We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Ocean View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
calgary canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Value and Ocean View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This Hotel is situated by the ocean. Note not all rooms have a good view and none have a real balcony. Its view or partial view only. The hotel is clean and has good linnen and bed. It was a one nite stopover on the way home and it is 9 miles to SFO an easy drive and a way betetr stay than near the airport whre there is no view. Room has flat screen T-V and a small frige.
The hotel had continental breakfast and it was good.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you fo taking the time to review us, we greatly appreciate it. You will have to come back and check out the new restaurant that opened today, the Moonraker. Happy Holidays!!!
Sincerely, Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    245
    114
    46
    27
See reviews for
195
258
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here with our dog for Thanksgiving. Had a comfortable room with a wonderful view of the impressive waves. The exterior of the hotel is worn and weathered from taking the beating of the ocean mist and fog, but our room was quite large and comfy. Free Wifi and ample parking made for a nice stay. Only inconvenience was that there was only one elevator that was old and slow and made it challenging to take the dog out.

If we have a long weekend we will probably stay again. I love falling asleep to the crash of the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience with other interested travelers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the beach. Fortunately we have plans to update the exterior this spring so we are really looking forward to that. You will have to come back and visit and see what we have done with the place. Thanks again for choosing the Lighthouse Hotel during your travels, we appreciate it.
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinktie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We requested ocean view and got it. The lack of air conditioning was a problem. There was just no air circulation or air exchange in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Located just south of SF in Pacifica, CA and on the Pacific Ocean! If you want to travel down HWY1 to Monterey and be close to San Francisco this is a great spot to stay. It is only about 20 minutes to SF and just off the Pacific Coast Highway! The price is very reasonable for the bay area. The room was clean, comfortable and comes with what you would expect from Best Western Hotels. The Hotel restaurant was closed for renovation. However, there is a great resturant next door. "NICKS" that has been around since 1920's. They have great seafood and a beautiful view of the ocean. While there is not much to do in Pacifica, it is a quiet town with a wonderful location. Everyone we met in Pacifica was very friendly and the service was great. If you want a laidback experience to go with the excitement of San Francisco, I would highly recommend checking out the small town of Pacifica, Nick's and the Lighthouse Hotel. We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View Room, only a little more and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are very glad you came to discover this area and our hotel especially. Pacifica is somewhat of a Bay Area secret and we are always so thrilled when people love it as much as we do. We hope that you will be to come back to this area and try our restaurant, the Moonraker, when it reopens in December. Thanks for sharing your comments, we greatly apprciate you taking the time.
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for a few days. We chose an ocean view room and we were very pleased. The room itself was a decent size, the bed was pretty comfortable and it was clean. The only thing I was really bothered by was the fact that there was no AC? They have a thermostat in the room, but it was actually for heat only. We were prepared for cold weather during our trip to SF, but it was pretty warm out (80's) so therefore we could've used an AC unit. When we spoke with the front desk, the hotel was apparently built without any AC units so all they had available were some fans. We actually got the last one available because when our friends called for one, they had ran out. We still slept with the screen door open to get some fresh air and be able to sleep comfortably, so it was ok. The exterior of the hotel really needs some work. It looks really worn down, but the location is what attracted us most. We enjoyed being able to walk along the ocean. Their complimentary continental breakfast was ok, but I wish their restaurant was open for more food options. Nick's across the street was very busy the morning we went and therefore their service and food took quite some time. You will probably nee to drive at least 15 miles to find other restaurants besides Nicks, since there isn't much in the area. Overall, for the hotel price, I'd say it was good. However, if it weren't for the location by the ocean, we'd probably try somewhere else next time just to see what else is available near SF.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Sounds like you came to Pacifica at one of the very few times we need air conditioning in the hotel. This area tends to stay a very comfortable 60 or so degrees most of the year here at the beach. Thanks for leaving your comments we appreciate them and we agree we are in need of some updates and those are on their way beginning with the resaturant renovation and some exterior work as well is currently in progress. We are also adding new flat screen televisions to all of our rooms. Thanks for choosing us for your travels and hopefully you will be back out this way and you can see what we have done.

Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

An intriguing location being partly old lighthouse in a Pacific bay, but nothing is made is this feature; indeed it looks they gave up try to make anything of the hotel some years ago. Rusty drain pipes leak water all over the parking areas and detract from the external appearance. A fair attempt at brightening the place up with some plants is quickly abandoned once away from the entrance. Drab and generic decoration is mostly patched up with the minimum of effort. In other respects it's quite good with soft comfortable beads and appeared to be clean throughout. A take-over and refurbish could turn it into a great place. Breakfast distinctly meh - head over to Nick's over the road instead. PPV movies and restaurant were both not working. At $100 a night it's fine, anything more and you aren't getting good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
I like how you put it, "in need of some love". I agree and luckily we are actually heading into some great improvements like a renovated restaurant opening December 1st, new flat screen televisons in all the rooms, and new exterior work is going to be done in the springtime. The love is on its way and we hope you would be able to come back this way and give us another try and then maybe even show us some love. Thanks for your feedback, we do appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Nice hotel at the seaside. Our room had a stunning view and we loved to listen to the waves rolling to the beach. Our kids enjoyed the heated pool and the jacuzzi. The breakfast was standard, but the service poor so that we had to wait quite a while for refills. The restaurant was closed for renovation, but there was a very nice family-friendly restaurant just across the street - Nick's restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thanks for sharing your comments with us and potential travelers. Our restaurant will be opening in early November, so I invite you to come back and experience some great food and an even better view from the Moonraker. Thanks for choosing the Lighthouse Hotel.
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Address: 105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Francisco Bay area hotel located at Rockaway Beach in Pacifica, California, the Best Western Lighthouse offers 97 superior guestrooms and 21 spacious suites. Relax in our Pacifica hotel and enjoy breathtaking Pacific views, take a refreshing walk along the beach, or explore the endless Pacifica attractions including the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and the Pacifica Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Best Western Lighthouse
Best Western Pacifica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.