We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Desert Willow Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Desert Willow Villas to your Saves list
Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just stayed at this property over the weekend - Service was 5 stars. We needed to extend our stay, and although the property was at 100% occupancy, the front desk kept an eye out for cancellations and was able to accommodate us. We were even upgraded to a one-bedroom premium villa.

Rooms were very spacious & clean - especially the bathroom. The first night we stayed in the standard Deluxe Villa (Building 6 - farthest away from the Main Lobby/Pools, but beautiful/quiet view of the 18th hole). It had a Queen size bed - although it seemed more like a Full size bed. The second night, we were in a Premium villa (Building 2 - adjacent to Main Lobby/Pools) which had a King size bed (and it felt like the size of a King). I would opt for the Premium Villa just for the larger bed and the nice tub in the bathroom. There was also a outdoor deck with a table for al fresco dining, if you choose to do so.

There are only 2 restaurants on-site. We had breakfast at the Mountainview Market & Coffee House, which was more like a deli-like place. There were only several tables inside, but there was outdoor seating as well (which probably would be nice during Spring/Summer when it's warmer). There's also a mini-mart with snacks/wine/beverages. However, since there is a kitchen in each villa, you can also head down to Ralphs (about 5 minutes away) and stock up on food/beverages. The kitchen has everything you need: microwave, stove, fridge, toaster, utensils, plates, etc. Pool-side service for lunch was available as well - sandwiches, burgers, appetizers, etc. There were BBQ units throughout the resort - we didn't use them, but they looked very nice, well-kept units (there are BBQ utensils in the villa).

Pool & Gym - Pools were heated and there was also a water-slide. The gym had the essentials and Life Fitness equipment. There's also a sauna and steam room. Adjacent tot he gym, there were bathrooms with an outdoor shower (which would probably be nice during the Summer).

Parking - there is a $15 charge (which I guess is normal of any resort), but we were comp'd that several nights when we asked if there was anything for Gold Spg members.

WiFi - good connection and Free throughout the resort - No Resort Fee.

I would not hesitate to stay here again when visiting Palm Desert.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 & 2 are closest to the pool & lobby. Buildings 6 is farthest away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. We were happy to know that our accommodations met your needs. We do have a standard parking fee for those guests not using their ownership during their stay. It was great to hear that we were able to extend your stay at you request. We look forward to your next visit to our resort. Thanks again!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    139
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
187
145
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California USA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just stayed at this property for a couple of nights but could have stayed much longer. Everything in the Villa was as shown in the pictures and it had everything one would need to feel like home. Small kitched including all the wares needed to prepare a meal. The washer and dryer was very convenient and efficient. The bed was heavenly and the bedroom had a wonderful view of the golf course. Outside there were barbeques and sitting atreas ready to be enjoyed. It also has two new tennis courts and a beautiful pool area. The staff was fantastic. Did not have my room cleaned for the two nights as I booked a special rate without housekeeping. I will come back to this place again and stay longer to experience everything it has to offer.

Doc Kaelin

Room Tip: I used to stay at the Grand Hyatt in Indian Wells. However, this property was just as nice and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay. We were excited the hear that our accommodations met your needs. The staff will also appreciate your kind words. We hope to continue to be your choice when staying in the desert area.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Desert Willows for a week prior to Xmas - our second stay there within the past year. We were impressed with the villa we stayed in - it had everything we needed. As the property started to fill up as Xmas approached, room cleaning times became a bit erratic so we turned away the cleaners a couple of times. Only one concern - I wonder if the management is aware that several units appeared to have dogs - I know because a very bold guest left her dog crate on our patio as she walked hers about the property.

Room Tip: There do not seem to be any bad choices. We've stayed in two different buildings and both were e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you choosing us as your location for the holiday season. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused rgearding our clean times. We appreciate the feedback regarding pets in the room as we do have a no pet policy. Your comments are very useful for us to continue to improve our service for future guests. We hope you can return for future visits.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Westin Desert Willow Villas is a timeshare property, but we recently stayed there as guests. As usual for the Westin villa properties, the room was spacious, the bed was heavenly, and the service was friendly.

