We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Shower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Pacific Grove
Chester County, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty Shower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Inn late lastyear. When we went to take a shower there was a used bar of soap caked with hair, used shampoo bottles, and a dirty washcloth in the shower. We cleaned up the mess and let Barbara in the office know. She was very apologetic and said she would apply a credit to our account. Unfortunately, all talk - no action. The credit never appeared, even after several emails to her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    173
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
43
297
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights here during a trip to the US, so we could explore the Monterey area.
Sunset Inn is a nicely up-dated motel (so ignore the older poor reviews - everything has changed) in a lovely location, and a short walk from the Monarch Butterfly Grove, which was one of our must-sees.
Our room was a king with fireplace and shower, lovely and warm and comfortable, and the pillows and coffee merit special mention! decor is attractive and the rooms are kept really clean. We slept really well and were delighted to be pointed towards the nearby Golf Club for breakfast, with good food and service and views towards the sea where we watched whales spouting as we ate! We liked it so much we went there every day. went there every day.
Barbara, the manager is magnificent, with a lovely dry sense of humour. Sara who works with her is charming and the pair of them are so knowledgeable and helpful I can't imagine them being at a loss with any guest's queries, and not just where to eat to what to see.
Stay here, you won't regret it, you'll just relax and enjoy yourselves and be glad you chose the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, spoke to a gentlemen and he got us in immediately, gave us advice on what to do while in town and it was a small walk to the ocean. The room was a bit small, but cozy when we first checked in, but we loved the windows and setting. We decided to stay another night so we called to the office and spoke to Sarah. She then surprised us by saying that since they weren't very full, that she would love to upgrade us to a king suite with a fireplace, no extra hidden charges or anything. We moved rooms immediately and she was absolutely wonderful! We then got a knock on our door and it was one of their maids bringing us our phone chargers, headset, car keys and even our bag of pistachios! We plan on staying here the rest of the week and wee couldn't ask for a better, cozy, more accommodating hotel, especially for the money!! Highly recommend it, don't bother going anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Ask for a King suite with a fireplace!! YOU WILL DIE!! There is a room in particular, Room 108 that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great little hotel. Just down the street from Asilomar - easy walk to the shore. Easy access to Pacific Grove main street and a few minutes to Carmel. Our room had a fireplace - very nice. Also refrigerator and 4 cup coffee pot - not those one cup things you usually see. Only one detriment was the thin wall between our room and the next. We could hear everything (and I mean everything) that went on. Fortunately, everyone went to bed at a reasonable time. Room was super clean and people very nice. Even with the thin walls - love this place and we will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter - ask when booking if this is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Sunset Inn is a great place to get away. The room was cozy, warm, relaxing. We had a spacious room with king, jacuzzi, fireplace, coffee pot with good coffee, and a sizable refrigerator. There is a microwave in the lobby, if needed. Everything is situated just right. The decor is rustic and comfortable earth tones, very inviting. The bed was comfortable but especially the pillows which we plan to find out where to purchase. The inn sits about a mile down the road from the more crowded Asilomar State Park lodging entrance. It even has a long cobblestone driveway which is really a nice touch. The Innkeeper, Barbara, is very friendly and accommodating and offers h'ors deuvres and wine at the 5 o'clock hour. You can walk to the beach in 10 mins. or less, but be sure to ask Barbara what kind of wildlife is out and about so you'll be prepared. Also, at the beginning of the street about a mile and a half is the great Fishwife Restaurant. The web site photos are true to form. We plan to be frequent visitors to Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in this motel for one night during our trip alone the route 1. The room was spacious, with a cosy fireplace, comfortable bed, good bathroom. The motel is situated in walking distance from the ocean shore. We strolled along the shore, and it was really spectacular, the 17 miles drive wasn't worth seeing after this stroll.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent four nights here when I was at a conference at Asilomar. It's in a nice quiet location, close to the beach and to Pacific Grove and Monterey, and there's plenty of off-street parking.

My room, a queen with fireplace and jacuzzi tub, was spacious, and because it was upstairs, had a balcony with a nice view. I could hear the ocean when the patio door was open, and it was nice to sit out there with coffee in the morning and watch the fog float around above the beach.

The bathroom was huge and well-appointed, but the door had some water damage from the splashing of the tub. It wasn't very attractive. The fireplace was nice for atmosphere, but didn't put out any heat. But again, because the room was upstairs, it stayed cozy and warm. The other nice thing about this room is that is has plenty of windows, so you can get cross ventilation if it does get hot. The only funky thing about the room is that the closet is tucked into a nook above the outside stairs, so it's kind of hard to reach the hangars in the back. There's another little cabinet and a couple of drawers also built in, but it all added to the charm.

The staff went over and above for me, and they were always friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Monterey.

Room Tip: Room 202 is large and has a balcony. It feels a little more private because it's all the way in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.