We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SUSHI...LESS THAN INTIMATE ENVIRONMENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott

Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott
74855 Country Club Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260
7603412211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 240 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cook
Transit: Sun Bus stop at Country Club Drive and Cook Street
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SUSHI...LESS THAN INTIMATE ENVIRONMENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've had sushi three times at this restaurant. Two of the times, it was some of the best sushi we have ever eaten. The third time, it was still great, but not quite as good as the first two. Maybe it was a different chef, as it usually came with unbelievable presentation including edible flowers. The third time....no fancy garnishes. Overall, I would rate the sushi in the top tier. The restaurant itself is in the open lobby of the Hotel, which is impressive, but far from intimate. It is certainly on the expensive side, but is to be expected in such a setting. We will definitely be going back there again. One of our favorite places to eat in Palm Springs area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    53
    21
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Loved the food, and the server was amazing, he was really friendly and made the experience really enjoyable. There was a lot of food and I couldn't eat it all! Didn't have a problem getting a table as we pre-booked and I would recommend pre-booking!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Do no go on Mothers Day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is wonderful to ride the boats to the restaurant, but not so good when they put you in a room and FORGET YOU. Exactly what happened to our family when we booked late on Mothers Day. We have not gone back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Took the family for birthday dinner at Mikado. It was really delicious and super fun. The service was great and Mike put on a great show in addition to cooking good food for us! Pricey of course, but to be expected.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A true cultural eating experience. Our 10 year old grandson sat there with his mouth open and a smile watching the antics of the chef. Our chef was Mike and he did a great job. Not only of entertaining us but the food was properly prepared. The support staff was also very efficient. In the bar, my wife's lemon drop martini was served with dry ice chips which made for a very dramatic presentation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.