We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews are Accurate!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Point Inn to your Saves list
Lovers Point Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reviews are Accurate!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Basically it's the location that sells and the service is not dreadfully bad. (As long as you have nothing to complain about.) From reading everyone else's review; ours was nothing in comparison - and we didn't complain during our three day stay. We booked 6 weeks in advance, requested third floor;...thank you, past the elevators and opposite end, furthest from the stairs. Clean room, working fan, comfy bed but NO roller bed per my request to have in my room prior to my arrival. Daughter had to sleep on the floor like a dog; so sad...but she was not complaining. Breakfast was nicely presented, which is now the standard in lots of overnight stays and much appreciated. The morning of our check out, my husband reminded me to inform the front desk to not reserve our room until they have someone check the tub. We were not able to use it 'AT ALL' because the tub was not draining. It could of been worst...if everything was tops, guess what? You' be paying an average of $350 a night...overall we enjoyed our stay. IT'S THE LOCATION...and price was affordable for the stay. Thanks for trying Lover's Point Inn staff; maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Katherine S,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and breakfast as well. I'm sorry to hear about your roll-out bed, I will address this with our front desk staff to ensure we are taking care of requests properly. Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    145
    96
    39
    18
See reviews for
85
263
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed here over the weekend for a wedding. The room had two very comfortable beds, but was a little cramped. We have a 1 and 4 year old so with all of their stuff the room felt a little tight, but it was ok. There is no AC so we were very hot at night, even with the windows open. They provided 2 fans but it didn't help. It was older but clean, and they provided breakfast which was cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, etc. not fancy but fine for us.
The best thing about the place was the location. You are right across from great beaches for kids, rocks to climb on, and you can easily walk the trail into Monterey if you don't want to drive. We saw dolphins, sea lions and otters in the morning. There are not too many restaurants nearby, but several along Lighthouse drive, just a quick drive away, as well as many restaurants in Monterey.
If you stay here, don't expect luxury, but it is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear bluepeople,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed our location as well. I will look into the issues you addressed so we can ensure the best guest experience. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel looks way better on the website photos than in reality. The room was musty and dated and when I mentioned this to the person on the front desk, they didn't seem to care and said that all the rest of the rooms were full. Since I paid a lots of money for the room, this was disappointing.
Breakfast was okay- cereals and breads mainly, a simple self service type of scenario. The views outside the hotel are amazing...the location of the hotel in Pacific Grove is stunning and I enjoyed an early jog along the cliffs. Pity about the disappointing room...but top marks for location.

Room Tip: ask for room that is newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear liv52,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and ocean views. I regret to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and helps us improve our guest experience. I will look into your concerns about our rooms and make sure we're exceeding guest expectations. Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Simply be prepared. You can't beat the location and the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast typical. Unfortunately it is noisy. We had a room on the second floor midway between the elevator and the stairs. We heard people above us, people walking or running along the outside walkway, lots of street noise from cars, workers, and radios. Most disappointing was a loud argument in the middle of the night by guests on the ground floor. Just be prepared!

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the top floor, furthest from the street would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Dovie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location and comfortable beds. I regret to hear that you had some noise issues, I apologize for your noisy neighbors as well. Our hotel is an exterior corridor property so during peak times you may hear other guests walking to and from their rooms. Thanks again for your review and we hope you visit us again!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for one night in May 2014, my daughter and I, and we thought this hotel was perfect for our needs.
Clean room, very close to the ocean and nearby restaurants.
The staff was friendly and helpful, parking just outside our doorstep.
I would stay here if I visit beautiful Pacific Grove again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rolle M,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. It sounds like both you and your daughter had a great time! We take pride in our clean rooms so we really appreciate the compliment. I'll be sure to relay your positive comments to our front desk staff. Please do visit us again, we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is your typical "beach motel". What makes it special is the location. It is situated across from lovers point and within walking distance to the Monterey Aquarium. We were happy with the accommodations because we were able to get a really good deal on orbitz. I probably would not have been so happy if we paid "full price." We were visiting the area to be out and about - and explore. We did not spend much time in our room - except at night before bed. I read some reviews where people were unhappy about the room not looking like the pictures on the website. I would advise travelers to look at pictures on trip advisor and yelp to get a better idea of what the rooms look like. Our room looked exactly how I had expected - from other travelers pictures. If you basically need a place to sleep - in a good location - this could be a good choice if you get a good deal. Our room was clean and the hotel staff was very nice. It was a little noisy at night but we were able to sleep just fine.

Room Tip: Probably request a 2nd or 3rd floor room (1st floor seemed a little bit less updated and you have vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear ErinR2003,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our location as well as our accommodations. Thank you for letting other travelers about our room photos - our rooms differ from floor to floor as well as sleeping accommodations. Our reservation page on our website has photos of each room type as well. It sounds like you had a great time in Pacific Grove and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It is conveniently located across the street from Lover's Point, the walking path that takes you all the way to the Cannery, then on to the Monterey Wharf, and convenient highway access to Highway 1, Highway 68, and 17-Mile Drive. Other than that, it isn't really all that great. I did find the front desk personnel helpful, for the 3 days we were there, and the continental breakfast is always a plus.

On the downside, the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything on either side of you, as well as outside your window; there is no air conditioning working (there is a unit, but it doesn't work) so you have to keep the windows open (which only exacerbates the noise) and the fan going 24/7 to keep any air moving. The upgrade to the King bed was worth the price, but it was put in a room that couldn't really support that size bed, so you could only get in on one side (or at the foot of the bed). The ocean view was nice, and I requested a 3rd floor room so I wouldn't hear anyone above me. After hearing everyone on either side of me all night, I was glad I chose to upgrade so at least I wouldn't have to hear the noise above.

Honestly, the hotel is decent, but not for the price. It is in a prime location which sends the price of the rooms higher. If I had known everything I know now before I booked, I would have paid the same amount and stayed elsewhere.

If you do stay here, try the restaurant across the street, and take the walk towards Cannery Row to find the beach where the seals sleep all day (protected and only visible from the walkway).

Room Tip: Request a 3rd floor room - no noise from above. An ocean view will put you near the stairway so expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear jenkay_70,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as our continental breakfast. Thank you for your input, we are continuously listening to guest feedback to ensure we can provide the best possible guest experience. Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Address: 625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lover's Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.