We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you missed it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Normandie - CLOSED

Le Normandie
542 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2745
831-375-5011
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“you missed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

sadly, this was a great little french restaurant, unbelievable specials on tuesday. but if you haven't tried it, it's too late. unfortunately, they closed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This restaurant is closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Le Normandie is closed but another restaurant will be opening soon in the same location. Until this new restaurant opens just walk across the street to Favalaros Big Night Bistro... also family run with great food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dinner at Le Normandie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This French cusine restaurant is located at the corner of Grand and Lighthouse Avenue and has nice window views of the victorian style shops across the street. Our local hotel made the reservation for us and we were very pleased with the reserved prime table waiting for us. I noticed that they held another table with a reservation tag for another party for a good hour, while several prospective diners without reservations were given wait times. Very dedicated management. Another restaurant in the immediate area was not as reliable with reserved seating in a past experience.

The menu was nicely varied with choices of beef, pork, chicken, duck, and scallops creations. We loved our dinners, a perfectly cooked tender roast pork tenderloin Normamdie, and the earthy Boeuf Bowiguignon. The sevice was friendly and gracious.

We felt fortunate to be there on a Friday evening when they were playing live smooth jazz music. I recall them playing the theme song from A Man and a Woman, and Moon River. The man playing live flute was friendly and took requests.The music really added to the ambiance and the dinner experience. We definitely enjoyed our total dinner experience there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price for the big night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an excellent, upper end restaurant over in Pacific Grove with a steadily changing menu. They put it on a hand written sheet daily. It's rather romantic, with live quality music at night. It's best to go during the week, as it can be hard to get in on the weekend, particularly during tourist season. I had the duck, which was perfect, well cooked but not dried out. He had lobster, which was also excellent, and served with the butter on the side, not drowning the lobster like you see sometimes. Service is just right, attentive without being pushy. Wine glass pourings are generous. If you remember any French from college, you can practice on the friendly owners. All in all, worth the $ for the big night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A bit of France in PG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner. The food and service were excellent. The music was a nice touch, but sometimes a bit loud

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Normandie also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Normandie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.