We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Corner Cafe and Bakery

French Corner Cafe and Bakery
72-423 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA
760-568-5362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Bakeries in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visit the cafe many times each year. The food is always great. I had salad nicoise with tuna - as good as anything I've had in France. My wife had filet of sole - as good as anything she's had. One of our favorite places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
fordtraveler56
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal, Delectable Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. A cute little cafe with fantastic food and good service. We were in town visiting family and they took us here for a late lunch. We all loved our meals. I had Salad Nicoise and my husband had a fish sandwich, which he described as the best fish sandwich he ever had. The desserts were so beautiful it was hard to choose one to share,but we managed. It tasted as good as it looked. If you are anywhere near this restaurant you should make it a destination, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were in Palm Desert for a week and enjoyed our first visit here so we came back again. On our initial visit we both ordered the seafood crepe. The following visit I had the steak au poivre cooked extra rare. Everything tasted delicious however I would have preferred a little lesss sauce on both entrees. French onion soup was also very good. Their hours are 8 AM - 8 PM so if you plan to go for dinner get there by 7 PM. The restaurant is small so be sure to make reservations. Lastly comes the best part of the meal 'DESSERT' . Before you order dinner check out the pastries and if you see something you like have them put it aside for you because it may not be there later. Our favorite was the fresh berry tart. If you look for the restaurant by their address it may be a bit hard to find. They are locatedin the Target shopping center.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a gem. In the area just four days and have been there twice. The dessert display make you want more than one. Calves liver superb and the menu very interesting. Try the mussels. You'll want to return too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Liver lover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It is so rare that I get to eat liver and onions, I had to order it for my first and only visit and WOW!! Oh. My. Gosh. Three slices of liver cooked to perfection with a delicious brown crust, piled high with carmelized onions, it was pure heaven! I think the secret was the bacon in the mix. Accompanied by au Gratin potatoes, this dinner is the best meal I've had in well over a year.

I hope I get a chance to go back; next time I'll starve myself all day so I can eat everything on my plate and have dessert!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Corner Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to French Corner Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Corner Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.