We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Palm Desert
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NIce property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my husband to watch golf tournament nearby. Nice property, decent room. Tub is so small though. There was construction going on behind the property but it did not bother us a bit. They were done by 4 pm.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
50
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been coming to Shadow Ridge for several years with our children who are now 13 and 15 and this was our first time staying in the Enclaves. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were originally worried that we would be too far from everything and that the rooms would not be as nice as the Villages but we didn't find that. The pool was great here so no reason to leave other than for tennis or golf. And if you did want to venture out to enjoy the rest of the property you can use their shuttle. Note: There is construction taking place on the west side of the Enclaves property so there is some noise during the day but it did not bother us.

Check in service was great. We know from staying here for several years that if you are here during a busy week you most likely will not get into your room early so you have to be patient. They do give you cards for pool towels so you can spend the afternoon by the pool waiting for your room. We were fortunate and did get in to our room a little bit early.

The condo: Very clean room and I am particular when it comes to cleanliness. Love the bedding and the fact that Marriott changes the comforter covers. Comfy beds! Open, spacious and comfortable layout. We were on the third floor and had large sliding glass doors leading to a generous patio area. Lots of light and great view. We spent a lot of time on the patio. Kitchen had everything we needed and was clean and modern. Not all views are the same here so do your homework on room location. 1 or 2 bedroom is the way to go. A studio would be too small for us and had no balcony. If you are considering a studio would be better off in the Villages section as their studios have a balcony.

We enjoyed the pool area here. We could walk down the stairs and were right at the pool area. I had read some reviews about the cleanliness of the pool area and this was not a problem during our stay. We did notice that some guests just do not pick up after themselves so I guess until that changes they really need to have a pool staff member that is responsible for cleaning up the pool area during the day. Also at certain times there are Happy Hour drinks available at the pool which can save you some $.

Service was great from check in, to the golf pro-shop, to loss prevention who came quickly to let us into our room when we locked ourselves out.

We would definitely come back to the Enclaves. There are pros to both properties but we felt that the new modern room, large patio, views of the mountains, and proximity to the pool would make us come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a week in unit 4523. Our two bedroom unit was huge with all the amenities we needed. Lots of room for at least two families. The pool area was also very nice with a great food and drink area beside the pool called snakebite. The staff at bar were very friendly and made our time at the pool perfect. Hit the in and out burger just north of the resort. Perfect location to everything. No one bothered us for time shares either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

To compare this resort to any standard hotel it would rate 5 stars. I however am comparing it to other timeshare resorts for which there is a different standard.

The grounds are stunning, beautifully landscaped. The golf course is equally as stunning. The pools and amenities are all 5 star and even the poolside restaurants are not bad.

The enclaves section of this resort is far away from the main resort area and with the exception of a water slide it has the better pool. The rooms in the enclaves are a poor design. They are not as large as a typical Marriott Vacation Club and are more like a studio than a one bedroom. Instead of a wall the room has a large sliding wood door. This does not adequately separate the bedroom from the living room and as such you can hear everything. So if someone gets up early or stays up late the people sleeping behind the large wooden door/wall hear everything. The second bedroom does have a real wall with a door. I have stayed here twice and both times I have had no view (and I am a MVC owner). Both times I had views of the barbecue/smoking area.

If you have a choice stay at the MSR-1 (the older part).

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room with a pool view or golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with room size. The studio is tiny with little drawer space, few kitchen tools for grilling, no balcony, small window. Feels like a cheap hotel room. No comparison to desert springs , Aruba or other studio time shares that Marriott has. Not the value you expect from Marriott. They really missed the Marriott expectation her. Go to the other property if you are getting a studio.... For sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We are owners at MSR but this was our first time at the Enclaves portion of the resort. The newer units are yes updated with gorgeous and modern decor, which is a good thing, however the size being somewhat smaller is not ideal. There was 3 of us on this trip our Daughter sleeping on the pull out in the living area. The kitchen was nice and new and I like the open concept to the living area and I loved the outdoor patio and sliding glass doors. However my least favorite was the sliding Japanese-style doors to the bedroom area as it really did not give you any privacy. I don't know what the purpose is except to deceive one into thinking the space is larger than it really is?? Also, the master bath although beautiful, seemed very claustrophobic not to mention stuffy in the Summer in fact, I didnt notice any A/C air vents. Not a great idea wjen your trying to get ready. Other than that, our stay was fine. The pool area downstairs is ok much more quiet than at the main pool. I still prefer the main pool with all the amenities and the pools are much nicer in my opinion. Overall, I prefer the older Shadow ridge units as they are more spacious.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We knew we were going to be in the Enclaves which is a different set up from the Shadow Ridge units. We thoroughly enjoyed our unit which was away from all the noise, pools, etc. We do think that Marriott should invest in walls and doors for the main unit i.e. get rid of the scaffolded doors. There were four adults--our guests were in the efficiency unit and we were in the main bedroom. If you want ANY privacy, stay in the efficiency unit not in the main area. The scaffolded doors are ridiculous. When our guests left after 5 days, it was just the 2 of us in the 2 bedroom. Then it was manageable i.e. there was no worry if the guests wanted to use the kitchen in the morning. Anyway, Shadow Ridge is definitely an amazing great place but I think they missed the boat when they put in these scaffolded doors. We will never use the Enclaves again but would use the other units in Shadow Ridge and would try for Desert Springs I first then Desert Springs II and then Shadow Ridge units would be 3rd and Enclaves last. But we won't do the enclaves unless we are alone. We have been Marriott owners since 1998 (Hawaii properties). Our unit had a lot of mildew smell--we had to buy a cleansing product so we didn't smell mold all night. Despite that, we liked the luxury of our unit (on the golf course etc.) but they need to recognize this and fix it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Ii- The Enclaves Hotel
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Ii- The Enclaves Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge II-The Enclaves. Spacious two-bedroom villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed while the separate living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and then try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. Recreational activities include a pool, whirlpool spas, children's pool and waterslide, tennis courts, activity center and game room, 24-hour fitness center with steam room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.