We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Living Desert Zoo & Gardens

Living Desert Zoo & Gardens
47-900 Portola Ave., Palm Desert, CA 92260
760-346-5694
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$159*
and up
Palm Springs and Outlet Shopping Day Trip from...
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Palm Desert
Type: Natural History Museums, Deserts, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing foliage, Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The botanical gardens of this park offer great opportunities to see desert vegetation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We got to the park at 9:30 and it was just beginning to warm up. The days high temperature was 114. The park is big and worth the price. We found a coupon online.

Stopped and had a pretzel. I had to buy a hat because it got hot fast. We walked the entire zoo/gardens. Luckily there is plenty of shade to be found. Even drink machines are abundant.

The butterfly/hummingbird aviary was closed but we saw more hummingbirds in the park that we have ever seen at home. They are all around feeding on the trees, bushes and flowers.

Lots of animals and plants. We had a very nice time and will go back to visit the cactus shop.

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    245
    78
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best zoo experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

My family and I took the vip tour. It was one of the best tours I have been on and the price was fantastic! We were met by our wonderful guide Judi in an 8 passenger cart. She took my family and I around the entire park. She showed us everything and we felt like stars. She went with us to every exhibit and made my sons feel special. My kids got passes to the carousel and fed the giraffes. The vip tour is a MUST!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very well done desert landscape,but not inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We visited in the morning and found that the displays had some gaps, so we were unable to see all the animal displays. It is however understandable that animals can be resting or hiding or getting medical attention. What we found more difficult to accept is the fact that we did pay close to $15 admission , and shuttle services cost another $6. We did not mind walking, but in other places shuttle services are included. If you do the math, $20 for the entire visit is overpriced.Pack your sun hat and walk through the displays.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Right place...wrong time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We visited mid-June and the temperature was over 100 degrees. Most of the exihibits were closed. However, the garden was beautiful and well put together. Our recommendation is to get there as early as you can, otherwise most of the animals will be napping for the day. Bring an umbrella and camelback, or some type of canteen to hold lots of water. We didn't quite enjoy it during this visit because we did not come prepared and we arrived just before noon, which was too late and too hot. It's definitely worth the visit and we plan to enjoy it next time when better prepared.

If you're traveling with children we recommend a stop at the Discovery Center. Bring a camera and check out the miniature train set at the center of the park. From June-September, although not listed on the pamphlet we received from our concierge, the park is only open from 8:00-1:30.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bighorns and camels and bobcats, oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We hadn't been to the Living Desert in more than 20 years. Boy, were we in for a pleasant surprise. It was probably 3 times the size of our first visit. We thought we'd spend an hour or so there before heading back to the hotel pool, and ended up staying til they closed (1:30 pm in the summer.) The exhibits were beautiful - so much to explore. Even at noon in 98 degree heat, we saw a bighorn ram and three other sheep on "Bighorn Mountain." The most beautiful site was an ostrich standing high on a green ridge next to a palm tree, with a clear blue sky and chocolate/purple mountains in the background. The African village looked nice, although there wasn't any activity while we were there. I would highly recommend it for people of all ages.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Desert Zoo & Gardens also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Living Desert Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Desert Zoo & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.