We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
1 review
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a weekend here. We stayed in the studio, which is beyond microscopic. The hotel overall was okay. One of the Enclaves pools was always closed due to kid poop. The main pool at Shadow Ridge was crazy busy. No towels available, no pool seats.

This property doesn't hold a candle to the Westin nearby. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Ciustomer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Shadow Ridge. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned after spending an amazing week here. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ground floor Enclaves apartment (room 4401) which was fab. Plenty of room for our family of 4, kids had a double bed each & we had a king size along with 2 en suite luxury bathrooms, large kitchen/diner and lounge. There was also a washing machine and tumbler dryer in our apartment which was an added bonus as didn't have any dirty washing to bring home with me! Staff were very friendly especially at the pool bar. No problem getting pool side beds whatever time of the day or night (pools open until 11pm due to the high temperatures) even had our own cabana on couple of occasions. There was a shuttle bus available 24/7 to bring you around the large resort if required. Husband and son played golf which was very good value as son was completely free of charge for his game along with the hire of his clubs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked our stay for the week of 7/14 thru 7/19. Check-in was quick and easy, we requested an early check-in and even though it was not guaranteed, our room was available upon arrival. We stayed in The Enclaves, which is the far end. Property contains two sections, Shadow Ridge I and Shadow Ridge II The Enclaves....Shadow Ridge I can be closer to the bigger pool, activity center, etc, so it comes in handy, especially if traveling with kids. The property is very large, tough to get around on foot in the summer heat, luckily, the resort has a shuttle service free of charge with stops throughout the entire property running every 30min (you can also call the front desk to request one). The activity center is great for the kids, they have crafts, bingo at certain times, different areas for different ages (teenage section as well), they also have a nice theater, which plays movies all day, we thought that was very cool. They have a pool table and other activities right outside the center as well (bikes, ping pong, etc). We did not feel the resort was crowded, considering our travel dates and it probably has to do with how the property is laid out, with certain sections having their own pool area or having one close by. I counted 5 pools throughout the property without counting the smaller pools for kids, slide area, etc. The bar and eating areas are good, we had lunch a couple times, menu as expected is on the small side but definitely helps keep your appetite down for dinner. We tried The Grill restaurant, nice little place overlooking the golf area, food is OK, no complaints, menu is on the small side as well, but overall a good place. Of course as I just mentioned, the entire property is surrounded by greens, it appears almost ever section has a view of it. Golf rates are reasonable, they also have a nice driving range. Rooms are nice, we booked a 1-bedroom, which comes with a full kitchen, sofabed and washer and driver (we thought that was a good touch). BBQ grills throughout the property. A Marketplace is also located next to the lobby, with all kinds of treats, candy and basic essentials. Overall the stay was great, no issues, we would definitely make an effort to return.

Room Tip: I suggest requesting the Shadow Rigde I area if you have kids, as it is much closer to the bigger po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I love staying at the Enclaves. We were introduced to the resort through my parents' have a time share and have since stayed on our own buck 3 times. We love the Enclaves pool area, and the suite, though slightly smaller than the Shadow Ridge suites, are very comfortable. We recommend a third floor room away from the stairs or elevator. All the rooms face the pool area, which is a beautiful view! Also, suites have a full kitchen w/ a joined dining/family room and balcony.

The 2 cons to our most recent trip: our air conditioner unit had a leaky pipe that leaked into the room below ours, which required service guys for more than 30 minutes. We did get a $50 credit toward food/drink at the resort for the trouble. Also, because we are not time share owners we were supposed to have daily "Tidy Service," but this only occurred once while we were there. We didn't make it very easy for them because we were in & out of the room throughout the day, but even when we scheduled a service they didn't show up.

We very much enjoy the resort and have already booked another stay!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, away from stairs or elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontoon Beach, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family of four stayed in the 4500 Building of the Enclaves. (Room 4551 a two bedroom) We were on the third floor and had a view of both the pool and the golf course. All of the appliances worked well. I was impressed by how many clothes the stackable washer/dryer held. I thought the foyer/split floor plan was great for our teenagers to feel that they had their own space. The decor was very nice. The resort is huge. It is very nice that the Enclaves have their own pool. The only problem that we could see was the limited parking. I know that this resort is under construction and I hope they take additional parking into consideration. The resort is located right off of the interstate, so it is easy to get to, and close to the businesses of Palm Desert. There were many many activites planned everyday, although we did not take part in them. My kids really enjoyed the sand volleyball court. My husband did golf on propery and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's a very nice resort and one of the few places in Palm Springs to book a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. The rooms are very modern and have full kitchens, luxurious bathrooms and washer/dryers. It's a timeshare facility and it's very busy. Check in is "a process" but I think they did a good job of getting us in our room fairly well. There were a lot of people staying in the resort and they may have been sold out that weekend.

We had a rough time with the kids upstairs. They were having a huge party in their room and were jumping around, playing loud music. We had to call security several times and it took a long time to get the kids to stop. We had a 6am flight so we didn't get any sleep. My advice is to try to book a room on the top floor. You can't stop what goes on next door but at least you won't have folks banging on the floors all night.

My pregnant friend and her 4 year old daughter were staying in the 2nd bedroom and I felt bad for all of the noise. We had to leave before they woke up the next morning. She called me a few days later to tell me that she saw ants on the bathroom counter. That was a bit disappointing.

On a good note, our room overlooked the pool and it was a beautiful view. We enjoyed the pool & our 4 year old niece really had fun in the kid play area.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved our stay at The Enclaves. The pool was nice, lots of chairs. Our room was great. Full kitchen, spacious bedroom and the bed was very comfortable! However the pull-out was squeaky and not that comfortable... Tip - don't eat at the resort as my friends said it was terrible. We were down there for Coachella and the hotel even had a shuttle that picked up from our hotel room to take us to the Coachella shuttle! And the hotel shuttle ran all night so that when we got back home we didn't have to walk then either. It was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge II-The Enclaves. Spacious two-bedroom villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed while the separate living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and then try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. Recreational activities include a pool, whirlpool spas, children's pool and waterslide, tennis courts, activity center and game room, 24-hour fitness center with steam room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Ii- The Enclaves Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.