We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of walkers....but no shopping bags!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of College of the Desert Street Fair

College of the Desert Street Fair
43-500 Monterey Ave, Palm Desert, CA 92260
+1 760-636-7957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 48 things to do in Palm Desert
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the College of the Desert campus in Palm Desert CA this year round weekend event sponsors over 300 merchants offering a wide variety of unique gifts, gadgets, tools, clothing, outstanding food, original art, housewares, yard/patio furniture and décor and much much more.
Palm Desert, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lots of walkers....but no shopping bags!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You will find slightly marked-up Dollar Store items here; faux jewelery, sunglasses, socks, T-shirts, hats and other China-made "goods" here. Come hungry, because the food is not half bad and after a quick tour through the aisles - you're ready to head back home.

Many people do it for the exercise and food...not the shopping.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    62
    21
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Fun Way to Spend Morning. Watch the Heat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We go to the street fair a couple of times each year while visiting the area. There are a few vendors we go back to but our recent visits were disappointing. One weekend in May, more than half of the vendors were somewhere else - Carlsbad, I think. Of course as visitors, we had no idea it would be empty. Even the food vendors were gone. The other weekend we went, in April, I couldn't find a bathing suit vendor I had patronized in the past. The booth on the map just wasn't there. He took both o the weekends off I visited. But it is still fun to browse and walk around. There are plenty of food booths. Quite a number of vendors are here every week and this is their store!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beyoung7955, Manager at College of the Desert Street Fair, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so happy you enjoy the COD Alumni Street Fair and took the time to write a review. I am sorry the merchant was absent on the days of your visit. Most of our merchants are listed on our website and are happy to fulfill your requests if they were absent the day you shopped. The associates at the information booth can also give you the contact information. Let us know how we can help you and again thank you for being one of our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun relaxed "shopping" outing with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

You never know what you'll find at this outdoor street fair, but I haven't seen anyone leave empty handed! This isn't a swap meet in the traditional sense, as the items are all new! You can always find HATS, sunglasses, jewelry, purses, luggage, golf items, patio stuff and home decorating items at this and then there are always new surprises of health care products, toys, etc. that change often. The fair is VERY large so bring water, snacks or enjoy the huge outdoor food court. We had breakfast here with coffee/lattes and crepes! YUM and the price was right. Parking is a bear so get there early. It opens at 7am and closes at 2pm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit when in Palm Springs, Rancho Mirage or Desert area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Liked the place cause it is not a flea market, wich can be a little bit on the down side...!
This however, was a market with all sorts of things - clothing, shoes, food and i could go on and on...

If you wanna make a bargain - this could very easily be the place to go.

It is only open on sat - sun from 7- 2 PM and remember to brings water, good shoes and a hat :-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One stop shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Go early to avoid the heat. We went to a farmer's market before heading to the street fair. The street fair had better prices in everything we bought at the farmer's market (produce, flowers). We didn't know there would be such an array of food options at the fair. It's an all-in-one adventure. Clothing and other goods, produce, flowers, and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College of the Desert Street Fair also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to College of the Desert Street Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College of the Desert Street Fair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.