We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really on the ocean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Clovis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really on the ocean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We traveled there for one night following a Giants game because we did not want to pay upwards of $250 to stay in the city! Paid $160 and enjoyed the quietness of the hotel and woke up to find it truly was ON THE BEACH!! Right of the Hwy 1 and if you travel south to next light there is a Starbucks and yummy local donut shop! Only took about 15 minutes from AT & T park to get to hotel- a great option for those who want to save money on accommodations.

Room Tip: It's laid out a little strange it only a couple floors so wwe figured it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
On behalf of all of us here at the Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, we are sincerely glad you enjoyed your stay at our Ocean Front hotel and were able to explore the hidden treasures that Pacifica, CA has to offer. We hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    246
    114
    46
    27
See reviews for
195
259
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for two nights. The room was large enough and the bathroom was clean. For the price we paid for the hotel this place could use some TLC, the carpeting and the hallways have seen better days.

There were only three places to eat right within walking distance but if you get into your car and drive South a few miles you'll find some other restaurants. And a market to purchase your own food items. I found it absurd the hotel charged $1.50 per bottle of water placed in your hotel room.

The ocean was beautiful even though we were there when there was lite rain. There is a great walking area up and over a mountain which is great for some exercise. Also, we drove into San Francisco both days (one of those days being Sunday) when it took us only 20 mins with very little traffic to get to Pier 39.

Room Tip: Higher the level the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was looking for a place with easy airport access at the end of our trip to San Francisco and Yosemite and started looking at the small towns surrounding SF for better deals and came across this place. Our room was looking out over the ocean with amazing views of the cliffs and the water. Sure the place is old but it was comfortable and we had a great time walking the cliffs and watching the sunset. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel, conveniently only 15 miles from San Francisco International Airport, and were able to enjoy the beautiful walking trails and amazing sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Despite asking ahead of time for the handicapped room, it was inadequate. No continental breakfast, poorly heated outdoor pool. Broken thermostat. The beds were very comfortable however. Best Western's good reputation is tarnished by this motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback but we are very disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations. I am glad that we had a chance to correspond via Best Western Customer Service Channels. Please call me directly if you want to discuss further. We do hope to see you again. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved the location- Rockaway Beach is beautiful & the local shop owners are very nice. The hotel, unfortunately, wasn't quite what had been advertised or described. The floor we were on smelled overwhelmingly of turpentine & mildew, our room was hot & not equipped with an air conditioning unit, & the bathroom was somewhat grimy making us unsure if it wasn't entirely clean or just needing to be refurbished. The only way to cool the room was to open the patio door to our fake balcony, but the screen door kept popping off the rails. Our partial beach view also included a gross view of the attached restaurant's alley, as well as their dirty roof & the designation of being the only bay area hotel on the ocean would come as a surprise to the other 2 hotels also located on Rockaway Beach. Any concerns we brought to the hotel staff were met with an insincere smile & no visible sign that they understood or pretended to care about our issue. We loved visiting Pacifica CA & will definitely return there, perhaps even stay in the very clean looking Holiday Inn Express also on Rockaway Beach.

Room Tip: There is no A/C unit so visit in the cold months. The 1st floor didn't seem to smell as bad as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations and we do want to make it up to you. We will be looking into your concerns. Please call me directly so that we can discuss further and I can demonstrate my sincere concern. Thank you and we do hope to see you again. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Junction, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is right on the ocean with bluffs on both sides. Check in was quick and easy with polite staff. The hotel is a little older and could use some updates, but we really had no complaints. It was clean and the ocean view was spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and we are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views that our rooms can offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great ocean view if you willing to pay for it, and the rooms, pool, and common areas are clean. Staff nice.

Had a plumbing issue in both rooms, screwed up my shower and afternoon romp plans with maintenance coming in and out. Maintenance Guy was very nice and apologetic. Both rooms have a persistent mildew like smell, had to constantly burn scented candles to regulate the smell.

Might return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the view and your stay with us. We are, however, disappointed that we didn't meet your all expectations and we do want to make it up to you. Please call me directly so that we can discuss further. We do hope to see you again. Thank you. Marty Cerles, General Manager, 650-355-6300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Address: 105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Francisco Bay area hotel located at Rockaway Beach in Pacifica, California, the Best Western Lighthouse offers 97 superior guestrooms and 21 spacious suites. Relax in our Pacifica hotel and enjoy breathtaking Pacific views, take a refreshing walk along the beach, or explore the endless Pacifica attractions including the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and the Pacifica Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Best Western Lighthouse
Best Western Pacifica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.