We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About an average Comfort Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39585 Washington Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Deer Park, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“About an average Comfort Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Comfort Suites in Palm Desert is about an average version of the chain. If you've stayed at a Comfort Suites before, this one is fairly similar to them all.

I liked the new power outlets including USB charging station in the room. Makes charging all the miscellaneous gear quick and easy.

Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet despite the relative proximity of the freeway.
The shower was not OK, I'd set a temperature and over the course of the next minute or so it would migrate toward scalding hot, requiring another adjustment followed by another gradual temperature increase. OK if you like short showers, I guess.

Breakfast was the standard fare (self waffle, scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage) but definitely on the plus side breakfast was ready to eat by about 5:40am even on Sunday, very beneficial since I needed to be on the road by 6am each day.

Overall, comfortable and adequate but nothing to stand out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Christ0fu,

Thank you for being a valued guest. Although we are conveniently located near the 10 Freeway, the building was engineered to reduce outside noise level to a minimum. We rarely receive challenges from outside noise and guests are quite happy with the accomodations. I'm sorry to hear that you had an issue with the shower water temperature. I'm not sure if you mentioned this to the front desk, as we would have loved the opportunity to attempt to fix the problem. As for breakfast, the normal breakfast time starts at 6:00am, but we know occasionally there are guests that need to leave earlier. We try to be accomodating and flexible with times as we know this is very important to our guests. In the event the request cannot be accomodated, we offer complimentary Grab it & Go breakfast bags starting at 4:00am.
Once again, thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
25
35
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We were stuck in the August desert due to car problems. We couldn't have been luckier in finding accommodations. Great room with microwave, fridge, sofas,, good breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Lynstea,

Thank you for being our guest. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. All of our suites have at least a mini refrigerator and microwave for convenience, which a lot of guests appreciate. Please come back and visit us soon should you be in the area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

i just drove in and checked in. Tony at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Property was very pretty. Only downside was spa was too hot and the wireless was only working inconsistently. Breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: This property was very quiet- i would think all rooms would be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear KimberleyRN,

Thank you for staying with us last year. We are taking the feedback regarding the wi-fi and hot tub into consideration, and discussing it with our staff to ensure consistency. Our goal is make your stay as comfortable as possible. Please contact us when you're in the area again as we would love you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked this on Hotwire and had low expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful, and surprisingly patient and polite to the woman who kept shouting demanding questions at him over our heads while he was trying to serve us. The room was comfortable and quiet (although a little too warm - not sure the air conditioner was up to the job) and breakfast, which we ate outside by the pool, was very nice. We appreciated having the fridge and microwave, but a few dishes would have been nice. Not really sure that what we had qualifies as a "suite", but I still recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear MMC990,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your positive experience here with us at the Comfort Suites Palm Desert. Although we offer great amenities such as microwaves and refrigerators, and kitchenettes, the suites do not come with dishes. However, if you inquire at the front desk, we do have pots, pans, and cooking utensil we'd be happy to lend you as well as plates and cups. Please contact the hotel in advance should you have any special requests and we will try our best to accomodate it. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We used this place for a quick overnight on our way to our ultimate destination. It was really late when we arrived, so we set the air-conditioner on its lowest setting and went straight to bed figuring that the room would eventually cool down (it was still 91 degrees at 1:00am). While the room was not completely unbearable, it never did cool down to a comfortable temperature. As a result, I asked for a discount the next morning and was given one without an argument. All of the staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly.
We used the sofa hide-a-bed. It was big enough for one person, but had a hard matress. The other beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
I used the fitness room. It had one strength-training and two aerobic machines. The treadmill was broken so I used the bike. It worked well. The pool area was somewhat small but nicely landscaped.
There was a good variety at breakfast which included scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, cereals and pastries.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the A/C in your room was not functioning properly, but I'm glad that the Front Desk took care of the problem to your satisfaction. We have carefully reviewed your comments and will be making the necessary changes and improvements for the future. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The place was just off the freeway warning of road noise possibility; however the noise was negligible (even though we were on the second story) The staff was very nice and accommodating. We had our 2 kids along so we had requested a crib, which they call a "pack & play" BTW, however the room came with a bed sofa which was fabulous and the kids loved it.
The room included free internet and parking, a mini fridge with microwave and cupboards, an iron with board, a hair drier, and a coffee maker to boot! The free self serve breakfast had hot scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, juices, milk, cereal, fruits, coffee, tea, assorted breads and pastries and their condiments!
We thought the mini suite was clean and quiet and very adequate for a couple of days "mini escape vacation" but not more. The hotel was kind of secluded, but then again every thing is a bit of a drive out that way. Don't be afraid to book here, you won't regret it. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear rix j,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our amenities and friendly staff. Since we are conveniently located near major attractions and events, our guests love staying here for a quick stay-cation or an extended vacation. We hope you will consider visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here in March. The location is reasonable - there's a Del Taco, grocery store, 2 drug stores, a coffee shop and nail salon all within walking distance. The desk staff were kind. Breakfast had a wide selection including fresh fruit, yogurt and waffles.

The room is big enough and there's lots of furniture. The refrigerator was cold, and larger than your typical hotel fridge. The wet bar didn't provide any kitchen accessories except paper towel. Bring your own plates, silverware, cups, etc. if you plan on using it. Cabinets were nice to store snacks.

Housekeeping requires more attention. There was an errant hair in our shower, the toilet ran and ran and ran until I removed the lid (that had mold on it) and pulled that arm-thing up. Bathroom tiles seems insecure. Beds were uncomfortable. When I looked under the bed when we were leaving to make sure we didn't leave anything I found some items left by a previous guest =(

It was obvious a dime hadn't been put into the place since it was built and the furniture shows pretty serious wear. We moved the luggage table and it collapsed. At first, I thought we broke it, but upon further inspection I realized it had been repaired multiple times with some short nails. The big light fixture in the middle of the lobby had at least 1/2 of the bulbs burnt out. The shelves with all the plants/decor on them were hopelessly dusty and dirty. Carpet was stained in the hallways.

I wouldn't stay here again, but it is fine for a night or two, especially if the price is right.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator (and ice machines) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our guest. I'm sorry to hear that there were some Housekeeping issues during your stay. We are sharing these details with our Housekeeping staff to make sure we are paying special attention to detail in all areas. We are also actually in the process of planning room upgrades this year for our bedding and carpets. Management does periodic walk throughs of the property to ensure everything is up to date. Once again, thank you for taking the time bring these important matters to our attention, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 39585 Washington Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Palm Desert
Comfort Suites Palm Desert
Palm Desert Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.