We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even during construction this was a very good property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   660 Dennett Street, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
The World
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Even during construction this was a very good property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Dimitri found our accommodations at the Howard Johnson Pacific Grove by searching the web (660 Dennett St., Pacific Grove, CA 93950, tel. (831) 373-8777, e-mail: hojopg@hotmail.com, www.montereyhojo.net). When he saw the pictures of the Howard Johnson property in Pacific Grove, he knew he had found something special. The rate of $130 per night (special rate for 3 or more days) could not be beat--we stayed for 10. Before we arrived, on our way into Pacific Grove, we stopped at two potential rentals. They were expensive and very down-market. The Howard Johnson property in Pacific Grove was nestled in a residential area among thick trees. It felt like the country; indeed there were lots of deer roving the area.

Our room, 120, had two levels. The bedroom, with a chest of drawers (and mini bar) and fireplace, was three steps down from the living room. Its ceiling was cathedral-like and had a ceiling fan. The living room had a sofa, coffee table and flat screen TV on top of a cabinet with storage. At the other end of the unit was a large kitchen with a table and chairs and the closet and bathroom. The kitchen had a stove top, full-sized refrigerator, a coffee maker, a sink (with a disposal) and lots of counter space and cabinets. There wasn’t much if any kitchen equipment but we asked for a toaster and stuff and we got some things--enough to make eggs for breakfasts. There was a deck running the length of the unit. It was newly renovated and we liked the way it was done. The complex was once townhomes and there is a comfortable, homey feel to the unit. The light was good enough and so was the heat. The breakfast (included) was good enough too. There were oranges and apples in addition to the standard complimentary breakfast fare.

On our first morning, we were the only ones in the breakfast room. It was quite cool and cloudy in the morning. Our second morning in our unit Audre made breakfast. We had eggs, baguette from Trader Joe’s and croissant from Patisserie Bechler. The sourdough baguette and mini croissant were very good. It was nice having a kitchen after 2 weeks without one.

Outside our unit, beyond our deck were trees and a dirt path that led to the Ocean View Road and the beach. On our first afternoon we biked the path behind our unit to the road and then turned right to follow the coast to Monterey and Cannery Row. By the time we got back, we had biked 7 miles and had had a wonderful ride—right from the unit.

There was much construction going on at the Howard Johnson. Out of the 40 units, 7 were left still to be renovated when we were there. It was not noisy inside our unit, however. On Thursday, more guests arrived and we were told that on the weekend, it would be fully booked. Evidently, the contract with Howard Johnson is being replaced with a contract with Best Western in June. We were happy to stay at the Howard Johnson/Best Western for 10 days even though there were annoyances. For instance, the Internet speed was slow and the connection was unreliable (until a workman came and repaired the system--then it was very good). Also the pipes in the shower “sang” (actually screamed). The thermostat was difficult to control. It would be set at a hair under 70° before we went to bed. At 5 a.m., it would be 65° so Audre would move the control up just a hair. At 7 a.m. it would be 75°. Go figure.

All in all we were happy with our accommodations on the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojopgrove, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments during your stay with us at the hotel, we are glad you really appreciated the value you got for the dollars spent, in comparing us with the rental properties, once again I do apologize for the mishaps during construction and upgrading all the rooms, which we are all done with it now, and would love to welcome you back to taste a better experience at the Hotel, Greetings from all the staff at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    93
    40
    22
    12
See reviews for
75
74
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed June 20-23 (Friday through Sunday) miserable nights at the Monterey Howard Johnson Inn. A crew was noisily renovating the room next to us (Rm 109) until at least 8:00 or 9:00 every evening, (including Sunday) hammering, sanding and yelling at each other. Some of the crew were staying in a room above us. Sunday night they angerily screamed at each other for HOURS. The four letter words flying until 3:00 a.m. in the morning. It sounded like they were either drunk or on drugs. We were afraid to confront them because they were so out of control that we were afraid they would do damage to our car or us! The room was tiny and NO CHAIRS were provided. We used beach chairs we brought from home. I understand we were given the last available room, which should have remained vacant. Management should be ashamed to force these conditions on their unsuspecting guests and also investigate their renovation crew. I don't see how the office failed to hear this bedlam.

Room Tip: Don't choose tiny Room 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojopgrove, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We at the Howard Johnson would like to apologize at the unfortunate experience you encountered during your stay and have taken prompt measures in correcting the situation with the maintenance crew at the hotel, please do call me at the Property and we could discuss this further for your compensation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel has just been renovated and I have been informed that it's going to be part of Great Western Group. Each suite is very spacious, designed to accommodate small family. The dining area and kitchen is great and all essential amenities are there. You will not be disappointed to stay there but you should be aware that because all buildings are constructed from wood, sound insulation may not be ideal.

Room Tip: The top floor is quieter but there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Address: 660 Dennett Street, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.