We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Pacific Grove
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I very much like the Sunset Inn, which sits on the NW corner of the Monterey peninsula. You won't get an ocean view, but it's a short walk to it, either on the ocean side (going west) or the bay side (going north). Asilomar is < 1 mile to the south. The rooms are very nice: I was in one with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The people there are quite friendly. There is no breakfast, but with a refrig in the room, I was happy enough to get something quick and get out into nature. A bigger problem is very spotty cell phone connection in my room. I don't think this is a problem with the hotel as much as just that corner of the peninsula (I've had similar problems in closeby locations, with US Cellular and Sprint both). Even with that rather annoying issue, I will happily stay again in the Sunset Inn when fortunate enough to revisit Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    176
    56
    24
    16
See reviews for
44
305
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have two favorite places to stay in the Monterey Peninsula., Sunset Inn made our "Top 2" list several years ago. The Continental Breakfast is just ok, but we go down the street to PG Juice and Java for coffee, so that is not what draws us. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and private. The cleanliness level is consistently spotless. Barbara is a wonderful hostess, and a genuinely kind and helpful person. There is a variety of room types and amenities to chose from, so you can have a less expensive quick overnight, a romantic week-end, or a full family week with kitchen and extra room to spread out your gear. The area of town is beautiful, quiet and peaceful. It is within reasonable walking distance to town, or the ocean. There are seasonal specials so that those of us on a budget can still enjoy this delightful place. We try to get over to this nice little inn at least twice a year, making the next trip in July at least a dozen visits for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We wanted a getaway from SF. I found this sweet little place on the internet and got a good price for a queen room with a jacuzzi and fireplace. It it is spotless and Barbara and the cleaning staff are all really kind and friendly. The place is not at all touristy and it is located away from the town and other hotels. One morning we saw seven deer of varying sizes crossing the road going to the tender grass at the cemetery! Cons are that the rooms are really small and there is no place to set anything down. One chair. No place to have a snack, but they do have a small fridge and a coffee maker. And there is a table and two chairs on the small porch. I found the place cozy and delightful. My BF wanted a small table in the room. He also found the noise from the room above to be a problem. I think we had the only room in the place with a unit upstairs. I say good price, cozy romantic getaway. BF not so much.

Room Tip: Don't get 118 it is the only one with guests above, if you are sensitive to sound. I slept fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great quite location, near the lighthouse on the tip of the peninsula.
I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
Originally booked in for two nights for a conference I stayed for 7 nights as I was very pleased with the quality, decor and cleanliness of the room.
A very nice room for the price I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Sunset Inn but it was completely satisfying. The room was beautifully appointed, spotless, and the manager Barbara couldn't have been any kinder to us.
We felt like we had been away much longer than a day, and the Sunset Inn, not to mention its proximity to so many beautiful sites, had everything to do with it.

Room Tip: We brought food for breakfast and used the good-size refrig in the room to keep it fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Perfect location, off the beaten path but still close enough to everything. We were in Pacific Grove with family for my parents' 60th anniversary. The rooms were more like little cottages, clean and comfortable. We could walk to the beach going one direction and to downtown Pacific Grove going the other direction. The complimentary wine and appetizers in the evening was a nice touch. Barbara, at the front desk was friendly and helpful, good recommendations for dinner.

Room Tip: Some rooms seemed bigger than others, wouldn't hurt to ask about larger rooms when making your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

outstanding location near the lighthouse on the tip of the peninsula. very quiet neighborhood with almost no traffic, no sidewalks and almost a country feeling. slightly off the main road and away from the tourist car and walking traffic. ideal if you want little peace and quiet. we saw deer grazing across the street. 5 minute walk to the beach for spectacular sunsets. recommend for a romantic get away. property a little dated, and looks like a renovated motel, but it's clean, and there's helpful barbara at the front desk. would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.