We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   519 Nick Gust Way, Pacifica, CA 94044   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
British Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. We were not happy with our first room on the second floor as the window was broken and would not close.
We moved to a third floor room and had a ocean view. The hotel is in need of repair in different areas. For the money we were pleased with our stay. Nothing fancy.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Hotel was well used in need of repair
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be afaid to ask for help to change things
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    76
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
73
106
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

I think I was the first member to write a review for this Holiday Inn - it was a glowing report for one of the nicest places I had ever stayed.

Imagine my disappointment to return after 4 years (and having recommended the place to everyone who'd listen!) and discover that it's simply nowhere near as nice, friendly, clean or well-run as it once was.

The problems started before we even arrived. We booked 2 rooms for our party of 3 adults and 3 kids through the Holiday Inn website, and paid in full in advance for a 3 night stay. When our credit card statement came through, we had been overcharged by almost $100, due to the fact that the hotel had split our reservation. They had divided our party into 2 groups - placing all 3 adults in one room, which allowed them to levy an additional person charge on one room. We felt that this was a dishonest move on the hotel's part and a cynical attempt to squeeze extra cash from a loyal customer.

When we challenged Holiday Inn reservations about this, they agreed that a "mistake" had been made, although they could not explain why. We agreed that we would delay resolution of the matter until we checked in, when we were promised a full and immediate refund of the overcharge.

When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk knew nothing of our situation, and the manager was away from the property. The desk clerk was therefore unable to refund our overcharge, but promised that it would be processed later that day.

The rooms themselves were a huge disappointment to us. Having comfortably shared a room with my husband and 3 daughters on our first stay, we were most disappointed to be shoehorned into 2 small, dark, damp-feeling rooms with were not connecting (as had been requested at the time of booking).

The carpets were filthy, with large suspicious-looking stains and holes in several places, and the room curtains (used to conceal the spectacular trash-can and blank-wall views) were crumpled and covered in cigarette burns.

The bathrooms were poor also - the non-slip surfaces in the baths were desperately in need of a good scrub, and the hairdryers in both rooms were broken.

More concerning than all of these, was the discovery in the room shared by my elderly mother and my daughters of a bare electrical wire sticking out of the wall behind the airconditioning unit. I was only alerted to this on the final morning of our stay; had I known about this earlier I certainly would not have allowed my family to sleep in room 112.

On check-out we discovered that, after 3 days our overcharge had still not been corrected, and again, the manager was nowhere to be seen. The desk clerk once again assured us that the matter would be addressed that day, but we were headed to the airport for a return flight to Scotland and could therefore not wait to ensure that this happened.

On our return home, the credit was eventually made to our account - but for $6 less than we had been promised.

We received no apology, no rate reduction - not even a call from the elusive manager.

Sadly I have to withdraw my previous praise for this hotel, and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

I am employed by the State of California and travel to the Peninsula occasionally on business. Whenever possible, I make it a point to stay here. Being able to take a walk on the beach or the nearby headlands is a perfect way to unwind after a hectic day. Top that off with dinner at Nick's (in the Sea Breeze Motel) and you have a wonderful time. If you can, ask for Room 201 -- it's a large room with a magnificent view of Rockaway Beach -- has a micrwave, frig, large bathroom, sofa, easy chair, and work table. It was wonderful. My last visit there was July 10-11 and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

My teenaged son and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Pacifica over Mother's Day weekend. This was a perfect central location for visits we were making to San Francisco and San Bruno, and it is also very convenient to the airport and a great improvement over staying beside the airport. Holiday Inn Express Pacifica is located at Rockaway Beach, a lovely spot with a picturesque rocky shoreline, nice (steep!) walking trail, and interesting shops and restaurants. The hotel was highly satisfactory: clean, comfortable and inexpensive. The only problem I experienced was very poor cellular service - I often could not dial out on my cell phone from the room. Maybe this was because of the topography of the area. However, I could use my cell phone from the central lobby on our floor or the main lobby with no problem.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

My family of three spent four nights (mid-June) at this HIE in Pacifica and for the most part we were very satisfied. The King Suite we'd reserved was smaller than expected, but the view more than made up for it as our window directly faced the ocean. One of the screens was missing from the window, but we were on the second floor so we didn't mind, especially as it enabled us to lean out of the window to get some great pics of the ocean. The room was clean (except for some strange brown smudges on the wall near the fireplace) and the king bed was comfortable. The refrigerator and microwave in the room were clean and very much appreciated.

The breakfast area was pleasant and the breakfast itself was good and varied, though not quite as well attended/replenished as we've experienced at other HIE's. In the evenings delicious fresh cookies are offered near the reception desk, and the Internet is easily accessible in the lobby as well.

The staff was polite though they weren't exactly friendly - 'bored civility' is the term that comes to mind. Even so, we have no complaints about the service. We arrived at the hotel a couple hours early but had no problems with getting right into our room, and the 'ocean front' request I'd made by phone was wonderfully granted! All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express and would recommend it to others. The easy drive to San Francisco takes only minutes, but Pacifica is much quieter and more peaceful, and the beach area is great for playing in/near the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

I stayed here for 9 days - Check-in was super fast, friendly and the room was above average. The hotel was very clean. I had read another reviewer's comment about the hotel smelling "like an ashtray" AFTER I had booked and was not particularly looking forward to experiencing this aspect, however I did not find this to be the case at all. Perhaps things had changed in the meantime. The room in which I stayed had a large screen TV and DVD player. Finally, a slight maintenance issue I had was corrected within a couple of hours, which was consistent with the great level of service I experienced here.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

March 06

Once again booked this hotel on strength of reviews here. We were not disappointed. The hotel is about 50 m from Rockaway beach. You can not miss it as it has been painted bright yellow.

Very nice lobby area and hotel interior. Room was fine - as you would expect from a Holiday Inn. You can book rooms with sea views and with fireplaces etc. They supply beach towels if you fancy a dip.

The breakfast was good and tea/coffee available all day.

Rockaway Beach is not that commercialised with a few motels, one Best western and some shops. There is one rather dingy looking motel (Sea Breeze?) on the front.

We ate at "Nicks" which is almost next door. Food was OK. They have live bands some nights.

Took only 20 minutes to drive to SF airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica

Address: 519 Nick Gust Way, Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Pacifica, CA is where your Northern California vacation or San Francisco Bay area business trip begins. Located minutes south of San Francisco off HWY-1 and next to the Pacific Ocean, we have beaches, ocean, sunsets, restaurants and public transportation within walking distance to meet your needs. We are conveniently located near the Daly City and Colma BART Stations and I-280 offering easy access to San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, Moscone Convention Center, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco State University (SFSU) & the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Within driving distances from Half Moon Bay, Napa Valley, Sausalito, Silicon Valley, Santa Cruz and Monterey you are never too far from a fun-filled family weekend. We offer deluxe accommodations in our oversized rooms with free high speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators and free weekday newspaper delivery. Relax in our premium suites featuring a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub & oceanviews. In the morning, enjoy our complimentary Express Start deluxe breakfast in our great room. Whether you are staying for business or leisure, it will be difficult to choose between relaxing in your spacious comfortable room or walking along the beach at sunset. Come and Stay Smart with us ~ have the ocean as your backyard and San Francisco as your play ground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pacifica
Holiday Inn Express Pacifica
Holiday Inn Pacifica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pacifica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.