We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Pacifica Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacifica Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Pacifica
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You can tell this whole area has gone downhill. This hotel is dated, the rooms need a total remodel. I would not recommend this at all. The mattress was lumpy and caved in. They could do a little work and it would be ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    19
    6
    11
See reviews for
16
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We made some last minute reservations for this hotel with some family friends over a holiday weekend. We arrived late, but we were quickly checked in and into our rooms. The first problem we encountered was there was not enough parking for the hotel's guests and street parking was very limited.The room size was very good and it accommodated our large family, once we had the aerobed we brought pumped up. The decor was a bit dated, but the room seemed clean and in general good repair. The beds were like rock, however. Even my wife, who normally likes a firmer mattress, had a hard time sleeping. It was a long night of tossing and turning, but we made it through. The Internet access was spotty at best, even though the signal was fine in our room. I think next time we would pay a little more to try the Holiday Inn Express or Best Western across the street. On check-out, the manager hardly acknowledged me and never made eye contact. He didn't thank us for our stay or ask how it was. We probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is situated in quite a nice location, one street back from a small bay with cliff walks in either direction, and a short drive to local shops & restaurants. If you don't want to venture far to eat, the nearby Sea Breeze Motel has a restaurant.

The staff were very frindly and welcoming but the hotel itself is in need of a little redecorating both inside and out. I was somewhat put-off on arrival to find the stairs to the upper floors littered with cigarette ends and sweet wrappers - this was at 3pm so clearly hadn't been swept since the day before, but was done later that afternoon. Our room was somewhat drab and the matress should have been replaced a while ago. Also, the cleaning could have been a bit better - I don't particularly like to find previous guests' body hair in the bathroom - but the bedding was fine.

All in all, the hotel was perfectly adequate for our overnight stay but I'd probably choose somewhere else if staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milo, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Based on appearances, the rooms haven't been updated since the 70's and bring a hair dryer since the contraption they provide comes from that era as well. But if you are looking for a cheap, clean room in a good location near the beach, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at Pacifica Motor Inn many times for convenience sake while having medical care in So. San Francisco. About ten times. As far as price, it's lower than other lodging in the same small town. About a block walk to the beach. Close to restaurants and grocery store. There are a few rooms that you can stretch your head enough to see a small patch of beach, but that's it. Rooms are equipped with a small frig & microwave. The owners are nice & accommodating. The motel is old (maybe 1960's) and in desperate need of remodeling. There are cracks in some walls, mismatched paint, a musty smell, and mattresses & bedding that need replacing. The bathrooms need help too. However, if you're young or don't have problems with uncomfortable beds, it's a good & cheaper place to stay near the beach. There's single rooms to family-size rooms. I like having a "kitchenette" whenever I travel to save money on food/eating out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family stayed in one of their family rooms, two queen beds, could see the ocean from the room. The room was very large, had a frig, microwave, clean, and very friendly staff. It is just a block from the beach. It is just 15 miles from San Francisco, and I went back and forth to the city relatively easy. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The beds were absolutely horrible. Everything ached when I woke up. The pillows were horrible. An electrical outlet was hanging from the wall with a lamp plugged into it. It had what appeared to be black mold around the drain in the tub. The curtains had a lot of little holes in them. Would not stay here again. Also, admittedly it is free, but if you arrive late, there is zero parking. You have to park on the street.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel unless you bring a 2 inch mattress topper, your own pillows, and fire ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacifica hotels

Been to Pacifica Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Motor Inn

Address: 200 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacifica Motor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pacifica Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Motor Hotel Pacifica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.