We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A cozy little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent four nights here when I was at a conference at Asilomar. It's in a nice quiet location, close to the beach and to Pacific Grove and Monterey, and there's plenty of off-street parking.

My room, a queen with fireplace and jacuzzi tub, was spacious, and because it was upstairs, had a balcony with a nice view. I could hear the ocean when the patio door was open, and it was nice to sit out there with coffee in the morning and watch the fog float around above the beach.

The bathroom was huge and well-appointed, but the door had some water damage from the splashing of the tub. It wasn't very attractive. The fireplace was nice for atmosphere, but didn't put out any heat. But again, because the room was upstairs, it stayed cozy and warm. The other nice thing about this room is that is has plenty of windows, so you can get cross ventilation if it does get hot. The only funky thing about the room is that the closet is tucked into a nook above the outside stairs, so it's kind of hard to reach the hangars in the back. There's another little cabinet and a couple of drawers also built in, but it all added to the charm.

The staff went over and above for me, and they were always friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Monterey.

Room Tip: Room 202 is large and has a balcony. It feels a little more private because it's all the way in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    186
    60
    26
    17
See reviews for
44
323
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Pacific Grove, first time to the Sunset Inn. I think we would stay again. The property is very attractive, and the room was lovely (we stayed in #100), albeit a little small. But it has been newly updated, so it feels fresh.
The office hosts a "manager's reception" from 5-7, featuring coffee and wine and a bread/meat/cheese platter. That was very nice. No bad smells, no noisy neighbors. There is some street noise (#100 is right by the street).
We couldn't hear the ocean on the first night, but we could on the 2nd - I suppose it depends on the weather. So if you need a guarantee of falling asleep to the sound of waves, it might not happen.
The in-room gas fireplace is fantastic.
We were a little disappointed that there is not outdoor jacuzzi on-site, but that may be typical for this area.
Overall, a very nice place, friendly staff, and decent location (for coastal access).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sunset Inn is a simple, but clean and friendly place. The office staff is especially cordial and the rooms are nicely decorated. The location is ideal since it is midway between Asilomar, a beautiful, natural conference grounds, and the charming community of Pacific Grove. It's also a short walk to the walkway along the coast. Walking through the neighborhoods of Pacific Grove is a treat with many deer sightings to enhance the beauty.. We have enjoyed this inn three times and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is the second time we stayed here. We arrived late in the evening but management was kind enough to make arrangements for a late check in.

We stayed in room 110. The room was clean and comfortable and the property well maintained.

We did not have any issues with noise as some other reviewers had, but the property was not full booked either.

The showers in these units are very roomy and done in stone and rock. The shower head is mounted on the ceiling. Perhaps the only issue I can mention was that the water pressure was very low and it took some effort in moving around to get wet. Other than that, we very much enjoyed our stay and will return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotels around this area are super pricey so The Sunset Inn fit our budget. We were a little skittish since some of the reviews were bad. I think many of the reviews involving noise happen in the summertime. Our stay was pleasant. It looked like the hotel was recently renovated so the rooms were very clean and "new" looking. Overall, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really enjoyed my visit to the Sunset in Pacific Grove. The location is simply perfect, close to the beach, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and close to a wide variety of day trips. The rooms were comfortable and the gas fireplace and spa tub provided the perfect end to each day.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a spa room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place turned out to be so much better than what I expected. Great price, great location. My room was spacious and the jetted tub was terrific. I agree with some of the other reviews, this is a great place for couples rather than families. I am definitely coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.