We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Petaluma, California
1 review
“Beautiful Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Inn was recommended to us from a good friend whom we trust. We typically stay in Monterey when we are in the area and were so happy to be introduced to Pacific Grove. The Inn is situated in a quiet neighborhood, and is just blocks away from the golf course and ocean path. We loved the single cottage-like set-up and the decor of the rooms (cottage beach). It was clean, quiet, and very comfortable (The Wolfgang Puck coffee was a nice perk too). Barbara, the manager was very welcoming as she invited us back to an evening gathering of wine and "goodies." We loved being able to walk to the quaint downtown of Pacific Grove, and really enjoyed the longer walk out to Monterey through the beautiful neighborhoods and along the ocean. This is a great Inn and the price is reasonable. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    185
    60
    26
    17
See reviews for
44
322
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culemborg
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I love the location of this hotel close to the beach and within walking distance to the restaurants downtown. The room was clean with a comfy bed and lots of pillows. The bathroom had a nice rainshower. THis revisit I was not disappointed just like last time. If you subscribe to their newsletter you will regularly receive some good price deals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Sunset Inn in Pacific Grove as it seemed to be a nice, peaceful place to stop on our busy road trip.
We had never been to this area before and we completely fell in love with it. Pacific Grove is just beautiful, with a quaint centre and rugged coastline.
Sunset Inn, was one of the cheapest stops on our trip, at just 80 dollars for a night, we weren't sure what to expect. When we arrived we loved the location right away, just a couple of minutes stroll from the rocky coastline with one of the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen.
The room was modern, cosy and spotlessly clean. It seemed newly renovated and was lovely and spacious with a fireplace and a table and chairs to enjoy coffee or breakfast.
The service was always friendly and our stay here was simply idyllic. I can't wait to return to Pacific Grove and the Sunset Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Pros and Cons...Good stuff, very nicely decorated. Gorgeous floors, good looking beds, nice location (near ocean)Wonderful Manager (Barbara) bad features, no continental breakfast, Rooms do not have enough lights.Difficult to read. Ventilation, poor (although did have a working fireplace)Nothing for Seniors (TV with no captions for hard of hearing) Shower(no grab bars)Fix up these things, they would have a very nice motel...They do have wine & cheese, I understand on weekends (5-7pm) Also bed was very uncomfortable...Needed a new mattress. Manager very warm and knowledgeable....Knows all the good restaurants....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sunset Inn was exactly what we were looking for. The room was cozy and in a great location. We walked across the street to the beach and saw several deer along our walk. We also rode our bikes along the coast to Lover's Point. I realized how much I loved Asilomar as Lover's Point was very crowded. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I was disappointed in the fireplace. It din't throw out any heat. Maybe it just needs to be serviced. Outside of that I loved the jet tub and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We mentioned we had dinner reservations at Passion fish and they gave us a coupon for a free appetizer for the restaurant we were going to. I also liked that the Inn doesn't have a two night minimum stay like a lot of other places. We just had time for a quick get away for our first anniversary. One night was all we needed. i would highly recommend the Sunset Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We've stayed at a lot of different places in Pacific Grove/Monterey/Carmel over the years. We like PG best because of the walking. Sunset Inn is on Asilomar Blvd, a very nice walk to the beaches,and a nice (long) walk to downtown.
It has very a friendly staff, is very clean, has good special rates, and has been redecorated in the last few years, to make it much fancier than it used to be.
We've stayed there about 6 times.
The rooms we've stayed in are pretty big, cozy, and sometimes have fireplaces and jetted tubs. (Love the spa tub!) The walls and window frames could maybe use a little paint here and there, but nothing major.
So, it's not really posh, but it's comfortable, well located, friendly, clean, reasonable. We really like it.

Room Tip: I like the king rooms with fireplace and jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013, it's a really quiet inn in a beautiful location. The rooms were nicely sized and more than adequate for 2 people, jacuzzi bath was a nice addition. Only criticism about this hotel is the noise travels very easily between rooms! Our oh so considerate neighbours decided that it would be a good idea to have a jacuzzi bath at 1am, which ordinarily would be ok, however the noise of the pump literally sounded like a jack hammer coming through the ceiling and both myself and my partner were woken from deep sleep! Apart from that one niggle, great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.