We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love animals stay away.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Living Desert Zoo & Gardens

Living Desert Zoo & Gardens
47-900 Portola Ave., Palm Desert, CA 92260
760-346-5694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 attractions in Palm Desert
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Deserts, Gardens, Parks, Natural History Museums, Zoos
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing foliage, Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The botanical gardens of this park offer great opportunities to see desert vegetation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you love animals stay away.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If zoos are your thing then this is OK. At the time I went I mistakenly thought this was some form of game preserve with an emphasis on desert plants and shrubs. I was interested in only desert vegetation and unfortunately this place is mainly a zoo. I don't get off on seeing animals that had been trapped (humanly? yeah right) and caged in enclosures for the rest of their lives. Plus is found it pricey.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    219
    70
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“First-class operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is about as visitor-friendly as you can get: accommodating, easy to get around with varied and interesting exhibits and features. Staff are helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Desert Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a tad difficult to navigate and we didn't see a lot of animals. We were there shortly after it opened. The Discovery Center was a little disappointing but the Gecko Play area was a HUGE hit with our 14 month old twins. They also enjoyed the carousel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is great way to spend a day, great exhibits. Clean, well cared for animals and plants. We were pleasantly surprised to find so many animals from all over the world. The staff was well informed and very friendly. Also a nice surprise was the food, much better than you would expect from a park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Calif.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love the Living Desert. From the miniature trains, to the animals, to the friendly staff, to the beautiful grounds.....the Living Desert is amazing! The living desert is the right size for a day adventure. There are great hiking trails that start at the Living Desert too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Desert Zoo & Gardens also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Living Desert Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Desert Zoo & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Living Desert Zoo & Gardens to your Saves list