We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, friendly management and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36999 Cook Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, friendly management and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed here before, and just returned home from another visit to palm desert and stay at the Homewood Suites. First of all, this hotel is not really within walking distance to much, but it is conveniently located between the freeway and hwy 111.

There is plenty of free parking. We usually travel with a group, and all meet in the evenings in the lobby, which is very comfortable and accommodating. There is an adequate breakfast selection, and dinner served M-Th nights, which is surprisingly good for a freebie.

The guest suites are clean. The beds are very comfortable, with decent quality bedding and plenty of pillows. The kitchens are well equipped. Between the complimentary breakfasts and dinners, we rarely use the kitchen, but having a full apartment size fridge does come in handy.

The staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping, are all extremely friendly and helpful. Kudos to the manager, Chad, for successfully running a welcoming hotel with a staff that truly seems happy to help. It's a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Typical Homewood suites with little to offer except a bed. The hotel is in an unfinished business mall way far from anything at all. It is close to the new Roverside UC campus and the 10 but there is nothing in the neighborhood. The rooms are fairly clean though the coffee maker did not work and was dirty from the previous guest. Bed is rather soft and bedding is poor quality sheets just big enough to fold over the very thick bedspread but it is not covered with anything so clearly dirty so you really need a bigger sheet to cover it. The food offerings - took one look and headed elsewhere; breakfast same. Not a top choice at all but ok for a roadside bed if you are not picky. Noisy old fashioned ac units in the window. Can hear the plumbing through paper thin walls.

Room Tip: ask for top floor mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterGMHWSPD, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel, and I appreciate your candor in your review of your stay. We take feedback from our guests very seriously, and guest room appearance is an area of our hotel that we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share, and I hope you will try our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at this hotel. We stayed 10 nights at the hotel. All the staff was friendly. Our room was huge and in excellent condition. We had a kitchen with a full size refrigerator. It came in very handy for the bits of food we wanted to prepare ourselves. Breakfast staff were helpful and the array of food choices was very good. Upon arrival we were presented with a dinner menu that we could have four nights a week. We went to dinner in the hotel twice. The meals were very good. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letshavefun0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staying for 3 nights so wanted to be comfortable. 1 bedroom was large with firm bed, full king pillows, TV with HD channels, soft thick towels, and a shower with great water pressure. Kitchenette was new, clean, with a full-sized frig. Morning comp. buffet breakfast was impressive with fresh fruit, hot entree x3 (inc. sausage, eggs, and french toast), and plenty of other selections. Front and breakfast staff were attentive and personable. Can hear a little noise from walking above but minimally noticible. Probably 4 1/2 rating. Bottom line......would stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisbummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It was about the size of three hotel rooms -- two bedroom/two baths with a living room/kitchen in the middle (and three tv sets). Perfect for vacation with adult son. Well worth the price and convenient to everything we wanted to do. Many restaurants around, short drive to Palm Springs, Joshua tree, Palm to Pines highway, and many universities in the Coachella Valley. Stayed 4 nights, but was comfortable enough to stay a month. Staff was great. Breakfast changed daily so some days were better than others. Nice fire always burning in the lobby warmed us as the evenings got chilly.

Room Tip: Our room was above the entry but always quiet, don't think there is a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel was easy to find and far enough from interstate not to hear a whole bunch of noise. Manager and staff very pleasant, we were greeted coming and going out of the hotel every day. Had a one bedroom suite with kitchen, which was very convenient, either for making areal yourself or enjoying their breakfast and dinners. Would have been nice to have a small oven(had one when we stayed at Homewood in Orlando. Rooms were very clean (housekeeping could have come a little earlier in the day(most days was around 4ish). We were there for 12 days therefore we used the room as our space rather than just a hotel room. Having said that it was a minor inconvenience. Rooms were quiet, do not hear much from other rooms. Pool area was small and didn't get much sun in most areas, but were we aware of that having read other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40years1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just spent four nights at this wonderful property and recommend it wholeheartedly. I stayed in one of the one-bedroom suites (they also have studios and 2-bedroom suites). It was comfortable and nicely decorated. There is a ktichen area with a large refrigerator, stove top, dishwasher and small sink. A small table is provided. The living area is basic - sofa, chair, tv. The sofa is a bit hard. The bedroom was great - comfy bed, tv and a sink area outside of the bathroom which gives a bit more room. My room was in the back of the hotel, got very little traffic even though it was close to the door and was nice and quiet.

The property is dog-friendly. While they do not have dog bags or a specific dog area, there is a large grassy area to walk the doggies. There is a park adjacent to the hotel which does have dog bags. A wonderful dog park is just down the street (go out the back of the hotel). You can walk to the dog park or drive. It's about a 10-15 minute walk.

The hotel offers a breakfast which I thought was pretty generous. Some items are hit or miss but there is enough to get by.

ALL of the staff members are extraordinarily helpful and friendly. I truly cannot say enough about the staff and their general manager.

This was not a budget hotel. We were here in the busy season but it was not cheap.

Pizza Villagio had great pizza and it just a block away. El Paseo restaurants are about a 10 minute drive and the hotel is very close to the Highway 10 so very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank om_sweet_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
1.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#16 of 23 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert

Address: 36999 Cook Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Palm Desert California is conveniently located off I-10, only 12 miles from Palm Springs, California and just 11 miles from Palm Springs International Airport. Our hotel has a beautiful and modern look that will appeal to all visitors. Enjoy our California sun by the pool, barbecue area, putting green, local park at 30 feet from the hotel or venture outward to all the outdoor and local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing