We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights with my husband and 2 children while visiting the area. Good affordable place to stay when compared to some other options in the areas. Our double queen room was plenty big, had a good sized refrigerator and fireplace. No AC, but not needed. A fan would have been helpful as the room gets stuffy. Bathroom had great stone and tile work. A lot of dents and dings in the room, but overall was clean. Safeway and Trader Joe's a short drive away if you need groceries. Walk to the beach and to the golf course restaurant in the morning for some good coffee. Front desk person very helpful with suggestions for family restaurants. Would definitely recommr and stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    178
    56
    25
    16
See reviews for
44
306
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This little Inn has lots of potential with nice grounds, some updated features of its rooms and a good location in PG. Room 115 has newer hard wood floors and a reasonably comfortable bed, but the bathroom and some of the window frames need work! The bathroom floor was filthy, had loose grout and needed to be re-grouted, the Jacuzzi tub was extremely slow to drain, the window frames had mold on them and the toilet took at least 7 minutes to refill the tank. Even a few of the window frames in the room had mold on them. Although we were scheduled for 3 nights, we left after 1 night after reporting the problems. Barbara in the front office was very nice and wanted to correct the problems, but we didn't think the bathroom floor was an easy fix.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you decide to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sunset Inn prior to playing some golf locally. We visit PG at least one a year and normally stay at another property but I wanted to try something different and selected the Sunset based on location and price. The room we selected was ideal for what we needed and my wife's initital comment was that it felt more like a bedroom than a hotel room - very welcoming and with character. Check in and out were simple and as we had an upstairs location we even had a view of the ocean from our balcony. The fact the golf course was only 60 seconds drive away was extremely convenient. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends from Europe. Everyone was pleased with their room. I had one of the lesser rooms but still felt satisfied. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was quite nice. Everything was clean. On the down side, there is no internal ventilation and it was warm so we had to keep the windows opened. However, the back window had no screen and the window was broken. It was very quiet for us, maybe we didn't have noisy neighbors (as others refer to the paper thin walls). Barbara at the front desk was wonderful :-) Great walks close by along the coast. I'd stay again. It's not a luxury place but a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our 19 day road trip. We found it to be in a nice quiet location and so close to pick up the coastal walk into Monterey. We had room number 118 at the back of the complex and it was very nice with a lovely Jacuzzi bath which we used every night. The only negative I can say about here is that there was a lot of noise from the guests above when they walked across their floor. We are early risers and so it didn't bother us too much but If you aren't then you will get woken up by this!
Barbara on the front desk was lovely and really helpful. She gave us great directions and provided us with our Aquarium tickets to save us queuing.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

While on the surface this motel is fine, the minute the couple staying next to us entered their room, we knew we had made a poor choice. We could hear their voices, the shower, their movements. We were just glad they went to sleep early and were not very early risers. So it was doable, but if you don't want to hear your neighbors and are a light sleeper, this is NOT the hotel for you. Otherwise, everything else about it was mostly fine. The shower was a little annoying to navigate but not a reason I wouldn't stay there. Centrally located near 17 mile drive. Town of Pacific Grove had cute places to eat breakfast and grab coffee (no continental breakfast included).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a hard one to review. On the surface, everything was as it was presented. We had the 1 bedroom suite with the Jacuzzi. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, and the Jacuzzi worked great. But the room needed work on its fixtures. The handles were falling off the window in the bathroom, the shower was very limited in the water spray, the water faucet was loose, etc. Also, we had a nice little balcony but the rust and debris from the rusting roof was all over it - so it made it not so nice. Too cold to sit out there anyways.

It is just a slightly nicer than average beach motel. Location was great to get to the ocean but it is kind of in the middle of suburbia. You needed a car. If they spiffed up the kitchen with some items like napkins, paper towels, etc. and put some design thought into the table and chairs in the kitchen I think people would be a lot happier with their stay.

All in all, nothing big to complain about but probably wouldn't book it again.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms but the 1 bedroom suite was at the back and upstairs. Quieter than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.