We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem - quiet, clean, reasonably priced rooms, and close to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   660 Dennett Street, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hanford, California
1 review
“A gem - quiet, clean, reasonably priced rooms, and close to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This was a great find! Stayed with my 2 sisters and loved the hotel. The extra bedroom with the 2 twin beds gave us privacy. The hotel is on a residential street in a lovely neighborhood, so it was very quiet. There was no parking fee as with the hotels in Monterey. Asilomar State Beach is only a couple of blocks down the street. The staff was very friendly and recommended a local restaurant which had amazing great food. They serve a continental breakfast, but I didn't try it. It does not have room service, but you can order from local restaurants. However, Pacific Grove, now a new favorite vacation destination of mine, has some great restaurants to choose from, as well as a Trader Joe's close by. It's only a short drive to the Aquarium. You can purchase the tickets at the hotel, which gives you a 2 day pass for the normal price. It's also convenient to other areas such as Point Lobos and Big Sur. The room is smaller than it looks on the websites, but I have no complaints, it was perfect as it was. Only improvement I would suggest is that the bath towels could be thicker. Beds were very comfy. I would definitely stay there again!! This one gets 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    112
    40
    22
    12
See reviews for
94
110
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Check in was a breeze, rm was 106, located on the 3rd floor in building 2. The building we stayed at had rooms on each floor. 2 covered parking for each building, first come first serve or park on uncovered parking (still free). Did'nt mind the stairs but when we got to the room it was so hot! The room had no ceiling insulation. It had a ceiling fan but that really did'nt help. We had to open the sliding glass door on the balcony to let the air in. It was late spring, nice cool to cold breeze outside. Breakfast was ok, lots of choices but stay away from the fruits, they're old. I would recommend this bed and breakfast for the winter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed here fro three nights as part of a four week trip around the USA. We decided after two weeks of travelling, we needed a holiday during our holiday - so picked Monterey!
A beutiful spot - these suites were formerly twonhouses - whichexplains why there are three suites per building with a double garage underneath. You still get a parking spot late at night - just out in the open.
The Inn is in a suburb of Pacific Growve and whilst a short walk to the beach - you would need a car to get into Monterey for dinner/sightseeing.
The room was spacious and clean, with a comfy king bed and small room with a safe, microwave and fridge. There is a deep bath/shower (with handrails fortunatley!) and double hand basins. We had free wireless internet and they supply free continental breakfast as well - although we didn't partake. Our room had a small balcony too.
Several reviewers mention noise due to other people in the building.... hey - they are in the same building!!! its not your house.. it's a hotel with other people staying there! We had the same with a slamming door downstairs. We could've nipped down there and asked them not to do it - but I was too cozy.. were we on holiday and the best thing about that is... we rolled over and went back to sleep!! Other than that it was very quiet.
A guest laundry is located in one of the garages and worked well.
We had no issues with check in or check out at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed for two nights on our trip down the coast from San Francisco. This hotel is ideally situated for Monterey and Carmel, being close to all the amenities but in a very quiet and secluded position on 17 mile drive. We arrived early (13.00) and had to wait an hour to get into the room but that gave us an opportunity to do some shopping in nearby Pacific Grove (wonderful, inexpensive jewellers). We booked a two bedroomed suite that was ideal. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed here since it has a two room suite, stayed with friends to celebrate a birthday! Extremely diasappointed with the service breakfast was mediocre. Paid $180 for the suite and expected better. The worst part is the stain on the bed sheet!!! We figured it's some nasty stain if you get my drift, Disgusting! I've been to many suites way less in price than this one and way better in service, cleanliness. Rooms are too small even for a suite! try other ones for a better value for you money!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portola valley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My expectations were exceeded. Ours was a last minute decision to give our son one last adventure before school started. I didn't expect to get much given that we booked our stay the morning of our stay, certainly the price and location were right. Our studio was clean, extremely roomy and quiet. There was a large space for the king sized bed, the sofa area was cozy, the kitchen was large enough for 2 people to work in and there was also a breakfast nook.

I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

As others have noted, this hotel has a great location in a quiet, leafy residential part of Pacific Grove. It's also centrally located to many area amenities and tourist draws. The rooms are a reasonable size and our teenage sons enjoyed having their own bedroom with twin beds. So much for the good news. We were booked for three nights and on the first night we discovered ants near the room fridge and in the bathroom. There was also a skunk-like smell that occasionally wafted through the room. When we informed the managers of the ants, their only response was to "lend" us a can of Raid (we had to give it back the next day). No further action or apologies were offered. You expect more than that for $200 a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Address: 660 Dennett Street, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.