We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Lodge to your Saves list
Olympia Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1140 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is hard to find a place near the ocean in the Monterrey area of California that is not overly expensive for the senior traveler. I search long and hard before I chose the Olympia Lodge. I was not expecting luxury. i just wanted to be comfortable and near enough to the ocean to see the sun rise and sunset without a lot of bother. This hotel fit the bill. We stayed in a double queen with a small view of the ocean from the deck out our sliding glass front door. The beds were great and the bedding soft and comfy. The sink was in the room and the toilet and bath shower were in a small room. This is an older hotel with no elevator and most of the rooms up a set of long stairs or two. Senior may find this difficult to carry luggage and other things up those stairs, but we survived.
The facility is located in an out of the way neighborhood which is away from the congestion and bustle of the down town. Some may not like this, but it was exactly what we wanted. When we wanted to be in the middle of things, it was only a short drive. Beautiful Asilomar Beach is only blocks away. This State beach is filled with crashing waves on rocks and one area of smooth white sand. Every night a doe and her young fol slept on the grounds just under our room. Pacific Grove has many small deer. There is a public golf course just down the street and a beautiful old light house that is being restored.
The breakfast is simple with assorted breads, roll, bagels, and donuts. Milk, juice, coffee and teas were there to drink. Yogurt and fresh fruit were available with hot and cold cereal. The eating area was small so many guests just took their breakfast to their room. On the third day we finally were taught how to use the TV. This was after multiple requests. Otherwise the staff were friendly and help full with questions about the area and boarding passes.
Bottom line, I would recommend Olympia Lodge for the right price to those who love nature and the ocean and of course Monterrey, Carmel, and Big Sur.

Room Tip: Ocean views are on the West side, but very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    24
    19
    9
See reviews for
34
56
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got a groupon to come here. Thank God, because I would have been very upset having to pay full price for this place. Very basic. Old ragged towels. Rust all over the bathroom fixtures. Dripping water from faucet, no shampoo, just soap in the shower.

Not impressed. Would not return.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was ok. It was clean and the staff was polite. The beds were great, comfortable with good linens. The upkeep needed improvement. There were small repairs that have not been done, the shower head didn't work well, the tub didn't drain well and the lock on the glass door that would allow us to keep the door open a little didn't work. Over all it was comfortable and we could hear the ocean, but I could not see the view that is on the picture on the website.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The hotel is ok, I purchased my room through Groupon @ $130.00 for a Saturday night in late October. When asking the receptionist on Sunday morning about rates if I wanted to return she quoted me $79.00 - $99.00 depending on view. (understanding slow season) And she also said she had a walk up on Saturday night who got a room for $79.00. I was not happy, so I contacted Groupon & the Marketing manager of the hotel. I was denied any refund for the difference of the $130.00 - $79.00. So Consumer beware, someone got a Groupon Deal and sadly it was not me the consumer.
I would come back, HOWEVER, be careful of the rates, and if you use Groupon, call the hotel first before you purchase to make sure you are not getting ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Spent just one night of a recent road trip here, and found it comfortable and adequate. Our only negative was the bathroom was very small, leaving little room for our supplies. The overall room was spacious and comfortable, and on a quiet street near the lighthouse. There are deer on the nearby golf course, and the ocean is close also, and very scenic.
There are no eating establishments close by, so you need to drive into the village, less than a mile. The Lodge does have a Continental breakfast in the morning which was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I was very disappointed when we got to our room. The hotel could be such a gem but unfortunately it is very neglected. Our room smelled so bad of mold and was do musty that we had to go buy a can of febreeze. After using the whole bottle we could stand to be in the room. You could see mold under the vinyl around the tub and toilet in the bathroom, no wonder it smelled the way it did. The place was booked so there were no other rooms available.

Really a shame because this place had so much potential.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stayed (3) nights solo and was pleasantly happy with the great location and small hotel feel. It was a quite place and I had a nice 2 bed room with a huge corner patio and a view of the ocean in the distance and the deer outside every morning. Room was very clean and recently updated. Bed was super comfy. It had a sliding door for the entrance with a key lock but also had full length shutters that slid; so very private. Felt very safe and the hotel front desk staff very nice and helpful. Parking was a bit of a challenge if you got back to room late but found close easy parking on Lighthouse Ave. Breakfast was very basic but Downtown Pacific Grove had some great places for meals, which was a few minutes drive away (TIP) All day public parking located behind movie theater (ran new releases-fun) on Lighthouse Ave. or plenty of (2) hour parking. The location really was perfect. Just a 5-minute walk to the Historic Light house and beach access. A few minutes drive to the beautiful Asillomar Beach where I drank my coffee every morning! Monterey was a short 10-minute drive away. I will plan on staying there again next time I visit, which I would like to make it an annual excursion!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Address: 1140 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.