We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Seaside Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Motel

Save Saved
You added Sea Breeze Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Breeze Motel
100 Rockaway Beach Ave., Pacifica, CA 94044   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Pacifica
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Seaside Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night. It was a planned getaway and were able to make a spur of the moment reservation just fine.

We didn't have high expectations...but we weren't disappointed! The room was clean, the bed was not intolerable and the weather was great! Because this is attached to Nick's Restaurant we expected some noise and hear some squealing tires during the night but we had the window open for the sound of the waves crashing as a sleeping pill!

This is a wonderful place to get away from life...it is RIGHT on the beach and it was May and we even had to turn on the wall heater!!

Don't come if you can't handle an older motel
Don't come if you want a free breakfast
Don't come if you can't handle thin walls and noise during the night

BUT

Do come if you want the sea breeze in your room
Do come if you want to hear the surf from your open window
Do come if you want to walk out the door and be AT the beach
Do come if you want a quiet (most of the time) getaway from the heat
Do come if you appreciate quaint whole-in-the-wall motels

Heartily recommend this place!

Room Tip: Book on the "Cove" side for a quieter time, especially on weekends as the restaurant and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Breeze over a weekend (Friday and Saturday) and had a great time. Pacifica is a good home base for explorations north (the city) and south (Moss Beach, Half Moon Bay, etc.). We went out in SF one night, and it only took about 20 minutes to get home. Easy breezy.

Can't vouch for how things go during the week, but the area around the motel is hopping on the weekend. Nick's Rockaway (which is next door) seems to be the happening hangout for locals of a certain age. They have your typical house band (like I'd imagine you'd find on a cruise, though I've never been on one) that plays stuff like "Brick House" and "Play That Funky Music, White Boy." The players were better than they needed to be, and it was lots of fun watching the locals get down. Nick's is a great stop for a nightcap or three on your way back to your room.

It's great being able to hear the ocean when you drift off to sleep, but beware leaving your window open if there's a smoker staying nearby. Our first night was great, but the second night there were some chain smokers in the next room. But they couldn't seem to get their timing down to both be outside smoking at the same time, so one would be inside the room while the other was just outside the room (and our window). They would have to yell to hear each other. I finally just gave up and shut the window with a heavy sigh, hoping they'd get the hint. They didn't.

The walls are a bit thin, but if you've made your stop at Nick's (if it's the weekend) you should have enough of a buzz to drift off to sleep. I think we'll definitely stay at the Sea Breeze again. It's a great home base at a great price. Ocean-side rooms are a bit more expensive than cove side. Ten bucks, I think. Even though it's more quiet on the cove, I'd still go with the ocean view.

Oh, and the breakfast sandwich with herbed potatoes at Nick's makes for a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose the cove side for more quiet, the ocean side for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have stayed at Sea Breeze Motel at least twice a year for the past 25 years. It isn't the fanciest place on the planet, but if you want to be near the ocean and having the opportunity to just enjoy some peace and quiet, this place wiIl work for you. Friday and Saturday nights have a lot of activity in the area but Sunday through Thursday are much less active.

We just returned from a three day stay and had a great time. Whales were migrating through the area and we were able to see them on several occasions. A sea lion even made a visit one evening which was a real treat.

The locals are alway friendly and helpful. The area has many well developed walking paths that take you to a larger beach to the South and back into the city of Pacifica to the North. If you enjoy the ocean/beach and want to get away from the daily grind, this place will meet your needs. It is a great place to stay even if you want to enjoy San Francisco or range down toward Santa Cruz. It isn't fancy but it is wonderful

Room Tip: The beach side is probably quieter, but the ocean side has ocean sounds to calm and soothe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stay at the Sea Breeze at least twice a year because I love being so close to the ocean and hear the surf. This past year they have been painting and remodeling. All new beds - very comfortable. It has been my experience that during the week is quiet but Fridays and Saturdays the motel is full. My major complain is that while the rooms are non-smoking, they allow smoking outside the rooms. There is about a three foot overhang that captures this smoke and it goes into my open window (remember the reason I stay here- hearing the surf). I begin my day with an unpleasant lung ful of smoke.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had heard that the location makes up for the shortcomings of this place. Well, no, they don't. The walls are so paper thin that it is impossible to sleep well if there is someone next to you. We don't blame the inn keepers for the other guest's noise, however, they do decide weather to renovate and soundproof the building. The groups in the rooms to either side of us were not being unruly. Rather, they were conversing in regular tones. Even so, we could hear every word and movement they made. Further, the motel states that there are no dogs allowed, however, the one that was barking all night made liars of them.

When we finally fell asleep we only slept for three hours before the restaurant dumped out their trash at 7:00am. I don't know if the glass bin was below our rear window or what, but oh my got it was loud. and, it wasn't just once either. That I do blame the inn keepers for.

We were scheduled to stay for eight night as we explored the coast. After the first terrible night we checked out and moved on. we were able to get a chain hotel to give us a room just up the coast for %20 less. The gal at the desk was really mad when we checked out. She blamed us for not calling the police to report the noise.

The view is stunning, if the lot is empty enough to see it. Although, our car had a thick, crusty layer of sea salt on it after just 12 hours.

The rooms were simple and clean. The bathroom was cramped but usable. There are no frills here, however, I was not looking for any. They do claim to have free WIFI, however, the signal strength was too weak for me to connect to it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurant end. Some say to ask for an ocean view, however, the lagoon view may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was our first visit to the Sea Breeze. A friend recommended it as an affordable, basic motel with the attraction of being right on the ocean's edge. You can feel the sea spray when you walk out to the car. As other reviewers have noted, the place needs some attention (which is in the works), but the rooms are clean and comfortable. We found the innkeeper to be friendly. The heater worked well. There was a small refrigerator in the room. No coffee maker, however, coffee was available in the lobby. The rooms are kind of small but worked well for us as a 'home base' while we explored the area. Because of the location, the parking area is shared with customers of the restaurant, and people who drive through to catch a view of the ocean. This did not create a problem. Nicks Restaurant adjoins and provided some of the best Linguini with Clams that I've ever had. Overall, the accomodations met our needs, and provided a good coastal experience. We will go back!

Room Tip: Although we did not experience any extra noise, you may want to ask for a room away from the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

If you are looking for a cheap, clean motel right on the ocean front then this place is iconic. New beds, TVs etc but the rest is from the 50s. Adjoins Nicks Restauant which is simply the best 50s restauant ive ever seen and the Crab sandwich is great!!!
No pretence here but brill!!!

Room Tip: All face the sea so no worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Motel

Address: 100 Rockaway Beach Ave., Pacifica, CA 94044
Location: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacifica
Sea Breeze Pacifica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.