We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent danishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavel's Backerei

Pavel's Backerei
219 Forest Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3318
831-643-2636
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent danishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Danish pastries were quite pricy, but definitely worth every cent! We went to Pavel's both days we stayed in Pacific Grove to pick up some Danish pastries and they were excellent - the once with appels were our favourites. Pastries are handmade on site and thus very fresh. You should definitely stop by if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    66
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It was tough to decide what to choose! It all looked so good. Unanimously, we thought the chocolate croissant was the winner! Nice staff too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Popular Pacific Grove Baker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Handsome breads, croissants, etc. My palate was not overly impressed by wonderful to behold whole grain seeded bread or the gigantic croissant. Good croissant, rather too soft and average flavor bread. The popularity of the place probably suggests my taste buds are dying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“delicious pastries and bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We tried several of their Danish and some sourdough bread. It was all very tasty and still warm when we got it. Will definitely return to try more of their treats on our next trip. This looks like a small family operation, the people are very pleasant and the atmosphere is comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Gourmet Bakery - Cash Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wow! Fantastic quality! Not a large selection, but the 2 counters are packed with the hugest, most gorgeous pieces of bread and pastries I've ever seen, and a couple of premade sandwich options. Coffee and drinks are available, and a couple of tables for sitting down. Cash only at check-out, so come prepared. It's worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavel's Backerei also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Pavel's Backerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavel's Backerei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.