This is an ownership property and has some differences from your average hotel room. First, there is a full kitchen with everything you would expect: stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, pots, and pans, as well as plates, cups, silverware, and serving ware, etc. They provided detergent for the dishwasher, but only one packet every other day. There was a Trader Joes not too far away and we were able to prepare most of our meals at the hotel. We did eat out a couple of times and had good experiences at Cheekys, Palm Greens, and Roy's.

Second, there is a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, glass enclosed shower, two sinks, and the toilet is behind the most sturdy pocket door I've encountered. The tub was large enough for a family of 3 (two adults and a small child) to bath together. They provided soap, shampoo, and conditioner. However, we had to ask for cotton balls and cotton swabs, which were provided at no charge.

Third, there was a stackable washer/dryer. They provided 3 packets of detergent and fabric softener.

We were traveling with our 1 year old. We had to ask but were provided the following without charge: jogging stroller, high chair, crib, and diaper pail. One thing that was a little strange was that the crib was delivered without sheets. Instead there was a bath mat type rug in it. Luckily, we brought our own. When we asked for an extra crib blanket, they brought us a regular blanket for a king sized bed.

With only the lighting in the room, the room was a little dark. However, it wasn't as bad as other hotels.

There is a pool area with two pools and a hot tub. A portion of the pool area was under construction but there was plenty of room to swim and lay out in the sun. Understandably, the hotel has a strict policy about babies wearing swim diapers, which they provided free of charge. There is no spa and were told that we could use the spa at the sister resort.

We enjoyed our stay and would go back if we ever find ourselves in the Palm Desert area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest, our team will be excited the hear about the friendly service you received. We were also glad to here the room amenities met your needs. It was a pleasure to hear that your family enjoyed their experience. We hope you can return to us in the future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Arrived around 6pm check-in went very smoothly. The whole property only has 5 buildings with hotel rooms. Each building is 4 floors. We had a deluxe one bedroom, which is the smaller version of the rooms. The nicer rooms are called "premium". The "deluxe" room was more than adequate .
Based on the number of cars in the parking lot, I would imagine than the hotel was far from 100% occupancy. We were on the top floor and everything was very quiet.
one thing I did notice that the floors did not seem extremely solid. I had my shoes off and simply walking across the room made a significant amount of noise (like I was stomping). I suppose other reviews will mention soundproofing if it is a problem.
We used priceline and a lady in the elevator had just arrived and she was talking about how much she loved her room and how thrilled she was to get a great deal on hotwire.
I suggest using either to get a great deal.
$15 for parking at a timeshare is absurd, but I figure they are giving a great deal on the room and they still need to make a buck.
I would stay again at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the floor noise. We will have our engineering team look at options to address the floor concern. We do charge a nightly parking fee for those guest who are not using their ownership. Looking forward to your next visit to the desert!

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Property is well maintained. Pool area is under construction, but nice. The units are modern and clean, but rather dark. Not enough windows. Spacious enough for 2 people, but I can't see more than 2 people in a unit. The staff is very honest. I mistakenly left purse and jewelry on the table when the room was cleaned. Nothing was touched. Would return for that reason alone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for the comments regarding the staff and the property maintenance. We appreciate your understanding during our slide renewal. We hope your travels bring you back to Westin Desert Willow Villas in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful location. Our villa is spacious and very comfortable. The pool area is lovely and open 24 hours. The staff are very friendly and helpful! Golf course is attached to resort for those who like to golf. We really enjoyed having the full size kitchen, washer and dryer.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson2180, Manager at Westin Desert Willow Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing us as your location to stay in the desert. We appreciate your comments on the staff, golf course and room amenities. We hope to have you as a guest in the near future.

Warren Jerome

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Desert Willow Villas

Address: 75 Willow Ridge, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A starwood villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in world class destinations. The westin desert willow features Westin amenities coupled with stylish and spacious accomodations. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Desert Willow Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.