We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and quaint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Pacific Grove
Los Angeles
1 review
“Very cozy and quaint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for a couple nights during CSUMB's graduation. We weren't able to check in until 2am, and the woman at the front desk was very accommodating! I called ahead, and she placed the key to our room under the mat so that we were able to get into our room without waking her when we arrived. The room was pretty small, but very cozy. There was a fireplace, and the bathroom was amazing! Not many parking spaces, so you have to get a spot early. The walls are also very thin, so we could hear everything that the people next to us were doing. Other than that, the room was great! Just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    173
    53
    24
    16
See reviews for
43
298
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great location,quiet & clean. Price was very good, too.One evening we didn't have water. I called the office to inquire... the owned was quite cranky and said a pipe was busted. It was repaired by morning. Lots of nearby places to walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went down for three day to Pacific Grove. One of our favorite places to visit. We stayed at the Sunset Inn. It was very clean,nice and walking distant to the golf course and to the beach.
Barbara was just a book of knowledge about the area and also very nice and helpful. We really did enjoy our stay. We had breakfast every morning at the golf course and it was great. We even had dinner at the golf course and had sea scallops that were to died for. We would stay at the Sunset Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room was very cozy with a fireplace and jet tub for two. Room is not that big but very well designed and clean. The room we stayed in had a balcony where we could watch the sunset and relax to the sound of the ocean nearby. Only problem we had was cell service inside the room, but when you are on vacation here, you shouldn't be on the phone anyway!
Very close to the beach, 15 mile Rd with tons of sights to see alongside the ocean and Cannery Row with the Monterey Bay Aquarium!
Lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs offer balconies where you can watch the sunset. Also book a room with the jet tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I very much like the Sunset Inn, which sits on the NW corner of the Monterey peninsula. You won't get an ocean view, but it's a short walk to it, either on the ocean side (going west) or the bay side (going north). Asilomar is < 1 mile to the south. The rooms are very nice: I was in one with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The people there are quite friendly. There is no breakfast, but with a refrig in the room, I was happy enough to get something quick and get out into nature. A bigger problem is very spotty cell phone connection in my room. I don't think this is a problem with the hotel as much as just that corner of the peninsula (I've had similar problems in closeby locations, with US Cellular and Sprint both). Even with that rather annoying issue, I will happily stay again in the Sunset Inn when fortunate enough to revisit Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have two favorite places to stay in the Monterey Peninsula., Sunset Inn made our "Top 2" list several years ago. The Continental Breakfast is just ok, but we go down the street to PG Juice and Java for coffee, so that is not what draws us. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and private. The cleanliness level is consistently spotless. Barbara is a wonderful hostess, and a genuinely kind and helpful person. There is a variety of room types and amenities to chose from, so you can have a less expensive quick overnight, a romantic week-end, or a full family week with kitchen and extra room to spread out your gear. The area of town is beautiful, quiet and peaceful. It is within reasonable walking distance to town, or the ocean. There are seasonal specials so that those of us on a budget can still enjoy this delightful place. We try to get over to this nice little inn at least twice a year, making the next trip in July at least a dozen visits for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We wanted a getaway from SF. I found this sweet little place on the internet and got a good price for a queen room with a jacuzzi and fireplace. It it is spotless and Barbara and the cleaning staff are all really kind and friendly. The place is not at all touristy and it is located away from the town and other hotels. One morning we saw seven deer of varying sizes crossing the road going to the tender grass at the cemetery! Cons are that the rooms are really small and there is no place to set anything down. One chair. No place to have a snack, but they do have a small fridge and a coffee maker. And there is a table and two chairs on the small porch. I found the place cozy and delightful. My BF wanted a small table in the room. He also found the noise from the room above to be a problem. I think we had the only room in the place with a unit upstairs. I say good price, cozy romantic getaway. BF not so much.

Room Tip: Don't get 118 it is the only one with guests above, if you are sensitive to sound. I slept fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.