We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2160 Francisco Blvd., Pacifica, CA 94044   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dumpy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night over 4th of July weekend. Over priced and dumpy. Room outdated, carpet dirty. Did not honor the online rate. Rooms rent by the week so it looked kinda like a flop house. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipacifica101, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We’re terribly sorry that our property did not meet your needs. We have recently deep-cleaned and refreshed all rooms, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in League City. We only wish you had reported your problems to us at the time of your stay so we could have worked to correct them, offered you another room or otherwise improved your experience. Our goal is to be the best value in Pacifica, CA and to exceed the standards that America’s Best Value Inn sets for us. We are genuinely sorry we did not do that in your case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    10
    4
    18
See reviews for
13
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family of 4 stayed from July till Nov 2012 while in transition to a new home. Carlos and his wife made our stay comfortable. They always have a smile. They kept the hotel clean,safe and affordable. Very attentive to our needs and requests. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a very good stay. The service was very good, the room was very clean, quiet, and the staff's attention to detail was excellent. The location is within walking distance to the beach and the neighborhood has several nice restaurants. I will stay here again and recommend this location to others.

Room Tip: I had a kitchenette room. Although I did not use it, it would be excellent for most other stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Price is a tad high, but I really liked the room. You could have fit a third double bed in the room! Parking lot is a bit small. The breakfast was even smaller. But since the room had a stove in it you can make up for they do not provide. We watched the sunset over the ocean from our room, ordered pizza in because we were tired. The beds were not the most comfy but better then the Days Inn from the night before. The outlet near the kitchen sink in our room sparked. I told the manager, though he seemed uninterested.

Breakfast; coffee, juice, packaged muffin/danish, bread for toast. No decaf anything. No discounts, no memberships.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipacifica101, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest: :ROSully
We remember you! Thanks for letting us know about the damaged outlet. It was fixed by our maintenance man the same day. We appreciate your positive comments about the room size and our beautiful views. Many guests like our beds, but we have recently replaced some that did not meet our standards. Perhaps you were given a room with a bed that was nearly ready to be replaced. Please notify us of any problems in future and we’ll correct them during your stay so you can have the best possible experience. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is permeated with the smell of yesterday's curry dinner. It is a dirty dump. I would NEVER go barefoot in this room! The bed was uncomfortable with springs which poked all night, the wall paper torn, the light switch in the bathroom needs to be re-installed as one of the switches was not flush with the plate, the towels were snagged and thin, the windows look like they have never been washed and hysterically they installed the shower curtain rod so instead of arcing outside of the tub to give you more room in the shower, the arc is on the bottom like a smile. The refrigerator is also very noisy and sounds like a jet taking off, intermittently, all night long. Our room faced the frontage road and freeway so was very noisy. There were no ocean views here! We did not even stay for breakfast as the curry smell was so overpowering that it could not possibly be enjoyable. Do not stay here...keep driving, you will be happy you did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipacifica101, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for giving us your comments. Your comments are used to make improvements to our Inn and provide you with the best experience possible. I am a little surprise about your experience with our beds as we recently purchased new furniture, including new beds for all of our rooms. Painting, carpeting and other renovations have also been completed. I am sorry that you were not happy with our accommodations and apologize for conditions that you describe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I'm surprised at some of the clean remarks about this hotel because that is not what I found. Maybe it is dependent on the room or whom cleaned the room. Definitely do not stay here if it's a prolong stay or traveling with kids. We needed to obtain a government rate and this is the only place providing that rate, within Pacifica. We stayed there 4 nights. Each night was more horrible than the next. My boy picked up so much crap off the floor, eventually something he picked up made him throw up. He threw up on the comforter and I took it off, plus put it on the floor to be replaced. I found that they put it back on the bed. There was mold on the bathroom window and on the shower curtain. An inch of dust on the floor behind the bed. Fridge was not cleaned when we checked in. The worst part, me and my son got scabies. If anyone has ever had scabies, it sucks and it is very time consuming to get rid of. We have to treat the whole family and it's not fun trying to treat a 1 and 3 year old. We notified San Mateo County about this health concern. It's cheap for a reason and I definitely would not recommend it, especially if you have no tolerance for dirtiness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipacifica101, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
First let me apologize for the experience you encountered there is no excuse for the conditions that you describe. We appreciate your comments and use them to provide valuable training for our employees and we continuously strive to provide them with the tools and training that they need to improve your lodging experience. Please know that we are taking steps to make sure that the conditions that you have described do not reoccur in our lodging facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Needed a place to stay by San Fran that was not outrageous in price. We headed out of town a ways and saw the exit to Pacifica, took it an came upon this motel. We took the chance even though it was not a name we recognized. Not new or fancy but our room was large with two queen beds and clean. Plenty of towels and had an elevator right close to our room. It worked every time and we used it a lot. Plenty of outlets on the walls for recharging all of our phones, laptops and mifis. Nothing hot for breakfast but plenty there to have a healthy breakfast. We only booked for one night at the beginning but decided to stay and play an extra day in San Francisco so booked the same room for the next night. We found the manager to be very accommodating and he was always there if we needed something, which we did not except for more coffee for the next morning. It is so nice and close to everything...I would definitely stay there again. If you are traveling far from a hustle and bustle city you probably could get this type of room for $65.00 at the senior rate but for being that close to San Francisco, it was a great place to use as our base.

Room Tip: Drive a few miles out and you can save a lot of money by staying in this motel. Easy access back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2160 Francisco Blvd., Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americans Best Value Inn is among the best Hotels in Pacifica Our great location is blocks away from Pacifica pier, beach, golf course, 15 minutes from "San Francisco Airport SFO", 10 minutes from San Francisco grate Attractions Fisherman Wharf, San Francisco zoo, China Town, Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Great Park, near by restaurant. Welcome to Pacifica, San Francisco, the most beautiful coastal town in all of the San Francisco Bay Area. It is here where locals as well as out of town visitors can step into the natural world of enchanting beaches and hillsides. We can guide you on easy spectacular hikes to our protected hillsides, with the best views of the Pacific Ocean that anyone could possibly imagine, or you can experience the hidden treasures of our scenic beaches and breathtaking coastal bluffs. If fishing is your fancy, we will direct you to Pacifica's world famous fishing spots. Surfcasting, pier fishing, and crabbing are specialties of our town. If you are just looking for fun, golfing, hiking, biking, hang gliding, parasailing, surfing, or short excursions, we have a variety of exciting tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pacifica
Pacifica Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.