back as a guest in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our stay here was my worst experience ever with a Starwood property. The " villa" was a tiny apartment. The living room was lit by windows facing on to a busy walkway ( motel style) so your choice was closed blinds and the lights on or open blinds and being on display to everyone walking by. The bedroom held a queen sized bed with little room to walk around it, and a deep balcony which left the bedroom dark as well. The acoustics were such that the golf course equipment, which started up right after sunrise, the conversations in the next unit, and anything on the walkways was plainly heard in our room. Also, there is a lot of construction, of more villas, so that noise is an issue as well. They do not own the desert willows golf courses -- two beautiful adjacent public courses -- so there is no club drop, or free use of the range. There is only one restaurant -- a very casual spot with a limited menu, although the food was very tasty. No room service at all. The pools look lovely, and people I spoke with who had young children liked the place a lot for their kids.
It does have the amenities Westin requires for its branding -- shower head, quality linens and the Westin workout" gym set up. A major disappointment otherwise -- I really expect better from Westin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for providing us with your comments regarding your stay. I apologize that your stay was less than acceptable. We have noted your concerns regarding lighting and the acoustics. We do provide rides from your villa directly to the adjacent golf courses. We will have in villa dining available in the near future. I hope to have the opportunity to connect with you regarding your experience. We welcome guest feedback as it is used as key tool for us to continually evolve our service.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations

warren.jerome@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went here as a little getaway weekend with my girlfriend. Really loved the room and all the Facilities. Bar was a good place for lunch or even a burger for dinner. Love the first floor rooms near the grill. Wish i could of stayed longer. Will definetly be back. Next time with the kids they will love the pool area.

Room Tip: First floor near the grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, we were excited to hear that your weekend went well. It was pleasure to hear that our rooms and facilities met your needs. On your next visit, please reach out to us so we can note any requests that you may have. Thank you for staying with us.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A starwood villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in world class destinations. The westin desert willow features Westin amenities coupled with stylish and spacious accomodations. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Desert Willow Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.