We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT FACILITY NEEDS WORK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages to your Saves list
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1150 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“NICE BUT FACILITY NEEDS WORK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Beautiful area just blocks from the ocean and Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course --- the outside of the facility looks very nice, it's older, but nice....but the inside of some of the rooms are not modern, are dirty, spots on carpet, old furnishings with spots --- Window blinds that won't open right so are lopsided - the inside of the rooms are dark and really need updating ASAP. This place could be a gold mine with the right owners. They serve breakfast in a nice dining room, the food was fairly good, not the best. The server was VERY nice. We were on our honeymoon, so to say I was very disappointed is an understatement. We were supposed to stay two nights, but I couldn't stand the inside of the room - so we left after one night. The bathroom copperish sink, which was lovely to look at, barely drained. The bathroom had VERY poor lighting. It just looks depressed on the inside of the rooms...and made me depressed. Clean up the place and we'll come back.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms, if you can, before you decide to stay. We were there in June 2012....and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    57
    37
    30
See reviews for
54
101
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for our one year anniversary trip. After looking around on the internet for good prices, I found this place for $87.40 a night for the lodge queen, which is a steal!
I admit that I was initially rather hesitant after reading some reviews on here (rooms smelled of mold, spiders in the tub, holes in the sheets, and paying for Wi-Fi). We arrived and since our room was not ready they upgraded us from the lodge queen to the lodge king at no extra charge. The front office staff were very friendly every time we called down or went down.
When we first got to our room I checked around for any mold or spiders and was very happy to find nothing of the sort! There were a few cosmetic issues but its not a 5 star resort and for the price we paid I wasn't going to ccomplain. Our room was right next to the pool so it was a little noisy in the morning's for breakfast and at night when all the adults would go onto the hot-tub so that was a little bit of a bummer but nothing terrible, we both were able to sleep through the noise.
The hotel itself is in a perfect location! It is right next to a graveyard and while some might find this a little creepy it was actually quite nice. It was a short walk from a golf course, though neither of us golf it was nice to look at, and a short walk to the beach. Just up the street was a lot of nice local shops and nice people. It is a short drive to the Monterey bay aquarium and cannery row which is always nice. It is also a short distance from the 17-mile drive which was Very scenic and a good way to spend some of the day.
The hotel offers a free breakfast and a free afternoon BBQ, the main selling point for us. Some have said that the food is lacking and stale and I have to disagree completely! The first day we were there we arrived just in time for the afternoon BBQ and it was packed, we arrived the day before memorial day, but there was still plenty of food. The breakfast consisted of two different types of eggs, oatmeal, fruit, toast and jam, juice, and cereal! The BBQ had hamburgers, hot dogs, chili, salad, potato salad, juice and some sort of dessert! It was a great way to save money since we wouldn't have to buy food.
Overall this was a great place! I definitely would go back there, a nice homey feel and great price!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

this was a horrible experience. The rooom was very shabby exspecially for 245.00 a night. The carpet was filthy and threadbare. The windows would not open. The bathroom was clean, but I definitely would not recommend this lodge. Everything needs to be cleaned and updated. When we check out I told them it was not a good idea to rent room 313 to anyone.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you choose to stay there and only consider an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in the lodge (not the suites).

The good: room was clean, proximity to Monterey Aquarium, ocean and decent restaurants (not walkable but short drive). Front ofc personnel are super nice. Fridge and microwave in the room.
The so-so: decor is outdated. Overwhelming smell of clorox on the first day - ok after a couple of hours of windows open.
The bad: linens, towels, pillows and bed are in need of replacements. The bathroom needs to be updated - there are spots that are so water damaged that rotting wood is exposed. The shower spewed very hot water - almost to the point of scalding.

For those of you who can't live without wi-fi like us...be aware that there is a $4 charge per day per laptop or device. No sharing...you can't log off of one laptop (say yours) and your spouse/child can't log on and use the same $4 you just paid. If you want to use 2 laptops (or ipads), then you'd pay $8 per day. Ouch!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My experience is based on the lodge, not the suites. The first room we checked in to was infested with horseflys. We checked in to the second room , which was clean and had a comfortable bed, but the entire room and furniture needed updating. The bathroom was small, not enough counter space. Walls needed new paint. Great area, but needs some work in order for me to ever go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This was the setting for a marvelous five-day birthday bash for our family of 14. Staff members Joelle and Kala worked with me on several room changes right up to the week we arrived and were so gracious. We rented the Residence plus five junior suites. The Residence was a perfect place to entertain, with two master bedrooms, living room, full kitchen, 3 fireplaces, 2 1/2 baths. There is also a large private patio off the living room. We elected to cook dinners in the Residence as it would have been difficult for us all to eat together in a restaurant. The junior suites were comfortable and clean and it was great to be able to park in carports right below our rooms.

The staff were attentive and friendly. We requested serving dishes, extra ice, champagne flutes -- all were delivered quickly. This is a great place for a small conference. Morning walks along the ocean, outstanding breakfasts. We all had Eggs Benedict at least once and every time they were perfect. There were probably ten choices available for breakfast; the wait staff were professional and the food arrived quickly. The evening hors d'oeuvres and wine were a nice touch. We were served shrimp cocktails twice during our stay,

Minor negatives: Carpet in Residence was very dirty, two of the four patio chairs lacked pads and we were brought towels to sit on, there were no soap dishes in the shower for soap/shampoo, etc., the robes were very worn.

We will definitely be back. Hopefully the renovations will be complete soon.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "luxury suite" side are well worth the extra money. The last time we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here with a group. We stayed in a junior suite and it was beautiful. Spacious bathroom and jacuzzi tub. Parking was under rooms. Now for some negatives: where the room was located you had to walk up and down hill. Also, stairs to room. I believe there are rooms located in front with no hill. This place has rooms on both sides of road. On the side with office, I understand there are some rooms when you look out you see a cemetery. Just a couple of things for people to think about. Fortunately, we stayed on the other side. This is a wonderful place and room was beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Address: 1150 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. The Lodge is a sixty-four unit property with oversized hotel accommodations. Our Lodge rooms have either one king size bed or two doubles. Each day, we provide a complimentary American breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. and a home style pool-side barbecue each afternoon from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M. Heated Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit Cape Cod styled property. Our Cottages have a king size bed, Jacuzzi tub, honor bar, wet bar, and gas burning fireplace. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. The Residence is a 1400 square foot, two- bedroom suite that is wonderful for social or business gatherings. It has two master bedrooms, three full bath, living room, full-equipped kitchen, dining room and private back yard patio. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 50 people classroom style and banquets for up to 120 people. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms and have a onsite chef to cator all of your private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.