We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorilla Barbeque

Gorilla Barbeque
2145 Coast Highway, Pacifica, CA 94044
650-359-RIBS
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 80 Restaurants in Pacifica
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Pacifica, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a fantastic authentic Kansas City BBQ on the California coast. Everything is great but get here early as they sell out of some items by late afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pacifica CA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We enjoyed there BBQ, very friendly people! We had the 3 combo plate very yummy. One thing I would love them to add is a spicy BBQ sauce, something we and others would enjoy. All in all I would say if your in the area try and stop in and see them!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious roadside spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Food is top notch-geat for lunch....not much room inside so not so good in bad weather.ALso no seating so its tailgate or takeout only

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We enjoyed the barbeque beef sandwich. Beans and rice - just so-so. And no seating at all ... so it is all to go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great meats, so-so sides.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is pretty much the best BBQ I've had. I'll start by saying that.

I decided to stop by on a Saturday afternoon. Pacifica is normally pretty foggy, but this was a clear beautiful day, so everyone was out and about. Because of this, the line was pretty long, probably about 20-30 people. If you're going to stop by here on a nice day, plan to wait a while before you are able to place an order.

Once my turn came up to order, I decided on the two meat combo. Total cost of this was 17.05 but it was worth every penny. I got the BBQ ribs and hot links with cole slaw and mac n' cheese as my sides. The ribs and hot links were amazing, and huge. I definitely did not expect that much meat to come with the meal. The cole slaw was also pretty fantastic, hitting just the right balance or mayo, seasoning, and vinegar. The mac n' cheese was simply okay. It reminded me of vegan mac n' cheese - kinda squishy and not a whole lot of flavor.

The meal also came with cornbread and beans and rice. The corn bread was excellent but the beans and rice were also average. Overall, it was a great food experience and I would definitely recommend this place. Good meat, lots of it, flavorful bbq sauce, and some hit-or-miss sides.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorilla Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Gorilla Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorilla Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.