We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1100 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Shaver Lake, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights at the Sea Breeze Inn in Pacific Grove. We love going to the Monterey area and have stayed in Seaside, Monterey, Santa Cruz and now Pacific Grove. We got a good price through an online site that listed it as a 3-star. We consider it a 2-star and were happy with the hotel at that rating. Staff were very nice. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Towels small and thin; "breakfast" just Costco muffins, oatmeal packets, coffee, tea and OJ; walls thin; good microwave and small frig. There was a wonderful sea breeze and the windows open to let it in at night. We stayed on the 'office side' which is opposite of the pool side which is actually across the street but we weren't interested in the pool. We loved the close proximity to the ocean and the cute P.Grove shops.
If we returned to this hotel we'd try one of the bungalos (cottages). They looked really cute and we heard a patron giving them a great thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the pool often, choose a room on the 'pool side' (although I read that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    47
    19
    19
See reviews for
82
87
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a medium sized conveniently located between Inn Montarey and Carmel in the area of Pacific Grove. Very nice, quiet and near the shoreline. The serve a modest limited breakfast in the morning. The rooms are clean, very comfortable beds and quiet. They have a really cool fireplace outside people sit around and roast marshmallows. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This isn't a fancy place but nice, quaint, quiet and clean. The front desk folks were very friendly. The location is in a quiet neighborhood setting. The bathrooms are clean but very small. The view out the window is nothing but wasn't in the room very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln,CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First, I'd like to say that the good out-weighed the bad, so I consider that a great stay! We traveled with 2 17 yr-olds, who were looking for adventures and found them. This meant that they slept more during the day. While asleep late one morning, a man with a clipboard walked into the room, without knocking and said that he needed to check the color of the microwave. Ridiculous and unwarranted to EVER come into a hotel room during a guest's stay.

That said, the beds were comfortable, the help was friendly, the rooms were clean and the kids enjoyed the fire pit. The continental breakfast was sparse, but worked.

We also had some LOUD neighbors, with little kids playing and running around their room at 1:30 am. They quieted when my husband told them they were keeping us awake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a good experience here. We booked the cabin with 2 queens and it had a small kitchen area where we were able to cook out breakfast and evening meals, thanks to Trader Joe's shopping trip near by. It does not come with any cooking items like salt/pepper, etc. so be prepared to get your own. It came with a gas fireplace inside too which was great since it was rather chilly. Room was clean and efficient even though rather small. There are lots of decorations that take up valuable space for visitors use but we just moved them. The hotel breakfast was just big cold muffins cut in half and coffee so we skipped that. Easy walk to the ocean if you want or a very short drive. We would definitely stay here again and request a cabin.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with the kitchen if you want extra room, quieter building, and comforts of being abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was lucky enough to get a winning bid for Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages on price line. The property was really quaint and exactly what I was looking for. The location was perfect, just blocks from the ocean. Also close to miles of coastline perfect for sunset watching. My room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. I very pleased! It had plenty of room, a microwave, mini fridge, modern fixtures. The staff were fantastic. Super friendly and welcoming. When I stopped in the next day to ask a question they remembered my name, nice touch! I highly recommend the Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages. I will be a returning customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We'd stayed at this place twice before and loved it. We had always stayed on the ocean side of the street -- the same side as the office. Well, this time they put us on the other side of the street. There is a big difference. It's two different hotels. The south side is the tired side of the place -- not a great place and not worth what we paid. There is just a wall heater, no temperature control and no fan to move the air around. There was no cover on the drain in the shower -- just a hole into a 2" pipe. The TV was small and poor resolution. The carpet had a grimy feel. Find out which side they'll put you on before you book.

Room Tip: If you book here, get a room on the same side of the street as the office. Otherwise, it's a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages

Address: 1100 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Inn And Cottages
Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.