We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super seafront diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Rockaway

Nick's Rockaway
100 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044-3222
(650) 359-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 80 Restaurants in Pacifica
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Super seafront diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Yes, the deco is retro, yes it probably hasn't changed in 50 years but so what? The food is fresh, well prepared and presented, the service is excellent and the vibe warm, friendly and relaxed. You can see the ocean everywhere you look, and in an area bereft of decent eating joints, this is a gem. We had lunch and dinner there one day, and the two meals totalled £100. A main course each, plus beer and a glass of wine - great value for two. Even if there was more choice in this part of the world, we'd go back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    121
    41
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good View, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at one of the local hotels near Nick's and having this good restaurant near by was very convenient. Nick's is a diner that has been around since 1927 and is rich in history. If you ask the hostess to tell you the history, she will and with pictures even! The view is stunning with crashing wave views from almost every seat in the place. The food is excellent and they even have a veggi option called soyrizo that tastes just like meat (for breakfast anyway!). The servers are good and attentive.....a bit slow to my city life standards....but really....if you are visiting Pacifica, CA chances are you aren't looking for super fast....just relaxing. Would definitely come again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nick's is very old and dated, but yet still worth the visit. The main feature is obviously the great ocean view, but the food is pretty mundane. Typical seafood, including the famous crab sandwich. I agree with other reviewers on the price. Although good food, it's a little pricey. If your into nostalgia this great place, but for great seafood there are other places near by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You pay for the view at this diner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The best part of this restaurant is the view of the ocean. The place itself is old and dated. I guess if you like that nostalgic feeling it is fine. The food is average but way over priced for what you get. They are famous for the grilled crab sandwich. That is a treat, but $20 for a crab salad sandwich is way too much. I have been here a couple of times and both times I went with friends who wanted to go and they treated. I would not go out of my way to eat here. It is just too pricey and I can get a fine meal in the city for the price of a sandwich here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crab Sandwich the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice during the week while staying at the Sea Breeze hotel next door. Service was excellent. Great view of the ocean and comfortable atmosphere. Had the same waiter each night and he was delightful and entertaining. On our first visit my new wife (we were honeymooning) had the Crab sandwich. Pile of Dungeness crab , avocado and tomato, on toasted Sourdough bread. She says it's the best sandwich she has ever had! I had the flank steak and prawns this was delicious also. So good we returned the next night after a long day of sightseeing in San Francisco

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Rockaway also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Rockaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Rockaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.