We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hosts, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old St. Angela Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old St. Angela Inn
Save
You added The Old St. Angela Inn to your Saves list
321 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ajax
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“wonderful hosts, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This must be one of the best b&b values anywhere. The location in laid-back Pacific Grove -- one block from the ocean, with the oceanfront recreational trail into Monterey, and close to 17-Mile Drive -- is perfect. Dianne and Jerry are gracious hosts. The indoor and outdoor common areas are comfortable. You can't beat the gourmet breakfasts, afternoon wine (and more food) hour, and the delicious cookies (available all of the time. The suites are cozy and beautifully decorated. We would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it!
Please come back and visit us all the way from Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved everything about this place. Our room was comfortable, the bathroom lighting was excellent, and the breakfasts were varied and delicious. When we went back to the B&B in the late afternoon, fresh cookies were waiting for us. The weather was comfortable during the day and cool enough for us to leave our windows open allvthe time we were there--a very nice change from the hot Texas weather..

Room Tip: We enjoyed first floor rooms that faced the outdoor eating area. I understand they were also the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It must have been nice to escape from the hot Texas weather for a while! We hope you can come again to enjoy our beautiful Monterey Bay climate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My Husband and I were going to spend our vacation touring down the Pacific Coast Highway after visiting Yosemite. We had no definite plans or timeline, we just had to be in San Diego in one week's time. We drove to Monterey from Mariposa and decided to spend the night. I checked with Tripadvisor and found The Old St. Angela Inn and gave them a call. Luckily they had one room available and we took it for one night. The Inn is in a lovely neighborhood and located several blocks from the ocean. Since we arrived late we missed the wine and cheese but they left us snacks to take to our room. The room (Crow's nest) was very nice and relaxing, as was the rest of the house. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast served to us in their lovely garden. The location was great and parking was no problem. We walked to the Aquarium along the ocean path and saw seals and otters. The Inn was such a nice place we asked to stay another night. I know most internet reviews have both pros and cons, but we had no cons for this Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful, the place was lovely and the food was delicious. We would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us during your Pacific Coast Highway adventure! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and even decided to add an extra night. It is absolutely wonderful to know that all our staff and our beautiful location contributed to your great stay. We hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 glorious nights at the Old St. Angela Inn, and really enjoyed every minute. Tastefully appointed rooms, delicious and freshly prepared breakfasts, wonderful Tea Time snacks, wine and prepared dishes, and homemade baked cookies everywhere! We loved this place, but don't go here if you're on a diet, too much great food. We stayed in the Garden Room which does not have an ocean view, but is quiet and large with a fireplace. The ocean view rooms are smaller, and since the house is off the coastline by a couple of blocks, you don't really feel like it's a true "ocean view" room anyway. But don't stay here for the views, stay for the incredible food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, and tasteful rooms. These people thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Garden or Whale Watch rooms are the two best, and priced accordingly. If a view is important, pick t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourdes, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Our room (Otter Cove) was tight on space but nicely furnished. The garden is beautiful and a relaxing place for breakfast or a drink. Breakfast was excellent every morning. The free wine and nibbles in the early evening are a welcome bonus after an active day. There are always drinks and beautiful home-made cookies available any time of day. Only one block from the bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Centrally located, well maintained cozy and comfortable B&B in Monterey. Several cookie jars with homemade treats - snickerdoodles and chocolate chip cookies sprinkled throughout the common areas. Terrific breakfast (croissant french toast) with bacon and good coffee. Our room was small but cozy; parking was easy. Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

While Carmel draws the rich and celebrity-gazers, we love Pacific Grove, a quiet residential community that juts out in the Pacific and is just a pleasant walk away from the Monterey Aquarium.

While there are other B&B's right on the water in Pacific Grove, the Old St. Angela Inn is a pretty place with welcoming hosts, a pleasing garden and a good breakfast and snacks during the day.

We stayed with our two children and found the hosts and other guests to be quite welcoming. The home was very well maintained and we would be happy to make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Address: 321 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old St. Angela Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.