We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Shadow Ridge Enclaves, Palm Desert, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves to your Saves list
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Marriott Shadow Ridge Enclaves, Palm Desert, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We knew we were going to be in the Enclaves which is a different set up from the Shadow Ridge units. We thoroughly enjoyed our unit which was away from all the noise, pools, etc. We do think that Marriott should invest in walls and doors for the main unit i.e. get rid of the scaffolded doors. There were four adults--our guests were in the efficiency unit and we were in the main bedroom. If you want ANY privacy, stay in the efficiency unit not in the main area. The scaffolded doors are ridiculous. When our guests left after 5 days, it was just the 2 of us in the 2 bedroom. Then it was manageable i.e. there was no worry if the guests wanted to use the kitchen in the morning. Anyway, Shadow Ridge is definitely an amazing great place but I think they missed the boat when they put in these scaffolded doors. We will never use the Enclaves again but would use the other units in Shadow Ridge and would try for Desert Springs I first then Desert Springs II and then Shadow Ridge units would be 3rd and Enclaves last. But we won't do the enclaves unless we are alone. We have been Marriott owners since 1998 (Hawaii properties). Our unit had a lot of mildew smell--we had to buy a cleansing product so we didn't smell mold all night. Despite that, we liked the luxury of our unit (on the golf course etc.) but they need to recognize this and fix it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The various reviews here are fairly accurate in what they say. But, this is my third stay at this property, so I do keep coming back. You have to understand what you are getting into. Shadow Ridge is not a typical hotel. There is no room service, and minimal housekeeping (although they did perform a daily "tidy up" service on this visit). I had a 2 bedroom unit in the enclaves. This biggest difference between the enclaves and the villages is that the enclaves are a bit newer. I actually liked the enclaves better. There is a lame excuse for a restaurant on the grounds, serving only lunch. They do serve dinner on the weekends, but stay away from it as the food and service are terrible. The main pool and the quiet pool that serve the enclaves serve lunch and drinks. The food here is good, but the menu is limited.

After saying all that, the reason I stay here is that I find it an inexpensive condo (not hotel) for my family to stay while we are in the area. It has a fridge and a full kitchen so you can cook meals. It is larger than a hotel room since it is a condo. This allows you to relax in your room for some down time. The golf course here is very nice to play, and many rooms will have a nice view of the course as well. They have new tv's in each room. It really is a home away from home!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Before you consider staying at this place, make sure you relize this is NOT a "hotel" in the traditional meaning. It is a timeshare operation, for the most part and poorly operated. Under staffed, no restuarant on the property (except for the bar and grill that closes at 7PM) and we had to send back the glass of red wine at dinner because it was terrible ($9.00 a glass should not taste like vinegar!).

And no room service which, in our case with the kids, would have really been nice to have.

Room Tip: Very over priced for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I came to Palm Desert for a wedding and chose to stay here. I absolutely loved The Enclaves. I had the studio room but, it was so spacious and had everything I wanted and needed. Big bathroom and big bath tub, microwave, fridge and a comfortable bed. The free parking and free wifi were the cherry on top! The only draw backs were that there are no in room dining options and the Enclaves are in the back of the Shadow Ridge resort. If you're looking for sweeping views of desert scenery, you might be out of luck here too. The pool looked like tons of fun. A pretty nice size slide and lots of little fountains to play in too if you have kids or are a kid at heart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at the enclaves. We had a 2 bedroom, which was very nice. They have a really modern feel to them, but the cabinetry in the kitchen and baths was very cheap. I know Marriott will have to replace these before too long. Not sure why they didn't put quality products in these units. But the look is nice and we loved the balcony and the chaise chairs on the balcony. Our unit was 4455 and we had sun from 8:30 am until sunset. (Just the way I like it!) I would definitely return. Loved the pool area at the Enclaves. They have a little restaurant for lunch and the pools were heated. There is also a grassy area which is a nice touch. Had dinner one night at Jackalope Ranch in Indio .. a definite must see. Very unique patio with waterfalls - very pretty.

Room Tip: If you want sunshine on the balcony, try to get a 3rd floor unit. Ask for a pool view, otherwise, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Room #4433 Although the living and kitchen areas are a bit smaller than other Marriott timeshares we have stayed in, we had plenty of room. Bedrooms and baths were spacious. Furnishings are very nice, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We liked the Enclaves over the other Shadow Ridge condos due to the buildings' proximity to the pool area. If you prefer views over location near the pools, then you might consider the other Shadow Ridge condos. The grounds are well maintained, and after a major windstorm one evening, there was no evidence of debris to be found anywhere near the pool area by morning. Staff is out maintaining the pool areas by 6:30 or 7 in the mornings.
We did have a 2 year old Olympic marathon prospect staying above us a couple of days, but overall the complex was pretty quiet. It IS a timeshare complex that attracts families, so keep that in mind if you have a problem with vacationing with families!
Although we were there in the heat of summer with fewer guests, we were able to secure a cabana most days during the week.
We didn't really plan to stay in this timeshare for the full week, but it was so relaxing and enjoyable we couldn't pry ourselves away.

Room Tip: Building 4400 has the best views of the pools and is the closest to them. If you like a full patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics. UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Here I am in Room 4453 and have no problems whatsoever!!!!
My husband and I arrived from the UK via LA into Palm Desert on Saturday at 11.30am. We are Marriott owners both in USA & Europe and are well aware that check in is at 4pm. So we called in at Walmart for provisions, had a coffee & arrived at the resort around 2.30pm. We were greeted by Josh who was able to confirm that we were to be allocated room 4453, a top floor one bed/one bath with balcony overlooking the Enclaves pools [exactly as requested] The room was not yet ready but refridgerator space was offered for our perishables and we were more than happy to sit at the Snakebites Grill taking in the atmosphere for an hour. Yes a car is necessary to take luggage from check in, but so what.... this is a Vacation Club not a full service 5* hotel.
Our apartment is great for two people.The bedroom has a more than adequate wardrobe with enough storage space for our clothes and two large suitcases [we are on vacation for over a month] a large and as always comfortable bed with 2x3 drawer side tables + a large 3 drawer TV cabinet [flat screen] + an armchair and footstool & dressing table. The window faces onto the back walkway so best to keep the curtains closed at night.The bathroom is more than adequate with 2 basins and a large walk in shower. What's to fault there?
The open plan living space is closed off from the bedroom by sliding doors & has large glass sliding doors onto the balcony [3 x wicker lounges with footstools] The view is unobstructed by palm trees and the high floor makes it private and therefore possible to leave the doors open all night. [too hot this week]
The kitchen appliances are stainless steel and new plus there is a washer & dryer and a large LG flat screen TV with DVD player.

All in all I cannot understand any of the negative reviews for The Enclaves. The Staff at reception were friendly, polite & knowledgable. The property is beautiful, the grounds [and we do walk] are immaculate and the pools are thoroughly cleaned each and every morning.

Our apartment is modern, clean and everything is in good working order.
If you like Vacation Clubs and the desert then this is for you. If you prefer 5* hotel service, top class restaurants and your bed making every morning then please stay away.

Room Tip: Top floor always for best views & no overhead noise but don't complain if you have to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge II-The Enclaves. Spacious two-bedroom villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed while the separate living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and then try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. Recreational activities include a pool, whirlpool spas, children's pool and waterslide, tennis courts, activity center and game room, 24-hour fitness center with steam room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Ii- The Enclaves Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.