We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn by the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glendale, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming inn by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Our room was charming and the service was excellent! Beach and tide pools within walking distance. Easy access to town with trolley pickup closeby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    190
    60
    26
    18
See reviews for
46
330
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lesliegb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here two nights in May. We chose it based on the reviews and the fact that it was quite reasonable in price compared to other places in the area. The room was lovely and beautifully furnished with laminate floors. It was very spacious, clean and comfortable and the beds were very nice. We found the complex to be extremely quiet, and we were there on a Thursday and Friday night. The shower is unique but enjoyed it thoroughly and there was plenty of hot water. It is a nice location just a block or two from the beach. In short, we found this to be a wonderful place to stay and a great value for the area, where you can pay a lot more money for accomodations that are not as nice as this.

One note, the office closes early -- we were driving from the Central Valley and got there a little bit after 9 p.m. There was a note and an outside phone and the owner/manager came and checked us in, but it was a bit awkward. This in no way impacted our stay at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Went to Pacific Grove to avoid the crowds of Monterey and was really pleased with Sunset Inn. The rooms are nicely appointed and the Italian marble bathrooms are beautiful. The Inn is nicely kept up and have gas fireplaces and mini fridges. You can hear the ocean and our blocks from the beach and near a great lighthouse. The only lacking would be a microwave (there are some restaurants and stores in the area but nothing very close) and the hot tub that used to be in the fenced area in the back and which is advertised (signed) at the Inn. Would definitely recommend to friends and would stay there again. It was an easy drive to spend the day wandering Big Sur at a leisurely place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Nice rooms and helpful owner whose dinner recommendations were spot on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very clean, nicely refurbished rooms, quiet and good location. Only negative is that there are no curtains, only wooden blinds which lets in a lot of sunlight. I am a light sleeper so I need it to be darker if I don't want to wake up at dawn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed that the Sunset Inn based on glowing reviews. The Sunset Inn did not exactly meet my expectations, but it was fine. The rooms were nice enough and the hardwood floors are a good touch, but as noted there is no AC so the rooms do get stuffy at night. We opened the windows some, but there are no screens and that made me nervous, especially with kids. Our room was on the first floor and anyone could have easily climbed in. The walls are very thin and it is annoying to listen to your neighbors every sneeze. On the upside the location is great and the free trolley into Monterey is just a few steps away. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpul regarding suggestions about food, etc. I would consider staying there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel is centrally located between Carmel-By-The-Sea and Monterey. Each room in the hotel has been remodeled in warm and inviting colors. You could detect a lingering, musty smell from the hotel’s past life, but this was easily overcome by opening the windows. Our particular room was right above the main office/breakfast area. If you aren’t getting up early, ask for a different room as it can get noisy. Sunset Inn does offer a small breakfast in the morning, which was just fine by me. For the price, amenities and location, I recommend staying at Sunset Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.