We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly confortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39585 Washington Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Victoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly confortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked this on Hotwire and had low expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful, and surprisingly patient and polite to the woman who kept shouting demanding questions at him over our heads while he was trying to serve us. The room was comfortable and quiet (although a little too warm - not sure the air conditioner was up to the job) and breakfast, which we ate outside by the pool, was very nice. We appreciated having the fridge and microwave, but a few dishes would have been nice. Not really sure that what we had qualifies as a "suite", but I still recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear MMC990,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your positive experience here with us at the Comfort Suites Palm Desert. Although we offer great amenities such as microwaves and refrigerators, and kitchenettes, the suites do not come with dishes. However, if you inquire at the front desk, we do have pots, pans, and cooking utensil we'd be happy to lend you as well as plates and cups. Please contact the hotel in advance should you have any special requests and we will try our best to accomodate it. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
50
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We used this place for a quick overnight on our way to our ultimate destination. It was really late when we arrived, so we set the air-conditioner on its lowest setting and went straight to bed figuring that the room would eventually cool down (it was still 91 degrees at 1:00am). While the room was not completely unbearable, it never did cool down to a comfortable temperature. As a result, I asked for a discount the next morning and was given one without an argument. All of the staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly.
We used the sofa hide-a-bed. It was big enough for one person, but had a hard matress. The other beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
I used the fitness room. It had one strength-training and two aerobic machines. The treadmill was broken so I used the bike. It worked well. The pool area was somewhat small but nicely landscaped.
There was a good variety at breakfast which included scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, cereals and pastries.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the A/C in your room was not functioning properly, but I'm glad that the Front Desk took care of the problem to your satisfaction. We have carefully reviewed your comments and will be making the necessary changes and improvements for the future. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The place was just off the freeway warning of road noise possibility; however the noise was negligible (even though we were on the second story) The staff was very nice and accommodating. We had our 2 kids along so we had requested a crib, which they call a "pack & play" BTW, however the room came with a bed sofa which was fabulous and the kids loved it.
The room included free internet and parking, a mini fridge with microwave and cupboards, an iron with board, a hair drier, and a coffee maker to boot! The free self serve breakfast had hot scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, juices, milk, cereal, fruits, coffee, tea, assorted breads and pastries and their condiments!
We thought the mini suite was clean and quiet and very adequate for a couple of days "mini escape vacation" but not more. The hotel was kind of secluded, but then again every thing is a bit of a drive out that way. Don't be afraid to book here, you won't regret it. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear rix j,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our amenities and friendly staff. Since we are conveniently located near major attractions and events, our guests love staying here for a quick stay-cation or an extended vacation. We hope you will consider visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here in March. The location is reasonable - there's a Del Taco, grocery store, 2 drug stores, a coffee shop and nail salon all within walking distance. The desk staff were kind. Breakfast had a wide selection including fresh fruit, yogurt and waffles.

The room is big enough and there's lots of furniture. The refrigerator was cold, and larger than your typical hotel fridge. The wet bar didn't provide any kitchen accessories except paper towel. Bring your own plates, silverware, cups, etc. if you plan on using it. Cabinets were nice to store snacks.

Housekeeping requires more attention. There was an errant hair in our shower, the toilet ran and ran and ran until I removed the lid (that had mold on it) and pulled that arm-thing up. Bathroom tiles seems insecure. Beds were uncomfortable. When I looked under the bed when we were leaving to make sure we didn't leave anything I found some items left by a previous guest =(

It was obvious a dime hadn't been put into the place since it was built and the furniture shows pretty serious wear. We moved the luggage table and it collapsed. At first, I thought we broke it, but upon further inspection I realized it had been repaired multiple times with some short nails. The big light fixture in the middle of the lobby had at least 1/2 of the bulbs burnt out. The shelves with all the plants/decor on them were hopelessly dusty and dirty. Carpet was stained in the hallways.

I wouldn't stay here again, but it is fine for a night or two, especially if the price is right.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator (and ice machines) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our guest. I'm sorry to hear that there were some Housekeeping issues during your stay. We are sharing these details with our Housekeeping staff to make sure we are paying special attention to detail in all areas. We are also actually in the process of planning room upgrades this year for our bedding and carpets. Management does periodic walk throughs of the property to ensure everything is up to date. Once again, thank you for taking the time bring these important matters to our attention, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a very convenient hotel, about three miles from the Indian Wells Tennis garden. We stayed there during the tournament and found it clean (except for the elevator floor) with a very helpful staff. Every evening they had copies of the draw for the next day. Our room was quite large, clean, and quiet, with a view of the mountains. Good value in a place of excess.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear efband,

Thank you for staying with us during the Tennis Tournaments. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back as our guest this year, so please contact the hotel to receive competitive rates! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were here to watch tennis at Indian Wells. Although the rates are high for this time the hotel is an ideal stay only 3 miles from Indian Wells tennis venue. The breakfast was great. Bath towels and real glasses and cups instead of plastic would make a difference.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear IndianOxfordshire,

Thank you for staying with us and being a valued guest. You will find that during Tennis seaon in March, the rates of all the hotels in the area are higher than usual. We stongly believe that we offer better rates than our competitors nearby the Tennis garden and offer the same value. Thank you again for the valuable feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The good:
- Room quiet and large (king suite)
- Staff friendly

The bad:
- 2 large construction nails on the floor
- Wi-Fi too weak to connect from room (room 302); worked fine in lobby
- Light over shower buzzed so loudly we couldn'’t use the light (wasn't repaired after we reported it)
- 1 of 3 bulbs over sink was burned out (we took it to front desk and they provided a replacement)

Room Tip: Ask whether Wi-Fi signal works in the room assigned
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Although you stayed with us last year, please know that we are using your review to share with our staff for training purposes. Attention to detail is very important to us and thank you for pointing these problems out. We hope you will consider staying here again and giving us the opportunity to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
4.8 mi away
International Lodge
International Lodge
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#13 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 39585 Washington Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Palm Desert
Comfort Suites Palm Desert
Palm Desert Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.